Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

six-of-crowsSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

“We’re all someone’s monster.”

Obviously, this quote would make a fantastic catchphrase and/or clapback, be brilliant in a fortune cookie, or make quote-lovers rejoice. However, it does far more than any of that: it’s easily the best descriptor of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and the ragtag team of criminals that it introduces us to.

I will admit that I was more than a bit scared when I started this book. Ocean’s Eleven in fantasyland Russia? Yeah, no, this is never going to work. Take away your satanic black pages and let me never associate these two things ever again.

Yet the idea did work – far more than that, really. It was astonishing how much this book gripped me and devoured my entire book life. I was hooked – and not just from Ms. Bardugo’s brilliant writing but from the amazing cast of diverse and entertaining characters she created. I was in love with each of the morally conflicted and corrupted characters. Yes, they were a bunch of killers, thieves, convicts, and gamblers, but you can’t help but root for them. Bardugo also beautifully captured each of demons in her characterization and never made any of their diversity feel awkward or forced. I appreciated that, and I really respected how she didn’t want to showcase it just for the sake of saying, “I’ve got diversity in my book!”

I had my ships, they sort of kind of sailed, but for once, I didn’t care at all about the romance. I just wanted to know what was going to happen next and if my little monsters were going to get their happily ever afters or wallow in misery. I was not disappointed with any twists or turns that Bardugo took us on. It’s easily become one of my favorite series ever – and that’s a lot coming from me, the girl that is barely a fantasy lover.

It’s true what the quote said – they were all someone’s monster, but in this gripping and amazing story, you will be rooting for the monsters instead of the cliché good guys.

Check it out (and definitely buy!):

28 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

