October Book Haul

The BPR Monthly Haul includes everything from personal purchases, to ARCs sent from pubs, to library finds. Some months we strike gold and others ... well, the gems can be a little elusive. advance reader copies/finished copies  None! We were quiet with the requesting...who even are we???? purchased books None! We are currently saving our … Continue reading October Book Haul

MINI-REVIEW: “House of Salt and Sorrows” by Erin A. Craig

Previously, on Book Princess Reviews . . .  ❝  Probably contender for one of the best atmospheric reads of this year for me . . .  it never fully dived into a horror novel, but instead kept the feel and lush, lyrical writing and feel of a fairytale . . . The characters were likeable, and Annaleigh … Continue reading MINI-REVIEW: “House of Salt and Sorrows” by Erin A. Craig

How to Live like a YA Fantasy Protag (for a day)

⚔️ Go to Early Morning Training ⚔️ You're up before any rooster crows to practice your sword skills. You've trained in the skill since your parents were murdered in the Great Rebellion only four years after your birth. You're deadly with a blade, and these early morning training sessions keep your skills hidden from prying eyes. … Continue reading How to Live like a YA Fantasy Protag (for a day)

MINI-REVIEW: “Stepsister” by Jennifer Donnelly

Title: Stepsister Author: Jennifer Donnelly Pages: 352 Release Date: May 14 2019 Publisher: Scholastic Press Format: Hardcover Genre: Fantasy Goodreads Rating:  4.09 (of 5,586 ratings) Isabelle should be blissfully happy – she’s about to win the handsome prince. Except Isabelle isn’t the beautiful girl who lost the glass slipper and captured the prince’s heart. She’s … Continue reading MINI-REVIEW: “Stepsister” by Jennifer Donnelly

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Kingdom of Back

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she'll go to make history remember her—perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood. Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift … Continue reading Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Kingdom of Back

🧙 4 Book Recs with Fairy Godmothers 🧙

Title: How to Fracture a Fairytale Author: Jane Yolen Pages: 304 Release Date: November 15 2018 Publisher: Tachyon Press Genre: Fantasy Fantasy legend Jane Yolen (The Emerald Circus, The Devil’s Arithmetic) delights with these effortlessly wide-ranging transformed fairy tales. Yolen fractures the classics to reveal their crystalline secrets, holding them to the light and presenting them entirely transformed, … Continue reading 🧙 4 Book Recs with Fairy Godmothers 🧙

MINI-ARC REVIEW: Forking Good 💭Sadly I’m Not in The Good Place With It

Title: Forking Good: A Cookbook Inspired by The Good Place Author: Valya Dudycz Lupescu & Stephen H. Segal Pages: 160 Release Date: November 5th 2019 Publisher: Quirk Books Format: Hardcover Genre: Nonfiction, Cookbook, Comedy Goodreads Rating:  4.17 (of 6  ratings)    Book Princess Reviews receives a percentage of commission from purchases you make after following … Continue reading MINI-ARC REVIEW: Forking Good 💭Sadly I’m Not in The Good Place With It

#POLL: Do All YA Books Need Romance?

Off the top of your head, how many YA books can you name where romance didn't factor into either the A, B, or C plot? As in, romance wasn't why our lead was torn between staying in their hometown or heading to their dream college. Romance wasn't why our lead doubted their investigation into a … Continue reading #POLL: Do All YA Books Need Romance?