Can’t Wait Wednesday: Maya and the Rising Dark

Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron After her father goes missing, 12-year-old Maya uncovers that he is the keeper of the gateway between our world and The Dark. To find her father, she'll need to unlock her own powers and fight a horde of creatures set on starting a war. Stranger Things meets … Continue reading Can’t Wait Wednesday: Maya and the Rising Dark

February Book Haul

The BPR Monthly Haul includes everything from personal purchases, to ARCs sent from pubs, to library finds. Some months we strike gold and others ... well, the gems can be a little elusive. advance reader copies/finished copies  SYNOPSIS: Some people ARE illegal. Lobizonas do NOT exist. Both of these statements are false. As Manu uncovers … Continue reading February Book Haul

MINI-REVIEWS: Shatter the Sky, Dead Voices, & Wicked Fox

Title: Shatter the Sky Author: Rebecca Kim Wells Pages: 304 Release Date: July 30 2019 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers Format: Hardcover Genre: Fantasy, LGBTQIA+ Goodreads Rating:  3.77 (of 489 ratings) representation: f/f romance content warnings: kidnapping, animal fighting I think I realized that I was a bit in over my head … Continue reading MINI-REVIEWS: Shatter the Sky, Dead Voices, & Wicked Fox

MINI-REVIEWS: Stargazing, All Boys Aren’t Blue, & Salt to the Sea

Title: Stargazing Author: Jen Wang Pages: 224 Release Date: September 10 2019 Publisher: First Second Format: Hardcover Genre: Contemporary, Graphic Novel, Middle Grade Goodreads Rating:  4.20 (of 3281 ratings) representation: Chinese main characters, Buddhist main character content warnings: brain tumor I really loved Jen Wang's The Prince & The Dressmaker, so I was so eager … Continue reading MINI-REVIEWS: Stargazing, All Boys Aren’t Blue, & Salt to the Sea

January Wrap-Up & February TBR

The first month of 2020 has come and gone, and I feel like I should be more changed than I am?? 🧚 fairy blessing: I'm back to blogging! 🧚 fairy blessing: I am officially out of my reading slump! 🧙 stepmother’s curse: This month has felt longggggggggggg. EMOJI KEY 🌈 = LGBTQ+ rep 🌱 = Mental Health rep 🌻 = … Continue reading January Wrap-Up & February TBR

Can’t Wait Wednesday: Witches of Ash and Ruin

Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab's Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES. Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as … Continue reading Can’t Wait Wednesday: Witches of Ash and Ruin

Adult Books on my TBR that have me considering actually being an adult

Let's face it: sometimes adulting isn't a jam. Okay, it's really never a jam, but sometimes it might have a perk or two. Even though I'm technically an adult, I'm a total YA book heart. I have read a few adult fiction books throughout the years, but mostly I avoid them - not only can … Continue reading Adult Books on my TBR that have me considering actually being an adult

New Years Eve Book Tag

Although it's a bit late, we are officially tackling on the New Years Eve Book Tag. We were on hiatus when New Years happened, but we hope everyone had a great one - and we're kind of ready for 2020? Maybe? Sort of? We'll see. Thanks so much to the amazing Siren @ Sweaters and … Continue reading New Years Eve Book Tag