The Candy Book Tag

Hey, it’s me (again – I know)!

So I was tagged by the wonderful icebreaker694 for this fun book tag. Check out more of her awesome thoughts on YA here!

What she didn’t warn me was that I would have a major craving for all things sweet by the end of this post. Ugh, I really need to eat something after this.

Apples – Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

So, the more I thought about this, the more I realized I apparently don’t like most things that are healthy for me in book life – real life too, apparently since I’ve been having a war with green veggies since I was 3. I’m really not a major fan of classics or nonfiction, which usually win all the awards, so…*waits for apples to be thrown at her* For YA, though, I will probably go with Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, which I saw a bunch of people really love this year and I feel like it was nominated for Goodreads Best Books (or am I going insane??). I just couldn’t get into this one, though.

passenger

This isn’t mine – credits to Disney.

Milk Chocolate – This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

Oh, gosh, I just have to pick one?? That’s not fair. 😦 Probably Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, since I have been recommending it to everyone lately. Cinder by Marissa Meyer is a close second.

six-of-crows

Black Jellybeans – Why do these exist??

Okay, for sure, I thought that I had seen some black jellybeans in my life, but now, I actually can’t remember ever seeing them. Are they black licorice flavored? Because I would be into that. *waits for more things to be thrown at her*

I will admit that I was a fan of the House of Night series as a kid – I know, I know, I didn’t have a clear book thinking cap on at the time – but really, even as a kid, I realized that perhaps the Casts should have stopped after a while. It’s not more of why they exist, it’s more like, why haven’t they stopped??

marked

Credit to St. Martin’s Press

Chocolate Kisses – Awww this novel had the best romance.

Again, I just have to pick one?? I’m a romance fangirl all the way. Oh sigh. Maybe I’ll just pick my favorite couple – which is surprisingly easy. It’s Cresswell – Cress Darnel and Carswell Thorne from the Lunar Chronicle series by Marissa Meyer. They’re just so cute. I just want to squish them together and cry eternally over them.

cress

Credit to Feiwel and Friends – can I please be a friend??

Gummy Spiders – Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

Um, basically any ghostie novels does this to me, but I have to say the book I’m currently reading right now had me glancing over my shoulder a few times. I don’t know why I love a good ghostie novel when I can’t even deal with the lameness that was Ghost Hunters. Oh, sigh, me. It’s the Haunting of Maddy Clare by Simone St. James.

15258547_610941362424107_6777970434794061824_n

Jumbo Lollipop – This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

One book: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I’m not even joking – it took me four months to get through this book. I did have a lot of other things I was doing and reading wasn’t really a main part of my life as it is now, but it literally took me from September to December to finish this book.But I did it – mostly because my friend would never let me live it down or I would feel too guilty for not finishing it after I got all this way.

the-night-circus

Credits to Doubleday.

Cotton Candy – Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). Think children’s or MG fiction.

I actually really didn’t remember this series until I accidentally stumbled upon on one of my Goodreads rabbit hole expeditions where I try to find all the books I read in my youth. I was obsessed with this series – The Bailey School Kids series by Debbie Dadey – as a kid. It gave me such nostalgia to see these covers again. I don’t think this one below was my favorite, but it was definitely one of the ones that stood out when I saw it again.

bailey-school

Credit to Scholastic – credit to them for most of youth reading, too.

Okay, this was a lot of fun! Thanks so much, icebreaker694! This was definitely a trip down memory lane – and definitely a way to make me even hungrier than I already am.

I tag (very politely since I’ve never tagged anyone else before so please don’t throw things at me):

Annike and Zoë – TwinTalesBookReview

Rendz – ReadingwithRendz

Flavia – Flaviathebibliophile

Since I apparently like to do things in threes. But please, if you feel like doing it, please link up your link in the comments below because I can’t wait to see everyone else’s thoughts on it! What are your thoughts? And do you enjoy doing tags?

4 thoughts on “The Candy Book Tag

  1. Mandy says:

    @SophieReads – So true. Meyer could never outdo herself for that. Half of my excitement for Wires and Nerve is just so I can see more Cresswell. There was not nearly enough in Stars Above, so I’m hoping they come back with a vengeance for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

