The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

the-star-touched-queenThe Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Once upon a time, a boy that I may or may not have liked threw some sand in my hair. It was neither romantic nor entirely enticing but nonetheless, I believe it had some impact on me.

Now that I am older and definitely wiser, throwing sand definitely would not impress me. However, when a man draws a constellation from the sky and twirls it into my hair – now that would surely earn all my love and admiration. Well, truthfully, if the man just drew a constellation out of the sky, period, I would totally be into that as well.

This, however, is just one of the beautifully decadent things that the love interest in The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi does for our wonderful heroine, Maya. Lovely scenes like this that are the heart of this novel, and all that surrounds it shows beauty in other ways. We have brilliantly complex characters who border both darkness and light, a rich and luxurious setting, and a poetic and ethereal prose given to us by Ms. Chokshi. The quote-lover in me was fangirling so hard throughout the novel.

I mean, take a look at these quotes:

  • “I love you,” he murmured into my hair. “You are my night and stars, the fate I would fix myself to in any life.”
  • “I see only night and smoke, dreams and glass, embers and wings. And I would not have you any other way.”
  • “My star-touched queen,” he said softly, as if he was remembering something from long ago. “I would break the world to give you what you want.”

It makes me want to go in a corner and cry that I will never be able to write this beautifully. Roshani Chokski’s beautiful storytelling touched me, and the lyrical prose was something out of the fairytale idea she took it from.

While it wasn’t a fairytale ending for me and the boy that threw sand in my hair, this book had me believing in love again – and really wishing constellations could be twirled into hair.

Check it out:

You can get a sneak peek at the first five chapters on both Amazon and Barnes and Noble platforms!

11 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Leave a Reply

