Any Boy But You (North Pole, Minnesota #1) by Julie Hammerle (Review & Giveaway)

any-boy-but-you

any-boy-but-youAny Boy But You (North Pole, Minnesota #1) by Julie Hammerle

Release Date: Feb. 13, 2017 (today!!)

My very first blog tour participation…and with an adorable, cheesy book, nonetheless. Thanks so much for Chapter by Chapter for making this Book Princess’s blog dreams come true. ❤ Now, let’s book talk this fluff out!

I have had a drought of adorable, cheesy books in my life. That’s right – this Book Princess has been reading serious books. Books full of non-cliches, not as much funnies for no reason, and a ton of originality. Don’t worry, I’m cringing for myself. When I saw this book on Netgalley, I knew that I instantly had to request it and feel the cheesiness and adorableness fill my book life.And that’s surely what I got.

Once upon a time…

Elena Chestnut has been chatting with an anonymous boy late into the night. It’s a very You’ve Got Mail situation, and she has no idea who he is. He can’t be Oliver Prince, hot-and-bashful son of the family running the rival sporting goods store. Their fancy sales strategies are driving Elena’s family out of business. Elena’s mystery boy has teamed up with her in their latest sales strategy, an augmented reality game, to help her win the grand-prize plane tickets. Money’s so tight Elena’s going to miss senior year spring break with her friends if she can’t win this game.

The girl Oliver’s fallen head-over-heels for online had better not be Elena Chestnut. She’s his angry, vindictive Latin tutor, the daughter of his dad’s business rival, and the one girl he’d never even think of kissing. She’s definitely not his online crush, because that girl is funny, sweet, and perfect.

When Oliver asks to reveal their names at the Valentine’s Day dance, their IRL relationship will either ruin what they have online, or they’ll discover just how thin the line between love and hate really is.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains swearing, snowball fights, and sexual tension that could melt the North Pole. Read at your own risk.

These Entangled Teen Crush disclaimers are killing me. XD

This book was pretty adorable. I loved the whole idea of North Pole, Minnesota. I’m not sure this town actually exists, but I kind of want to go there. It’s a super small town where everyone knows everyone, and it’s Christmas themed all year round. There’s Santabucks instead of Starbucks. Like, how cute is that?? Okay, not so cute if you’re not a Christmas dork. However, I really appreciated all the creativity that Hammerle put in to creating this town and how it added to her overall concept. I felt like this town was truly another character in the book.

Another huge part that I loved was the addition of Harper. Harper is Elena’s best friend, and of course, I assumed she would be the stereotypical contemporary best friend. She would be witty, sassy, only there to wake the main character up when they were being stupid, and provide the funnies. However, Harper became so much more than that as she struggled her way through identity issues. I guessed her secret from the beginning, but it was super interesting to go through the journey with her. I loved how the author took this usual throwaway character and added a lot to her and didn’t just become the cliche best friend that Elena would have some big fight and lose.

ariel

North Pole? I can hardly handle sand let alone snow!

The plot was super cool as well. Feuding families is nothing new, but I loved the whole addition of the Pokemon Go-esque app that was driving this town mad and how Elena and Oliver started talking due to it. It was a super cute way for them to connect, and I thought the app was such a cool and unique addition.

Now, you’re probably reading this going, “Mandy, you’re fangirling hard right now. Why the four stars?” The issue for me came in the romance. Don’t get me wrong – I did enjoy Elena and Oliver together, and I thought they were adorable. I totally shipped them. However, the issue lies in the love-hate relationship. I think the hate part went on far longer than it should have to be realistic. It kind of just switched one day, and I wasn’t completely sold due to the fact that Elena was just so mean to him and then did a complete 180. I would have liked a bit more of a slower turn, and it ruined a bit of the middle half for me.

Overall, though, this book was exactly what I needed. It was adorable, cheesiness, and so much fun. It was more than that, though, and it truly added some originality to the fluffy contemporary genre. There were some issues with it with the love/hate relationship, but it didn’t deter too much from my reading. Four crowns for this snowy book, and a visit from Ariel!

four-stars

Check it out:

Google Play / Amazon / Barnes and Noble / The Book Depository 

 About the Author:

julie-hammerele

Julie Hammerle is the author of The Sound of Us, which will be published by Entangled Teen on June 7, 2016. Before settling down to write “for real,” she studied opera, taught Latin, and held her real estate license for one hot minute. Currently, she writes about TV on her blog Hammervision, ropes people into conversations about Game of Thrones, and makes excuses to avoid the gym. Her favorite YA-centric TV shows include 90210 (original spice), Felicity, and Freaks and Geeks. Her iPod reads like a 1997 Lilith Fair set list.

She lives in Chicago with her husband, two kids, and a dog. They named the dog Indiana.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instragram | Goodreads

A Rafflecopter Giveaway:

One (1) winner will receive a signed copy of The Sound of Us by Julie Hammerle (US ONLY)

 

<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1cb554951039/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”1cb554951039″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_uafciu3v”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

 Check out the rest of the tour schedule as well here!

Tour brought to you by Chapter By Chapter Blog Tours

chapter-by-chapter

So, what do you think? Have you read this? Let me know in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “Any Boy But You (North Pole, Minnesota #1) by Julie Hammerle (Review & Giveaway)

Leave a Reply

