Calendar Girls: Best Fairytale Retelling

calendar-girls

*screaming* WHEN DID IT BECOME JULY? Because I clearly missed it, and I also clearly missed the Calendar Girls post – and it was literally the most Book Princess of them all. Luckily, it’s never too late to become a Calendar Girl or, you know, post your July choice since I’ve clearly failed.

Calendar Girls is hosted by bloggers, Flavia the Bibliophile and Melanie Noell Bernard – both have amazing blogs full of fun, bookish posts. Calendar Girls is a brand new monthly blog event inspired by Neil Sedaka’s 1961 song Calendar Girl. Just like in the song, we decided to use a specific them for each month and choose a book based on these themes! The event is meant to incite discussions with other bloggers about books we’ve read and loved, is meant to help bloggers meet other bloggers, and also for bloggers and readers to find out about blogs which they normally may not have come across! Want to know more? Click on the links above! And it’s not too late to jump on the Calendar Girl train (and it’s not just for girls)! Join now!

Best Fairytale Retelling

Cress by Marissa Meyer

18380782_164372944094927_2253682993635786752_n(1)

Well, clearly, I had to pick one of Meyer’s retellings, because Meyer is literally the queen of fairytale retellings. There is no one that I have found that has rivaled her in her uniqueness, originalness, and beauty in her retellings. TLC still holds the top spot as my favorite series ever, and almost all of the books in the series are on my favorites shelf.

Cress holds a special place in my heart, though. Not only does it hold my favorite ship ever, but it made me relove the Rapunzel fairytale. As I child, my grandma bought me this picture book of Rapunzel (I literally still have some of the pictures ingrained in my memory and I probably haven’t seen it, like, more than 10 years). It was never my favorite retelling, but I liked it decent enough.

Then came along Disney’s Tangled, and I had so many heart eyes that it hurt. How could anyone ever live up to the amazingness of it or her and Flynn??? There would never be a Rapunzel like her nor one that I loved as dearly…then came along this book.

It gave me two perfectly amazing characters: Cress and Thorne; it gave a whole new spin on the original mythology; its ship was SO adorable; and look at that cover!! It’s everything you could ask for in a fairytale retelling and so much more! ❤

There are a lot of amazing retellings, and if you were looking for a few more to add to your list, here’s a post where me and Renuka from Past Bedtime Blog went through both of our top five!

What do you think? What’s your favorite fairytale retelling? What’s your favorite fairytale period? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

29 thoughts on “Calendar Girls: Best Fairytale Retelling

    1. Ooooooh, I’ll definitely have to get on those – I’ve heard Jackson Pearce does a good job with them, and with your rec, I’ll have to get on them pronto. 😀 I think I read one Melanie Dickerson and it was pretty good. 🙂

      Like

      1. The reread is making me once again wonder why guys in YA are so incredibly attractive. And making me swoon over Carswell Thorne. Again. And you should totally reread Entwined- I’m planning on it myself!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ahahahahaha. It’s really so true. XD And you get three swoony guys in one book and it’s totally not fair. XD But yes! Let me know when you plan on it and maybe you and I could try for the same time?

        Like

  1. CRESS FOREVERRRRRRRRRRR! FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MOST SHIPPABLE SHIP EVER. MOST RELATABLE AWKWARD/FANGIRLING GIRL EVER. MY SWOONY CAPTAIN. AND SUPER AWESOME COMPUTER/SCI-FI HACKING STUFF! YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. Just wait until you get back to Cress on the reread, Rendz. It will literally reduce you to using even more all CAPS forever. It’s so sad. XD BUT AMAZING. I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE REST OF YOUR REREAD. BUT SO MUCH YES FOR THIS.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aaaww I love Cress so much! She and Thorne were not my favorite ship but I did find them really cute hahaha
    Tangled is an absolute gem of a movie! It’s just so pure ❤ I can never get enough of it.
    And yes, Marissa Meyer is THE queen of retellings! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha no, you’re totally right! 😄 I’m a diehard Wolflet shipper ❤️❤️ But Cress and Thorne come close too 😊
        I’m super excited about Renegades and Because You Love to Hate Me! And I also want to read Wires and Nerve, and Heartless very soon ❤️

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.