Top 5 Favorite Fairytale Retellings – Collab with Renuka @ Past Bedtime Blog

Well, look what we have here: another collab post! Are we excited? I know I am!! Although I am probably totally and completely bias. o.o Also, don’t forget to check out the latest The Princessees Read here!

Have you check out Past Bedtime Blog yet? Well, you should! Renuka is a lovely blogger (who dealt with me and my insane schedule these past few weeks and my inability to remember to check my Instagram messages with such kindness), and she writes as lovely blog posts! Check out one of her amazing reviews here (spoiler alert: it’s of course a Marissa Meyer book XD) and check out the rest of her blog here!

Of course, we connected over our shared love of Disney, Disney Princess, and fairytale retellings! We decided to do two epic collab posts – one on her blog and one on mine. We decided to do the fairytale retelling, and I can’t wait for you to see the one on hers because it is such a cool idea! Today, we’ll be posting our top 5 favorite fairytale retellings. Trust us, we regretted limiting it to just 5 because it was NOT fair when there are so many good fairytale retellings out there. Our Princess loving hearts hurt. XD So here, are ours:

Renuka’s Top Five

geekerella

Credits to Quirk Books

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Cinderella is one of my favorite classic stories and when I heard about this retelling of it, I knew I had to read it. And when I finally read it, I was in awe. This book is a modern retelling of Cinderella and has a geeky theme in it and I’m all about these stuff; nerd and fangirl.

 

 

renuka heartless.png

Look at Renuka’s pretty picture, too!

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

This is the retelling of Alice in Wonderland and it tells the story of the Queen of Hearts. This book is so great and it is one of my favorite books. And to be honest I actually hadn’t read Alice in Wonderland before reading this book but I had watched the movie but when I read this book, I was hooked to the world of Wonderland and then I decided I’ll finally read Alice in Wonderland.

 

the forbidden wish

Credits to Razorbill

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

Imagine a book about friendship, love, girl power and magic, well this book has all of it. This is a retelling of the Disney’s classic, Aladdin. It is such an amazing book. The jinni in this book is actually a girl who falls in love with Aladdin. They both go on this amazing journey which is really magical and it is such well written book.

 

 

hunted

Credits to HarperTeen

Hunted by Meagan Spooner

This is the retelling of Beauty and the Beast and since this year the new movie was released, I was really excited to read this book. This was the first Meagan Spooner’s book that I read and really loved it.

 

 

 

 

spindle fire

Credits to HarperCollins

Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer

Honestly I haven’t yet completed reading this book but this is such an amazing book I had to put this book in this list. This is the retelling of Sleeping Beauty and again to be honest I haven’t seen the Disney movie yet but I will someday but I did watch the movie Maleficent and really loved it.

 

 

Is anyone else insanely jealous of her choices? Because all of these are totally on the top of my list to be read super soon, and she just totally got me super excited to read them again. Oh sigh. Make sure you click on her reviews for The Forbidden Wish and Heartless!

Mandy’s Top Five

cress

Credits to Feiwel and Friends

Cress by Marissa Meyer

Basically this post should have just been all The Lunar Chronicles but I figured I should have some differentiation. That would be wise, yes? But seriously, TLC ruined me for every other retelling out there, and I can’t handle it. I’m currently rereading Scarlet right now, and oh. MY. Gosh. THE FEELS. MY HEART. If you’re ever going to read one fairytale retelling ever, read these. Please! ❤ My favorite of this series is the Rapunzel retelling, Cress, because my one and only OTP, Cresswell, is introduced and I literally scream every time I see them appear on the page. *forever internal screaming*

 

16230343_717072698469953_1122993785941262336_nPrincess of Tyrone by Katie Hamstead

Ah, yes, the one and only Sleeping Beauty retelling I love. I don’t understand, but for some odd reason, me and Sleeping Beauty stories always go massively wrong. I can never get into them, and my poor Aurora always suffers. D: In this book however, it was brilliant – the setting was SO cool with this mix of old school fairytale and scifi; the romance was cute; the Aurora character was super strong; and the fairytale elements were brilliantly done. The last half of the book was SO good too. Insanity.

17437770_1294353823993167_3461932344259117056_nGeekerella by Ashley Polston

Okay, did we not see this coming? Contemporary, fluffy feels PLUS a fairytale retelling = SO MUCH BOOK PRINCESS LOVE. Oh, swoon. This book had everything for me: geeky goodness, a con, adorable romance, and a modern day retelling that included a snarky godmother and a vegan pumpkin truck. I just wanted to bask in this Cinderella goodness for dayssssssssss. And it even made me shed a tear – a very rare feat. There needs to be more contemporary retellings – just saying.

my-fair-godmother

Credits to Walker Childrens

My Fair Godmother Series by Janette Rallison

Oh, look, it’s that series that no one has ever heard of, but Mandy won’t shut up about. Have I ever properly fangirled over this? Hmmmm…an appreciation post may need to happen one day, and while this series is not a full retelling, it includes many fairytale retellings throughout: The Little Mermaid, the 12 Dancing Princesses, Rumple, Robin Hood, and more. Rallison eases each one in, and makes it SO hilarious as she does. It’s adorable cheesy goodness at its finest while including beautiful fairytale elements. Seriously, check it out!

 

18094976_659314680922285_6980235696191569920_n(1)Frogkisser! by Garth Nix

This book was adorable! And I’m torn between wanting my fairytale retellings to be adorable fluffy contemporaries, adherent to the original fairytale, or be like this book – hilarious, making fun of fairytale tropes, and just overall cuteness. This story is based off The Princess of the Frog, but it does so much more to the story than it originally does and showed so much promise for creating originality in a genre that many have thought have started to be overdone. This is good for fans of The Princess Bride and sort of MG/YA fans!

What are your favorite fairytale retellings? Are any of these on your list? What should be on our lists? Have you checked out Renuka’s blog yet?? 😉 Let’s discuss in the comments below!

 

33 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Fairytale Retellings – Collab with Renuka @ Past Bedtime Blog

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Oooooh, I’ve been eager to read Hunted, and this post is not helping me talk myself out of buying it. XD And YES. I accidentally started rereading it, and I’m turning into such a mess with the feels. Thanks so much! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Lost Purple Quill says:

    Even though I just finished Cress yesterday, reading what you said about it is making my heart fill with love for it all over again! It’s definitely one of my favorite books now. Marissa Meyers is a fairytale retelling genius, and reading her books and reading this post just makes me want to read more retellings! I’m definitely gonna check some of these out. And I’ve heard so many great things about Geekerella, I can’t wait to read that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    BIG YES TO GEEKERELLA!!! 😍😍 (lol did you expect me to say that? I feel like whenever you mention it in one of your posts I’m alwaysyelling about it 😂😂)
    I still haven’t read TLC but everyone keeps mentioning the books and I CAN FEEL THE PRESSURE XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reading with Rendz says:

    This post was so great guys! I love retellings *cough* TLC *cough* I can’t wait to try out a few of the books listed above that I haven’t read yet! i.e. Geekerella which apparently everyone has read but me! Me, me who loves Cinderella! Can’t wait to go read Renuka’s post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

