Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

18721775_155643068308788_3536659677083336704_n

Before anything, Renuka over @ Past Bedtime Blog and I did a super fun post naming the first books were thought of with 10 epic Disney characters. Check out the post here!

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Um, the day is here, where I bring to you all: me at my fangirling messiest. That’s right – it’s me, probably going to squeal and swoon and cry and just FEEL ALL THE FEELS. I forgot how good this was. Like, I knew it was good, but I somehow forgot just how amazing it was? I always thought in my head, Cinder and Scarlet is where Meyer was going through some opening pains, but Cress is where you fell in love. BUT I WAS SO WRONG.

Let’s just get to the summary so I can fangirl more.

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Okay, you do need to read Cinder before you read this one. The series does not work as standalones, but it’s just so good that you will want to read alllllllllllllll of them. My fangirling heart wants you to read them, so please?

Now, it’s been a while since I read this book. I read it decently quick after it came out – maybe a few months after – because I remember waiting forever for Cress, forgetting that it was coming out, and then all of a sudden it was there and I had kind of forgotten what had happened in Scarlet. So, I want to say that I read it pretty soon after it came out…which was in 2013….four years ago. And that was the last time I read it.

So, of course, I knew the whole idea of what happened in this book, but there was a lot of things I didn’t remember like, Wolf had never had a tomato before. Or the whole opening escape scene. Or, you know, the whole character of Ran. o.o Er, yeah, that was kind of a biggie. Oops.

Going back through this book was so exciting, though. I loved the characters even more. Scarlet is ridiculously fierce, she’s passionate, and I love her as a main character. She didn’t let anything stop her or scare her. And when people got in her way? She found a way around because she had a grandmother to find and save. Her interactions with Wolf were perfect as well. Obviously, in Little Red Riding Hood, the wolf is the big scary monster, and Scarlet was like, oh, no, here, I’m going to tell you like it is. If there was a Mulan award for fierceness, Scarlet would be winning for sure.

I also loved the way that Meyer weaves a story. She has three major things going on in this story, and you’re like, um, how are any of these things going to connect? But she manages to slide it all into place so effortlessly. Even though I clearly knew some of the big reveals and how things were connected, reading it again was like doing it again for the first time. I still am in awe of how she got all of her pieces aligned so perfectly.

Okay, the romance? It probably is the cheesiest of all the ships in TLC (it also seems to get the least amount of love), but I DON’T CARE. I’M TOTAL WOLFLET TRASH NOW. Okay, not more than Cresswell since they are forever the OTP, but oh gosh. They were just cute little baby cinnamon rolls, and I just wanted to love them forever. (Also, never want to call anyone else cute little baby cinnamon rolls forever).

Ugh, this book was so much better in the reread. I don’t get how it could get better, but it did. Thorne. Oh, Thorne, was so ridiculously amazing in this book, and literally the whole opening prison scene with him was so amazing. And precious Kai. XD Cinder was still so awesome, and of course, how you can forget the amazing fangirl, Iko? This series just brings so many feels back, and I’m so glad that I reread this. My TBR wasn’t so pleased, but I now know I have been missing out, thinking this was somehow not as amazing as the rest of the series. If you haven’t read this series, dooooooooooo. Meyer is an amazing storyteller, and she has created one of the best crews of all time.

Five crowns, and of course, the Princess train is coming out for this.

I think Scarlet is basically Merida, so we have to include her. And I mean, Rapunzel must be in for the swoons. Aurora’s here because of course, it’s an instant classic. Fierce Mulan for Fierce Scarlet, and I mean, with how much I love this, how could Moana not be here?

five-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? Have you read this series yet? What do you think of rereads? Do they ever work out for the better like this or for the worse? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

24 thoughts on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

    1. Yes, MOANA is the ultimate. I do have a key up at the top bar with the rating system because a good deal of the time I can’t even keep track. There are a lot of princesses XD tiana, Mulan, sleeping beauty, Rapunzel, and MOANA are 5 stars. Anna is 4.5, Ariel 4, Belle 3, jasmine 3.5, Pocahontas 3, Cinderella 2, Merida 1. Elsa is I’m the really confused on what rating to give. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Is it worth it to continue the series if I wasn’t a fan of Cinder? I really did not like Cinder, but the Lunar Chronicles is so beloved that I kind of want to give it another shot.

    Like

  2. FEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! TLC FEELLLSSSSS! UGH I WANT TO REREAD THEM SO BADLY AND I’M SO EXCITED THAT THE SUMMER IS ALMOST HERE AND OUR JULY GROUP BUDDY READ THING IS GOING TO HAPPEN! I WAS DEFINITELY WOLFLET TRASH TOO (I’M TRASH FOR THEM ALL)AND NCHJNSJKNJFEN I JUST LOVE THESE BOOKS SO MUCH THAT I CAN’T EVEN EXPRESS MYSELF IN PROPER WORDS! I’M KEEPING THIS COMMENT IN ALL CAPS BECAUSE IT DESERVES ALL CAPS CUZ IT’S TLC, ITS SCARLET AND IT FEATURES FIVE FANTASTIC PRINCESSES! OKAY I’M DONE FANGIRLING (FOR NOW…I WILL NEVER STOP)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. I SEE THE NEED FOR ALL CAPS, BECAUSE THAT IS HOW I FEEL ABOUT IT TOO. HOW CAN YOU HAVE NOT CAPS FOR IT. SO MUCH CAPS NEEDED. I AM SO EXCITED FOR BUDDY READ. AND THEN I WILL FINALLY ALLOW MYSELF TO READ THE WONDER THAT IS WINTER. AH AH AH. YOU GOT ME RE-FANGIRLING NOW, RENDZ.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awwww, I LOVE it when you re-read a book, and it’s as good, if not better, than the first time you read it! So much fun! I’ve only read Cinder in this series, which I did really like. I need to read the rest of them still! So glad you had so much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES. It almost never happens to me especially with the ones I read in the super past because I’m such a picky reader from the past, but I just get so ridiculously excited. And ahhhhhh, I’ve got to get you to finish the rest of the series eventually. It’s somehow one of those series that manages to get better with each book you read. But thankies!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhhh I love reading this!! Even though I finished the series a few weeks ago now, the high from it has not worn off at all! I almost want to reread them all over again! Which is saying a lot, since I rarely ever want to reread a book right after finishing it. But YES Scarlet and Wolf are adorable, and Wolf is precious and I feel like they do get a a bit overshadowed by the other couples. But I think if I reread this, I’d be the most interested in reading Thorne again. I feel like I’d appreciate him so much more, especially upon first meeting him. Like, on the first page we meet him, he’s all looking at girls on his portscreen, and I was really ehhhhhhh about him from that first impression and it took some time for him to really grow on me, but I LOVE HIM now, so much, and I think rereading this book would make my heart grow even more for him. That, and I loved just getting to see him and Cinder together, I love their friendship. And one of my favorite things about reading this book the first time was seeing how all the plotlines came together- Cinder was a bit more predictable, but Scarlet felt like uncharted territory and I loved that! This such a great reread review!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀 I will admit that I totally interpreted characters so much differently when I first read them. Thorne was such a huge one as well. He grew on me as the story went on as you said, and I think going in, knowing I loved him totally made it SO much better. Like, I couldn’t stop being excited about every time he would come on, knowing how epic he was. It is so true. XD You will for sure enjoy him so much more. And yes! You’re so right about Scarlet. I couldn’t put my finger on it, because I felt that Cinder, if you knew, the Cinderella story, you could predict some major things, but Scarlet was just all sorts of newness and fun. But I could definitely see the need to reread. I’m ready for another time as well. XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.