Mini Review: Romeo and What’s Her Name by Shani Petroff

romeo and what's her name

*The Princesses Read is on hold for today real quick, because Mandy had a setback and did not get all of her blogging things done 😂😂instead it will be up tomorrow! In the meantime…Tinkerbelle or Ariel? ;)*

Romeo and What’s Her Name by Shani Petroff

Is this the most original book that I will read this year? No. But was it so ridiculously cute? YES. SO ADORABLE. OMG, I HAVE A FEELING THIS REVIEW WILL BE A LOT OF CAPS ACTION.

Understudies never get to perform

. . . which is why being Juliet’s understudy in the school’s yearly “Evening with Shakespeare” is the perfect role for Emily. She can earn some much-needed extra credit while pursuing her main goal of spending time with Wes, aka Romeo, aka the hottest, nicest guy in school (in her completely unbiased opinion). And she meant to learn her lines, really, it’s just:
a) Shakespeare is HARD,
b) Amanda, aka the “real” Juliet, makes her run errands instead of lines, and
c) there’s no point because Amanda would never miss the chance to be the star of the show.

Then, Amanda ends up in the hospital and Emily, as the (completely unprepared!) understudy, has to star opposite the guy of her dreams. Oops?

Okay, this book. It’s only 200 pages or so, but goodness, it was adorable. I was like, no way can they actually complete a successful story in that time period, but it was just the right amount for this cute little book.

I’m not really sure what to say about this book, because with adorable fluffy, little books, I have a hard time getting too in-depth with them. This had some actual laugh out loud moment – like I actually cracked up and got a glance from the person in the room with me, like, why are you laughing out loud why reading that random book? XD It had the expected funny, fluffy moments. It had the adorable, swoony moments. It had the clear cut mean girl; the supporting best friends; the unattainable and popular love interest; and more.

So, yes, it’s cliche, predictable, but ADORABLE. I just had a smile on my face when I was reading it, and I got so many feels. I liked the plot, I liked the cheese, I liked the characters, I liked the inclusion of the play atmosphere, and I liked the pacing.

ariel
Ariel would totally be into acting…if she could speak. Oops.

Did I want a bit more from this? Yes, probably. Did I want a bit more mixing things up? It probably would have been good. Did I totally secondguess who the end result of the love interest was? Yes, because I’m clearly looking for the nerdy guy in everything now that I’ve totally forgotten the popular hot guy can be a love interest. XD

Overall, this was just a cute novel. It was adorable, full of heart and feels, and funnies. It’s fluffy, adorable goodness. Could it have been a more? Yes, but if you’re okay with fluff and cliches, then you will enjoy! Four crowns and an Ariel rating (because she, too, would have a hard time being an actress seeing as she couldn’t talk for like 3/4 of her movie).

Oops, I forgot all my CAPS action. Um, here: SO CUTE. SO GOOD. PLEASE READ IF YOU ENJOY CUTENESS. THE END.

four-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? What is your favorite adorable, fluffy book? How do you deal with reviews that are full of fluffy goodness? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

14 thoughts on “Mini Review: Romeo and What’s Her Name by Shani Petroff

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.