The Villains Read: The Evil Queen

the princesses read

I’m backkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk. Finally. I got myself hyped up…*looks at the water she’s drinking* Well, not that. I was talking with my co-worker and after a day of feeling hyped to do things, I decided to actually do something when I got home instead of staring at the cover of my book and really wishing I was watching Buzzfeed Unsolved. So, The Disney Reads are back!

The Evil Queen!

Image result for the evil queen gif

The Evil Queen is easily one of the most recognized Disney villains out there. I mean, she was the FIRST of her villain kind. She is one of the cruelest and killerish of her kind. I mean, Maleficient just wanted to put a girl to sleep, but the Evil Queen is all like, MURDER MURDER MURDER GIMME HER HEART. However, other stories really give depth to the Evil Queen. Once Upon a Time gives the Evil Queen a HUGE backstory and brings out her motives – the love of her life was killed and she blamed Snow’s big mouth for it. The one with Charlize Theorn brought back a history of men using her abusing her as the reason for her hatred. I mean, to be truthful, the Evil Queen is kind of totally badass with her determination and female power…if only she would stop trying to murder teenage princesses.

What books would be hiding in The Evil Queen’s heart box?

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

19227184_623624741161389_8538824008731197440_n(1)

Do I really need to say much here??? I mean, honestly, it’s all in the name. However, I think the Evil Queen would really be quite interested in this. The Queen of Hearts is a crazy queen of her equal, and I think the Evil Queen would be quite interested to see how Cath got to be the queen she was at the end, and perhaps our Evil Queen could RELATE???? :O

The Little Mermaid and Other Fairy-Tales by Hans Christian Anderson

the little mermaid

If you may have noticed last Saturday, I went off about how his version – the original version of the story – wasn’t all adorable and fluffy like the Disney version but just CRAZY and DARK…which, I think the Evil Queen would appreciate it. I think she would enjoy the more darkness that Anderson and Grimm brought to the stories, and I just have a feeling she would enjoy hearing a good tale.

The Queen Underneath by Stacey Filak

the queen underneath

This book is dark and gritty and showcases female power. The Evil Queen is totally a badass female herself – although she doesn’t always use that power for good – so I definitely think she would enjoy reading about a struggling queen herself who kicks some butt, takes down some patriarchy, and lives in a dark and gritty world that she’s queen of.

A book the Evil Queen NOT pick up

Lol, every contemporary ever????

Want to read more about The Evil Queen?

Well, you are in luck! There are certainly a lot of Snow White retellings in YA, and there are even Evil Queen specific stories out there! Most recently, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns and Fairest (part of the The Lunar Chronicles series) focus on telling the backstory of the Evil Queen in a unique way.

UN Right #19

19. Freedom of Expression. We all have the right to make up our own minds, to think what we like, to say what we think, and to share our ideas with other people.

Sha and I took a bit of a different take on this one. Even though the Evil Queen is evil and kind of crazy, she still has the right to express herself. We don’t know where she came from and her backstory. In the Once Upon a Time and the Charlize Theorn version, the Evil Queen came from hardship and trauma. Her backstory shaped her current version we see. Okay, she certainly shouldn’t express herself in the form of MURDERING people. But she does have the right to be herself.

What do you think? What other books do you think the Evil Queen would or wouldn’t read? What is your favorite version of the Evil Queen? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

mandy signature

23 thoughts on “The Villains Read: The Evil Queen

  1. I’m totally surprised you didn’t include The Lunar Chronicals here. I feel like the evil queen would love the Lunar queen. She’d especially love Cinder, Winter, and the book Fairest I believe.

    And Harry Potter. I think she’d love Lord Voldemort, Bellatrix, Umbridge…haha.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually…have not, Colleen! :O I always meant to, but then I watched the movies, and then I’m like, eh, I’m so far behind I might as well not even bother. D: D: D: I feel like I’m the only one, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nah I’m sure there are others. One person at my work hasn’t read them. I’m like the only one who doesn’t like Percy Jackson if that makes you feel any better.

        P.S. the books have waaaaay more details than the movies. The movies are like the tip of the iceberg. I dare you to read one over the summer! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ahahahaha. Kind of makes us even in the childhood reading category?? XD

        But yes, my dad told me the same thing – that’s right, my dad has read them like 5 times and adored them and I’m like, eh. I have to be in a particular mood I guess to go for one, lol. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Haha, I suppose! I did read the first one and Apollo though. 😉

        That’s cool! My parents won’t read Harry Potter… though my dad has gone to the World of Harry Potter TWICE. One time was earlier this spring and I was like… you went WITHOUT ME?!?! I wasn’t upset about the rest of their trip which was a cruise, but a quick trip to the World of Harry Potter… that got me crushed lol. I can understand about being in the mood for it. I had to be in the mood for Apollo and These Vicious Masks books. (I still thought the plot for These Vicious Masks was good.)

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ahahahaha. Sometimes you just have to be in the mood! It’s the weirdest thing how a certain mood can just strike you and call out to you instead of others. But I’ve had a few myself! Must be the change over of seasons?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.