Fierce Fangirl Fridays: That One with the Random 70s Song

fiercefangirlfriday

It’s Fridayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, and you know what that means?? My first ever Fierce Fangirl Friday! *squeals*

Fierce Fangirl Fridays are put on by the wonderful and lovely Jackie @ Too Much of a Booknerd. If you’re not following her already, seriously, go do it, because she’s amazing. Now, what is Fierce Fangirl Fridays? Basically, it’s where you fangirl/boy over anything – that’s right, each week you pick a different thing you’re fangirling about the moment and JUST RUN FREE WITH THE FEELS. Only rule? Just pingback to her post here! It’s so easy that it hurts. XD

This week I will be fangirling about…

“Hotel California” by The Eagles

Okay, anyone say that coming? No, me either.

A little bit ago, there was a new story that The Eagles were suing this hotel in Mexico for copyright infringement. Apparently, the hotel was saying they were THE Hotel California from the song – even though the hotel doesn’t exist. Apparently, the inspiration was some hotel in California that I can’t remember the name of.

Anyway, after that story, I totally started thinking about this song again. It was just as haunting as the song itself. I picked it up every time the radio station at my work played it. And when I was trying to get into my book, this song would be playing in the background of my head like a creepy soundtrack.

AND THAT’S WHY I’M TALKING ABOUT IT TODAY – IT LITERALLY MAKES SUCH A GOOD SOUNDTRACK FOR READING CREEPY, FALL BOOKS. Or make an amazing book itself. Um, can we just talk about why there are no books about creepy hotels? Like, what is going on, YA? Think about the setting: hotel off the coast of the ocean, a storm brewing, the wind spraying the cool mist around. You’re there: in a deserted hotel with creepy staff, no one else around in sight. Car broken down, dark hallways, things start getting weird.

AND A PERFECT TIME FOR A CREEPY MYSTERY TO BEGIN IN HOTEL CALIFORNIA.

dun dun dunnnnnnnnnnnnn

Yeah, I apparently have too much time on my hands that I’m getting this worked about this song. But now, I just want lots of creepy hotel YA books. Any authors out there: PLEASE WRITE THIS BECAUSE I WANT THIS SO BADLY. THIS SONG HAS RUINED ME.

Okay, so dual fangirling: over a somewhat boring but highly addicting song and a sub-sub genre of a genre of books that don’t even exist yet. XD

But seriously, the song is really soothing, enchanting, and I’m addicted. Thank you, random hotel in Mexico, because you have reignited the inner fangirl in me for random 70s songs.

Don’t worry – I’m pretty sure that next week will feature me back to usual about Disney, princesses, and books. I JUST CAN’T GET THIS SONG OUT OF MY HEAD AND IT NEEDED TO BE DISCUSSED.

What are you fangirling about this week? Do you have songs that totally get you in the mood to read? Will someone please write this book for me? Let’s discuss this in the comments below!

Also, I am participating in a lovely blogging meme – event – thing, called Big Blogger, Little Blogger. It’s super cool and being put on by A Well-Thumbed Reader. My blogging partner is A Dance Between Pages, and if you haven’t check out their blog yet, you totally should! There is a super good mix of reviews from adult to YA (they definitely convinced me to check out a few new books while also crossing off a few on my list). Check out these ladies’ blog here, and also check them out on Goodreads!

33 thoughts on “Fierce Fangirl Fridays: That One with the Random 70s Song

  1. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    Ahhhhhh Mandy 😍😍😍 I always get so excited when I see someone participating in Fierce Fangirl Fridays! This post literally just made my day!

    And that song! I haven’t heard it in ages! And yesterday I was listening to a Throwback playlist and Hotel California came on shuffle! And today you wrote a post about it! What a coincidence! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Thankies, Rendz. XD I figured it would probably be bad if I fangirled about princesses yet again, and decided to be a bit different. And lol, thank you. XD Ahahahaha it would give me an excuse to listen to the song on repeat. 😉 But thankies for wanting to read it. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Oh I love this song too! I have to say, I’d never thought about creepy hotel YA stories but I’d love to try one XD
    I’m currently fangirling over The 100! This season has been insane and I’ve finally found the time to catch up to it (sacrificing some reading time but oh well).

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Lol, I never did either, but this time around, it’s all I could think about. I totally think it would be a good read. 😀
      And oooooh. I started the first season last summer and then I ran out of time and never got back to it. If you’re loving it, then I really need to get back to it. It was really good. But sometimes reading time can be sacrificed a tiny bit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

