Can’t Wait Wednesday: Beetle & the Hollowbones

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss books we’re excited about.

crowns

52765957. sy475

Genre: YA/MG, Graphic Novel | Release Date: July 21st 2020 | Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers

An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mall—perfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time.

In the eerie town of ‘Allows, some people get to be magical sorceresses, while other people have their spirits trapped in the mall for all ghastly eternity.

Then there’s twelve-year-old goblin-witch Beetle, who’s caught in between. She’d rather skip being homeschooled completely and spend time with her best friend, Blob Glost. But the mall is getting boring, and B.G. is cursed to haunt it, tethered there by some unseen force. And now Beetle’s old best friend, Kat, is back in town for a sorcery apprenticeship with her Aunt Hollowbone. Kat is everything Beetle wants to be: beautiful, cool, great at magic, and kind of famous online. Beetle’s quickly being left in the dust.

But Kat’s mentor has set her own vile scheme in motion. If Blob Ghost doesn’t escape the mall soon, their afterlife might be coming to a very sticky end. Now, Beetle has less than a week to rescue her best ghost, encourage Kat to stand up for herself, and confront the magic she’s been avoiding for far too long. And hopefully ride a broom without crashing.

preorder authorontwittercrowns

Okay, like, Blob Ghost has me cracking up, but I’m so excited for this!! I’ve been trying to find some good new graphic novels, and this one sounds like something I need to get on my radar ASAP. I love the look of the art so far, and this sounds like a super fun premise! I love a good witch and ghost story, so combined together?? *chef’s kiss* It also seems to be right on the edge of middle grade and YA, so I think it’s going to be that perfect balance!

elsa

✔️ THIS BOOK IS ELSA APPROVED! 

Elsa definitely knows what it’s like to not only have a great sidekick (Olaf) and ignore her magical powers.

crowns

What do you think? Is this on your book TBR as well? 

mandynamelogo

3 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday: Beetle & the Hollowbones

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.