Adult Books on my TBR that have me considering actually being an adult

Let’s face it: sometimes adulting isn’t a jam. Okay, it’s really never a jam, but sometimes it might have a perk or two. Even though I’m technically an adult, I’m a total YA book heart. I have read a few adult fiction books throughout the years, but mostly I avoid them – not only can I not relate to most of them but do I really want to be reminded of my future existence when I can immerse myself in dragons that don’t involve ice kings and ghosts that aren’t of yesterday’s work day. However, there are a few that have caught my eye that I’m willing to give a chance – maybe.

The Girl from Widow Hills by Megan Miranda

48425038

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last House Guest—a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick—comes a riveting new novel of psychological suspense about a young woman plagued by night terrors after a childhood trauma who wakes one evening to find a corpse at her feet.

I’ve enjoyed both Miranda’s YA and adult thriller books before, so this was, for sure, an easy pick to add to the TBR. Miranda has an easy writing that allows you to invest in her bingeworthy tales. Waking up to a corpse at a heroine’s feet sounds like an intriguing start to a story, so I’m eager to scoop this story up.

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

44074800

Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias meet Dracula in this Southern-flavored supernatural thriller set in the ’90s about a women’s book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious and handsome stranger who turns out to be a blood-sucking fiend.

I’m not the biggest fan of vampires at all, but this book is set in Charleston (a city that I really love visiting and will indulge my weird devotion to always read books about places I go to). I’ve heard great things about Hendrix’s novels, and I believe they tend to be a little campy? I love a dash of camp. Plus, this book features a book club, which is a prompt for the 2020 Popsguar Challenge.

You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

48384117

RITA Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Thank you to the wonderful Rendz @ Reading With Rendz for pointing this book out to me – there was a telenovela that I loved watching as a kid (I never knew what was happening since my grandma refused to translate for me but goodness, there was cuties), and I’m ready for some dramaaaaaaaaaaaaa on and off the screen. I haven’t tried too many adult rom-coms, so while I’m a bit unsure of this one, I just want this cover of beauty to grace my shelf forever.

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

48366686

From the author of Gods of Jade and Shadow comes a reimagining of the classic gothic suspense novel, a story about an isolated mansion in 1950s Mexico — and the brave socialite drawn to its treacherous secrets.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Gods of Jade and Shadow, but y’all, this seems like a book I must have. 1) THAT COVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. I can’t even. The prettiest cover I might have ever seen. And then it’s totally gothic with the 1950s and a spooky mansion. Ugh, I MUST LOVE THIS. There is no other explanation, and I’ve seen a lot of YA readers getting on board with this so it might have some similarities between the two genres.

The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James

45885644

The secrets lurking in a rundown roadside motel ensnare a young woman, just as they did her aunt thirty-five years before, in this new atmospheric suspense novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.

I will forever recommend Simone St. James’s works – and especially if you’re looking as a gateway into adult fiction. Much of her works feel like adult lite with easy writing and the same excellent atmospheric writing that YA does fantastically. Her books really pulled me in when I didn’t know adult books could, and she has never disappointed me in a read. This book is another that sounds so amazing, and it’s coming out later in Feb. Plus, I can’t resist a good hotel/motel setting.

The Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse

36373298. sy475

While most of the world has drowned beneath the sudden rising waters of a climate apocalypse, Dinétah (formerly the Navajo reservation) has been reborn. The gods and heroes of legend walk the land, but so do monsters.

I had saw this book so many times on reviewers that I followed that I thought it was a YA book. The cover always reminded me of this soapy romance that I had read before so I was always confused by it. However, this book was recommended in Monster, She Wrote (a nonfiction book that gave history and recommendations on female horror writers) and Roanhorse’s middle grade book sounds amazing so I’m definitely going to give it a try.

What do you think? Are some of these on your TBR? Do you read adult books? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

mandybanner

12 thoughts on “Adult Books on my TBR that have me considering actually being an adult

  1. I want to read Trail of lightning as well!
    Lately I’m getting more into adult fantasy, and I’m loving it!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    Like

  2. *screams intensely* YOU HAD ME AT HOLA AND MEXICAN GOTHIC MIGHT BE THE GREATEST THINGS TO HAPPEN IN 2020!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Also Trail of Lightning is on my shelf staring at me right now…I really gotta get to it!
    Also sad bc Gods of Jade and Shadow 😦 But its cool, we’re cool)

    Like

  3. How have I never heard of You Had Me at Hola before?? It sounds amazing! I just added it to my TBR! And I thought Trail of Lightning was YA as well! But I’ve heard fantastic things about that one regardless of whether it’s YA or adult, so I might pick it up eventually.

    Like

  4. I’m really intrigued by the book club one although that’s because I have a weakness for vampires 😂 it does sound pretty unique though. And I love the sound of Mexican Gothic and agree about the cover being gorgeous 😍😍 also I’ve had Trail Of Lightning on my TBR for ages and didn’t realize it was an adult book 🙈 it sounds great though. I need to try and find a copy with the cover that you’ve included though – there’s a new one out and it sucks 😔

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.