10 Books to Look Out for in 2020

2020 is bringing all the good, sound books, and I’m here today to bring you a few because … you might be wanting them too??? Also, literally no surprise to anyone: most of them are spooky and ghostie related.

borrderr

The King of Crows by Libba Bray

25985242

The breath-taking finale to the epic New York Times bestseller, The Diviners, from Printz winner and beloved author, Libba Bray.

I’m both equally ready and not ready for this at the same time??? I need to know what happens, but, like, I really don’t want this series to ever end???

borrderr

Layoverland by Gabby Noone

45726037

Two teens, one stuck atoning for her sins and one destined for heaven, fall in love in purgatory in this darkly hilarious and heartfelt rom-com, perfect for fans of The Good Place.

“perfect for fans of the Good Place” has me sold so hard. Plus add in rom-com and funnies??? I’m so down.

borrderr

The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James

45885644

The secrets lurking in a rundown roadside motel ensnare a young woman, just as they did her aunt thirty-five years before, in this new atmospheric suspense novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.

I absolutely love Simone St. James, so I know this one is going to be as amazing as always. Plus add in a hotel setting??? YES PLEASE.

borrderr

The Winter Duke by Claire Eliza Bartlett

46734428

Part Sleeping Beauty, part Anastasia, with a thrilling political mystery, The Winter Duke is a spellbinding story about choosing what’s right in the face of danger.

Ummmmmmmmmmmmmm *brain short circuits* DID I HEAR PART SLEEPING BEAUTY AND PART ANASTASIA – two of my favorite things of all time???? I neeeeeeed.

borrderr

Ghost Squad by Claribel Ortega

36601937. sy475

Coco meets Stranger Things with a hint of Ghostbusters in this action-packed supernatural fantasy.
For Lucely Luna, ghosts are more than just the family business.

I love ghostie middle grade, and then add in those name drops of Coco, Stranger Things, and Ghostbusters??? Omfg, YES. I’ve been so ecstatic for this one since the moment I heard about it that I AM SO READY.

borrderr

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

47553444

In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives.

I will devour everything and anything that Acevedo writes, and this will be no different. And it’s back to verse!!! I know I will be a big bowl of feels by the end of it.

borrderr

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears by Tehlor Kay Mejia

41188237. sy475

Space-obsessed 12-year-old Paola Santiago and her two best friends, Emma and Dante, know the rule: Stay away from the river. It’s all they’ve heard since a schoolmate of theirs drowned a year ago.

La Llorona is featured in this middle grade read, and that is all I need to hear. Rick Riordan Presents has been giving such quality books, so I have no doubt this is going to be amazing.

borrderr

Girls Save the World in This One by Ash Parsons

46766858

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention—featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of GeekerellaUndead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse.

I finally just realized that Ash Poston didn’t write this but Ash Parsons did. Huh. STILL super pumped for this one especially since this sounds so meta and funny.

borrderr

In the Role of Brie Hutchens… by Nicole Melleby

46305867

Introducing Brie Hutchens: soap opera super fan, aspiring actor, and so-so student at her small Catholic school. But when Brie’s mom walks in on her accidentally looking at some possibly inappropriate photos of her favorite actress, Brie panics and blurts out that she’s been chosen to crown the Mary statue during her school’s May Crowning ceremony.

I loved Melleby’s debut this year, and I know I’m going to love this one. It sounds amazing, and I’m already emotional.

borrderr

Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

40144224. sy475

A debut fantasy duology pitched as The Phantom of the Opera meets Moulin Rouge, the story follows Hellfire House’s star showgirl who, haunted by a dark past, must enter a magician’s competition in order to secure her freedom from the handsome, enigmatic keeper of the club, even as mysterious accidents seem to plague her every move.

Um, first, PHANTOM OF THE OPERA. Plus, this kind of seems a bit like Caraval, and I’m really down for that vibe. Even more plus, THAT COVER.

borrderr

What are some books you’re excited about for 2020? 

mandybanner

 

14 thoughts on “10 Books to Look Out for in 2020

  1. The next Sarah J Maas, Cassandra Clare. Aurora Burning by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman,…

    Like

  2. I totally feel you on the king of crows! I both want it now and don’t want to read it haha!
    I can’t wait for clap when you land!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    Like

  3. So many books are coming out in 2020 and I truly can’t keep up with them all!! 😂
    I’ve read the diviners series but I’ve heard a lot of good things so I hope the finale lives up to your expectation!!
    The Winter Duke also sounds like an amazing read!!
    I think my most anticipated reads are When We Were Magic, Loveless, Witches of Ash and Ruin, We Free the Stars, Ink in the Blood and more!! 😂

    Like

  4. I think almost all of these are on my TBR too! I literally can not wait for Where Dreams Descend it sounds amazing. And I seriously need to start reading The Diviners soon, I adore the sound of that series. I hope you end up loving all of these ❤️
    I’m super excited for Kingdom Of Back, Addie La Rue & about a thousand others.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I never really realized they were large – I guess I must always be looking them up online – but I kind of see that as a good thing as it’s more story to enjoy (:

        Fingers crossed that we both enjoy them then (:

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.