Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Circus Rose

last.png

crowns

The Circus Rose by Betsy Cornwell

40077157. sy475

From a New York Times bestselling author, a queer retelling of “Snow White and Rose Red” in which teenage twins battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family. YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Mackenzi Lee, and Laini Taylor.

Twins Rosie and Ivory have grown up at their ringmaster mother’s knee, and after years on the road, they’re returning to Port End, the closest place to home they know. Yet something has changed in the bustling city: fundamentalist flyers paper the walls and preachers fill the squares, warning of shadows falling over the land. The circus prepares a triumphant homecoming show, full of lights and spectacle that could chase away even the darkest shadow. But during Rosie’s tightrope act, disaster strikes.

In this lush, sensuous novel interwoven with themes of social justice and found family, it’s up to Ivory and her magician love—with the help of a dancing bear—to track down an evil priest and save their circus family before it’s too late.

crowns

cantwtt

I just got done with rereading Caraval earlier this month, and I’m definitely now ready for more carnival style books. I never really was a huge fan of them, but I can still really really get into with it and definitely have enjoyed far more lately. Plus it’s a fairytale retelling!! And social injustice??? Dancing bear??? LGBTQIA+ rep?? This sounds so magical. I need.

crowns

snow white

✔️ THIS BOOK IS SNOW APPROVED! 

I mean, this story is based on her fairytale, so how could she not be here? I certainly think she will love this original take on her story, and she would want to fight off the evil in this story!

crowns

What do you think? Is this on your book TBR as well? 

mandylogo (2)

11 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Circus Rose

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.