Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Kingdom of Back

last.png

crowns

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

34213299. sy475

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she’ll go to make history remember her—perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood.

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart.

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish—to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she’ll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age—her tyrannical father has made that much clear.

And as Nannerl’s hope grows dimmer with each passing year, the talents of her beloved younger brother, Wolfgang, only seem to shine brighter. His brilliance begins to eclipse her own, until one day a mysterious stranger from a magical land appears with an irresistible offer. He has the power to make her wish come true—but his help may cost her everything.

In her first work of historical fiction, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu spins a lush, lyrically-told story of music, magic, and the unbreakable bond between a brother and sister.

crowns

cantwtt

Marie Lu + magical land + historical fiction + Mozart = me dying for this book. This sounds amazing, and I just can’t wait for it. I fully trust Lu to tackle historical fiction and a wonderfully complex world after reading Warcross, which I enjoyed immensely. I also tackled Mozart a bit in college classes, so I’m intrigued in seeing more about the history – and a fabulous sister.

crowns

belle

✔️ THIS BOOK IS BELLE APPROVED! 

I feel like this book is totally up Belle’s alley – or should I say bookshelf. I totally believe she would love the classics – books, music, art, etc. So add in magic and history of a classical music master? Yes, please!

crowns

What do you think? Is this on your book TBR as well? 

mandylogo (2)

6 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Kingdom of Back

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.