Can’t Wait Wednesday: We Speak in Storms

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they’re books that have yet to be released. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund

36243752

A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It’s been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens — a whole generation of Mercerites — dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens’ paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward–if only they work together.

A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.

cantwtt

Magic realism hasn’t always brought me the greatest luck, but I’m riding a hide after my luck with Don’t Date Rosa Santos. This book sounds grippping, emotional, and I’ve seen multiple reviews mention ghosts, which you know how much I love. I also love a good ensemble cast of characters, and these three characters mentioned in the summary seem like they will be intriguing. Plus, like, this is my year for being into weather-titled books, so might as well go for it??

pocahontas

✔️ THIS BOOK IS POCAHONTAS APPROVED! This book sounds like it’s going to blend magic, ghosts, and nature – which definitely sounds like it’s up Pocahontas’s alley. I definitely think she would easily connect with this book, and this would be what she would gravitate toward. 


What do you think? Is this on your book TBR as well? 

| add me as a friend on Goodreads |

mandylogo (2)

12 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday: We Speak in Storms

  1. Hahaha of course, this sounds like such a Mandy book! I have to get into magical realism more… The last one I can remember reading was An Ocean at the End of the Lane (which was superb, by the way!)
    Will look forward to this one 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.