📕 July Book Haul 📕

bookhaul
The BPR Monthly Haul includes everything from personal purchases, to ARCs sent from pubs, to library finds. Some months we strike gold and others … well, the gems can be a little elusive.

border

advance reader copies/finished copies 

border


43443471. sx318

TITLE: We Are Here Forever
AUTHOR: Michelle Gish
PUBLISHER: Quirk Books
RELEASE DATE: 2019
GENRE: Graphic Novel, Fantasy
SYNOPSIS: A hilarious graphic novel in which the human race has been supplanted by a sweeter, kinder, happier species…but are they as innocent as they seem? In this post-apocalyptic comedy, it’s survival of the cutest!
RECEIVED BY: Mandy

border

gifts

border


43355180

TITLE: Prince Charming
AUTHOR: Rachel Hawkins
PUBLISHER: Penguin Teen
RELEASE DATE: 2018
GENRE: Contemporary
SYNOPSIS: Meet Daisy Winters. She’s an offbeat sixteen-year-old Floridian with mermaid-red hair, a part time job at a bootleg Walmart, and a perfect older sister who’s nearly engaged to the Crown Prince of Scotland.
RECEIVED BY: Mandy

41473872

TITLE: I Wish You All The Best
AUTHOR: Mason Deaver
PUBLISHER: Push
RELEASE DATE: 2019
GENRE: Contemporary
SYNOPSIS: When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they’re thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met.
RECEIVED BY: Mandy

41150487. sy475

TITLE: Red, White, & Royal Blue
AUTHOR: Casey McQuiston
PUBLISHER: St. Martin’s Griffin
RELEASE DATE: 2019
GENRE: Contemporary
SYNOPSIS:A big-hearted romantic comedy in which First Son Alex falls in love with Prince Henry of Wales after an incident of international proportions forces them to pretend to be best friends…
RECEIVED BY: Mandy

31123196. sy475

TITLE: The Pros of Cons
AUTHOR: Alison Cherry, Lindsay Ribar, Michelle Schusterman
PUBLISHER: Scholastic
RELEASE DATE: 2018
GENRE: Contemporary
SYNOPSIS: When a crazy mix-up in the hotel lobby brings the three girls together, they form an unlikely friendship against a chaotic background of cosplay, competition, and carcasses!
RECEIVED BY: Mandy

36408450. sy475

TITLE: I Wanna Be Where You Are
AUTHOR: Kristina Forest
PUBLISHER: Roaring Brook Press
RELEASE DATE: 2019
GENRE: Contemporary
SYNOPSIS: Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.
RECEIVED BY: Mandy

38101643

TITLE: The Raven’s Tale
AUTHOR: Cat Winters
PUBLISHER: Amulet Books
RELEASE DATE: 2019
GENRE: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Retelling
SYNOPSIS: Seventeen-year-old Edgar Poe counts down the days until he can escape his foster family—the wealthy Allans of Richmond, Virginia. He hungers for his upcoming life as a student at the prestigious new university, almost as much as he longs to marry his beloved Elmira Royster.
RECEIVED BY: Mandy

border

purchased books

border


The Slow Cooker Kitchen - Book

TITLE: The Slow Cooker Kitchen
AUTHOR: n/a
PUBLISHER: Herron Book
RELEASE DATE: 2008
GENRE: Cookbook
SYNOPSIS: Master the art of slow cooking with this essential book.
RECEIVED BY: Sha

33294200. sy475

TITLE: The Poet X
AUTHOR: Elizabeth Acevedo
PUBLISHER: HarperTeen
RELEASE DATE: 2018
GENRE: Contemporary
SYNOPSIS:A young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mother’s religion and her own relationship to the world. Debut novel of renowned slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo.
RECEIVED BY: Mandy

Girls of Paper and Fire (Girls of Paper and Fire, #1)

TITLE: Girls of Paper and Fire
AUTHOR: Natasha Ngan
PUBLISHER: Jimmy Patterson Books
RELEASE DATE: 2018
GENRE: Fantasy
SYNOPSIS: In this richly developed fantasy, Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and most persecuted class of people in Ikhara. She lives in a remote village with her father, where the decade-old trauma of watching her mother snatched by royal guards for an unknown fate still haunts her. Now, the guards are back and this time it’s Lei they’re after.
RECEIVED BY: Sha

border

library hauls

border


Moxie

TITLE: Moxie
AUTHOR: Jennifer Mathieu
PUBLISHER: Roaring Brook Press
RELEASE DATE: 2017
GENRE: Contemporary
SYNOPSIS:Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her small-town Texas high school that thinks the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes and hallway harassment. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.
RECEIVED BY: Sha

A Land of Permanent Goodbyes

TITLE: A Land of Permanent Goodbyes
AUTHOR: Atia Abawi
PUBLISHER: Philomel Books
RELEASE DATE: 2018
GENRE: Historical Fiction
SYNOPSIS: In a country ripped apart by war, Tareq lives with his big and loving family . . . until the bombs strike. His city is in ruins. His life is destroyed. And those who have survived are left to figure out their uncertain future.
RECEIVED BY: Sha

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein

TITLE: The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
AUTHOR: Kiersten White
PUBLISHER: Delacorte Press
RELEASE DATE: 2018
GENRE: Horror
SYNOPSIS:Victor is her escape from misery. Elizabeth does everything she can to make herself indispensable–and it works. She is taken in by the Frankenstein family and rewarded with a warm bed, delicious food, and dresses of the finest silk. Soon she and Victor are inseparable.
RECEIVED BY: Sha

border


What did you haul this month?

 

6 thoughts on “📕 July Book Haul 📕

  1. Definitely some good books in the list! I see a LOT of positive reviews on Red, White and Royal Blue, so I hope you’ll like it.

    And Girls of Paper and Fire is on my shelves for a while now.. I’m so curious, the cover is GORGEOUS!

    Like

  2. Oohh… I hope you both enjoy all of your latest reads!!
    Prince Charming and I Wish You All The Best are books I want to get as well– I’ve heard a lot of good things and they sound so sweet!! I need them!!
    I just read Red, White & Royal Blue and enjoyed it so I hope you do too!!
    The Poet X sounds like such an interesting read– it is one I want to try out as well!! Can’t wait to see what you think!!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Y’all had such a great haul this month! Tons of good books. We Are Here Forever sounds hilarious so I’ll definitely be checking that graphic novel out.
    But I’m eager to hear your thoughts for The Raven’s Tale & The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein! They’ve been on my TBR but I hadn’t decided if I was really interested in trying them yet 😂

    Like

  4. I keep hearing about Red white and royal blue and it looks really cute!! I really liked Prince Charming by Rachel Hawkins (didn’t it used to be called Royals??) hope one of these becomes a 5 star read!! Great post 🙂

    Like

  5. It looks like you had a great haul this month! This post reminded me that I need to request I Wanna Be Where You Are from the library! And I just bought myself a copy of The Poet X this month, even though I read it a year ago!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.