BPR’s 2018 in Review + Our New Year’s Resolutions!

It’s almost 2019, and we’ve officially become those old people that are forever asking, when did it become 2019??? We’re here to count down some of the best and worst of 2018, as we eagerly await a whole new bunch of moments, memories, and books to come for 2019!

stats1


YEAR IN REVIEW


JANUARY

FEBRUARY

  • TOP POST: You’re Not Good Enough tag
  • EVENT: Nothing was excitingness for our princesses this month sadly. We were just vibing in Sha’s makeup posts and Mandy being a month and half behind in reviews.
  • BEST BOOK: American Panda by Gloria Chao or Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young (YOU CAN’T MAKE ME CHOOSE. BUT LIKE MAYBE SKY IN THE DEEP. SO, OKAY, YOU CAN MAKE ME CHOOSE) for Mandy / The S-Word by Chelsea Pitcher for Sha
  • WORST BOOK: The Cruel Prince by Holly Black for Mandy/ Gorgeous by Paul Rudnick for Sha

MARCH

  • TOP POST: Book Blogger Test
  • EVENT: Well, um, we were…we were doing things. Sha created our Facebook page that had a wondrous banner, and forever landed her as the official BPR graphic maker (little did she know). I’m calling it an important event.
  • BEST BOOK: These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas for Mandy / Chomp by Carl Hiaasen for Sha
  • WORST BOOK: My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent for Mandy (sorry, Sha) / If I Die Tonight by Alison Gaylin for Sha

APRIL

MAY

JUNE

  • TOP POST: Ways to Tell You’re in a Blogging Slump
  • EVENT: Summer = time Sha and Mandy were basking in the sun, so we were not the happening in big events. However, June did mark the most important buddy read ever: Grave Mercy where these GM fangirls just died and went to Book Heaven.
  • BEST BOOK: Grave Mercy for both
  • WORST BOOK: The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan for Mandy / None for Sha who was basking in Grave Mercy feels

JULY

AUGUST

  • TOP POST: 90s Movies Book Tag
  • EVENT: We hit 2K followers on BPR!! Thanks everyone soooo much. In celebration, we hosted a sweepstakes and gave away two $10 e-gift certificates to Thrift Books.
  • BEST BOOK: The Bigfoot Files by Lindsay Eagar for Mandy / The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh for Sha
  • WORST BOOK: Uncharted by Erin Cashman for Mandy / Beast by Lisa Jensen

SEPTEMBER

OCTOBER

 

NOVEMBER

DECEMBER

  • TOP POST: Top 5 Tuesday: Books I Didn’t Get to in 2018
  • EVENT: A light attempt at Blogmas (we did the daily posting, but not everything was holiday themed). We’ll be doing Kathy @ Books&Munches and Destiny @ Howling Library’s Short-a-Thon later in the month.
  • BEST BOOK: The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton for Mandy / Exit Plans for Teenage Freaks by ‘Nathan Burgoine
  • WORST BOOK: The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali by Sabina Khan for Mandy / n/a for Sha

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS


What are we aiming to achieve in 2019?

📝 [SHA] Read more books featuring LGBT+ and/or POC characters.

📝 [MANDY] ^^^ Same, same, and more same. I would love to participate in a pride month TBR as well in June.

📝 [SHA] Attend a book convention.

📝 [SHA] Keep a healthy balance between blog life and personal life.

📝 [MANDY] Actually finish reading all the books on my physical TBR. I’ve officially run out of room on my shelf, and I need to make sure I have them all read so I can dehaul some to make room for the ones I currently have and all the 2019 beauties.

📝 [SHA] Receive my first physical ARC.

📝 [MANDY] Finish all of the Rick Riordan series, which also lends itself to reading more middle grade books. But mostly, I just need to complete the RR binge that I started a year ago this month.

📝 [MANDY] Keep a schedule of blogging activities – blog hopping one day, doing comments one day, reading one day, etc. so I don’t actually just fail and not answer my comments for 10 days like I do.

📝 [SHA] Post at least one buddy read with Mandy every two months.

📝 [MANDY] Do more readathons! I really enjoy doing prompts and themed reads, so I definitely think I might hop in a few more.


What do you think? What are some of your 2019 resolutions? What were some of your top books or worst books for 2018? What was memorable for 2018? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

16 thoughts on “BPR’s 2018 in Review + Our New Year’s Resolutions!

  1. What a neat recap. I love revisiting the highs of your year. Anything I read from Strohm or Bennett is a high, so I am glad to see I am in good company. Good luck with all your goals!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.