Waiting on Wednesday: Hunting Prince Dracula

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme created by Breaking the Spine where each week we discuss upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Truthfully, I’ve kind of debated whether or not I want to quit this meme and perhaps try out WWW Wednesdays. I like this one, since I love showcasing releases that sound like so much fun and I’m looking forward, too. Does anyone have a preference? Do you find yourself enjoying writing/reading one post or another?

Anyway, let’s go onto what I’m waiting for this week!

hunting price dracula

Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco

In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1 bestseller Stalking Jack the Ripper, bizarre murders are discovered in the castle of Prince Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Dracula. Could it be a copycat killer…or has the depraved prince been brought back to life?

Following the grief and horror of her discovery of Jack the Ripper’s true identity, Audrey Rose Wadsworth has no choice but to flee London and its memories. Together with the arrogant yet charming Thomas Cresswell, she journeys to the dark heart of Romania, home to one of Europe’s best schools of forensic medicine…and to another notorious killer, Vlad the Impaler, whose thirst for blood became legend.

But her life’s dream is soon tainted by blood-soaked discoveries in the halls of the school’s forbidding castle, and Audrey Rose is compelled to investigate the strangely familiar murders. What she finds brings all her terrifying fears to life once again.

Here’s the truth: I never had much interest in Stalking Jack the Ripper, but after seeing so many people love it and my secret love of historical fiction, I tried it. And failed. I think it was a little too much gore too soon, and I was like, NOPE. But after seeing the synopsis for this book, I knew I had to give Stalking another try because I had to read this.

In college, one of my favorite research projects was taking a further dive into Dracula mythology. I’ve never been into the whole vampire lore, but I loved reading about Bram Stoker’s take on it and how he was influenced by Vlad but also has native Ireland. So, of course, anything with Dracula, I’m total trash for now.

Plus, after reading the first one, I’m really eager to dive back into the world Maniscalco creates. I did have some gripes with the first one, but I have a feeling a new change of gorgeous scenery and very intriguing mythology, this is going to be loads of fun. Can’t wait to see what this story brings!

Check out more about it here.

What are you waiting for this week? Are you excited for this book as well? What are some of your YA buzzwords? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

27 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Hunting Prince Dracula

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

    Ordered Stalking Jack the Ripper, but it’ll only arrive at the end of September [stupid, stupid me]; I’m looking forward to reading both of these!

    As for your question.. I’ve done WoW from the day I started my blog, but lately I’ve been having the same battle you apparently have. WoW or http://WWW.. Doing both feels stupid, doesn’t it? Yet I enjoy doing my WoW’s because I always discover other books that will be released in the near future.
    On the other hand, WWW seems like an extra way to motivate myself to read and maybe – finally – try to “plan” my books in advance, even if it’s just a couple of days in advance.

    Oh, the bookblogging struggles!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    I still haven’t read the first book, but I really want to! They both sound fantastic.

    As for whether you should keep doing WoW or switch to WWW, I’ll admit I kind of enjoy reading WWW posts more, but they can also get repetitive at times. If you wanted, you could always alternate weeks and do WoW on one week and WWW the next. 🙂 That way you could try out WWW and still have the chance to talk about some upcoming releases you’re looking forward to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Yes! A few minor issues, but the first one really was quite good. I think you would enjoy, Kourtni! 🙂

      And oooooh, I really like that idea, Kourtni! That way it would not get too repetitive but still showcasing both. Thanks so much for the idea, and I’m totally going to have to do that! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amber says:

    My vote goes for alternating! That gives you the freedom to do which appeals to you most that week. 🙂 There are SO MANY different memes around, sometimes it’s good to change it up.

    I LOVE that you’re actually familiar with Bram Stoker’s Dracula – SO FEW people have actually read the source and I LOVE it. I would be down for this book… but, erm, need to read Jack the Ripper first….

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Ooooooh, that’s a really good idea. I hadn’t thought about that, but it would give me a lot more freedom. Thanks so much for the idea!

      Yes! There is so much more to the original than what people seem to know from the movies and such. And lol, that was totally the only reason I read Jack the Ripper…was so I could read this one. XD It really wasn’t bad, though! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. KrystiYAandWine says:

    I’m DYING to read this book! So this is probably my favorite weekly meme and the one I do most regularly. I’ve also gotten a couple of ARCs from doing these posts, and tweeting about them. I like reading everyone’s WWW. I just don’t do it, because I do this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

