2 Slumps, a Book Princess, and a dive into an overhyped book: Oh my?

rapunzel

Not even Rapunzel can help me with inspiration.

Ladies and gents, I’m stuck. I was oh, so excited to get my groove on for blogging today, but every time I open up a WordPress post, I just stare blankly at it. And stare. And stare. And then go back to listening to my audiobook.

I think I have entered into the dreaded….book blogging slump. Book blogging burnout? I’m not entirely sure what it is, but I’m totally lost. I have loads of things to do – reviews, ideas for posts (I’ve got a really fun one I’ve been playing with and I even got my butt on creating that tag I had an idea for 3 months ago), tons and tons of tagggggssss. But all I’ve done today is…look at the Reader, listen to my book, and walk around my house. Oops.

And this is also coupling perhaps on the start of a reading slump. Literally not a single book sounds good. I have tons of library books, quite a few e-ARCs, and a TON of physical books on my TBR…and NONE SOUND GOOD. I just stare at my bookshelves, desperate for a book to cry out to me and I’ve got nothing.

So, I’m failing. I have a few ideas of how to get out of my reading slump (rereading a favorite book and my favorite contemporary ever might be calling my name), and I’m guessing an idea for the blogging slump is to take a breather or force myself to try and get back into the groove? But for now, I may go a little quiet until inspiration hits me (why there might not be a Princesses Read tomorrow).

As for the third post, I have officially taken the dive into the infamous and beloved by most Shadowhunters series. I read the Infernal Devices quite a few years ago, and I only faintly remember it. But I knew that I loved it.

Now, I know people either tend to love or hate City of Bones, but so far, the audiobook has been quite good (it also be my love of Mae Whitman – OMG SHE IS AMAZING AND I’M CRYING) and I’m super intrigued. Might be seeing what all the hype might be about.

SO, if I’m a bit MIA for a few days, it’s because I’m trying to get my butt together over the slumps; trying to find some princess inspiration; or going into an intense Shadowhunters audiobook spiral.

What do you do to get out of your blogging slumps? What do you think about the Shadowhunters? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

Β Follow my blog with Bloglovin

93 thoughts on “2 Slumps, a Book Princess, and a dive into an overhyped book: Oh my?

  1. Em says:

    I get like this sometimes and it’s so frustrating. Like sometimes (especially when I’ve been reading a lot) I’ll have tons of reviews pile up and then I’ll want to write said reviews less and less. It’s like I’m scared of the work or something…. oops…
    When I get that way I usually go for a walk and clear my head, and then I feel better. Like if I just walk away from everything and get fresh air (and listen to an audiobook while doing so!!) I usually can sit down and write afterwards.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. TizzyMatic says:

    I go do other things that are fun when I’m not into blogging. Like today, I had a post in mind; didn’t write it. So instead, I’ll just be on YouTube and mess with my mom. Gets me to laugh and my mind starts craving to write again.

    Oh lord, I just saw the most epic hate review on Shadowhunters. Let’s see which way you lean, hate or love. There’s never a middle apparently, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Egg Reader says:

    I get in reading slumps where I believe that I’ll never ever read a good book ever again, but rereading faves usually helps!!

    Omg I hate The Mortal Instruments and The Dark Artifices. I liked The Infernal Devices because it was set in an older time period. But HATED TDA and TMI!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Ahahaha YES. And the world is just so appealing to just stay there. But yes! I’m definitely going to have to do that. πŸ˜€ That sounds so good!

      And OH NO. XD That’s what I’m afraid is going to happen to me. If you don’t mind me asking, what were the main reasons you didn’t enjoy? Because I really did enjoy that old setting as well with the Infernal.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Steph says:

    I hate slumps because I still WANT to read, but there is just nothing I feel like reading. SO FRUSTRATING. But in the meantime it doesn’t hurt to take a break!! Perfectly understandable to need a break one in a while πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amber says:

    Never apologize for taking care of YOU. Blogging, while also wonderful, is TECHNICALLY work. We have to have “sick” days sometime! ❀

    Glad you're enjoying City of Bones. Not my cup of tea, but loved the concept and I always like to hear people get excited about books. AND YOU'RE SO RIGHT. Sometimes the narrator really makes the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Oooooh, I like thinking of it like that. It’s so very true, though!

      To tell the truth, I really think it is the narrator. I just really enjoy her voice and the way she’s reading it when I’ve sat before and actually listening it, going, I don’t think I would really enjoy some of the parts if I was physically reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. TheCleverReader says:

    I’ve only had my blog for two months and I’ve had slumps too. I’ve been in a reading slump the past couple weeks but I’m finally getting out of that which is making me more motivated to work on my blog. Mine is definitely mood based and sometimes I just don’t feel like doing anything. Hopefully you’ll be able to get out of this slump. We need more of your awesome blog posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Reading with Rendz says:

    Totally understand how you feel Mandy! Sometimes I have the urge to blog but when the laptop gets opened and WordPress is up I lose my mojo! *sigh* plus there is so much to get done… just no motivation! So I guess it’s a-okay to take a break! Give yourself some time to miss blogging and come back with bursting and bubbling with ideas! Enjoy your shadow hunters!!!! Can’t wait to fangirl when you get back!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ChicNerdReads says:

    sorry to hear about the slump! sometimes it’s good to just take a break and a breather, even when it comes to reading. what works for me when i’m in a reading slump is, i’ll watch a show on netflix till i miss reading and then get back into the swing of things.

    i’ve only read the first three of the shadow hunter books and thought they were fun. i also read the infernal devices and LOVED IT! enjoy your time off and audiobook ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Ooooooh, I like that idea a lot. I definitely think I’m going to have to try that instead of forcing myself to try and read something. XD

      And oooooh, okay, I’m excited to continue then. πŸ˜€ Will and Tessa and Jem were just so much fun. I think that’s why I was so scared to try this because how could these people compete with them? And thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Cayla's Booktopia says:

    Normally what I do when I get into book blogging slumps is to just take a breather. I like to read a bunch of other bloggers that I adore for inspiration, or I get a change of scenery. As for the Shadowhunters books, I LOVE them! I am obsessed. So obsessed that on my left wrist, I have the angelic rune.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Beware Of The Reader says:

    Sorry to hear this! When it happens it’s shuting down the computer and a good walk for me. Some break time too. So I think you’ve got the good idea πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  11. thelivingbooktree says:

    Even princesses need their break! But I really hate when that happens. When it happens to me itΒ΄s usually I want to read every book I have at the same time but yet non of them sounds good.
    Try read a really short book or watching tv-shows or movies instead for a while might make you miss the books πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  12. raven avery says:

    I get this sometimes as well, I think the best thing to do is not force yourself too much, take a step back and when you’re ready the motivation will come back, also as has been mentioned above if I find myself in a reading slump I binge watch tv shows and then for some reason get sick of them by which point I’m dying to pick up a book πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • raven avery says:

        I think finding whatever works for you is the most important, and taking a step back should hopefully let you figure out what’ll get you out of your slump and if not then you try something different the next time. Hopefully it works though πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  13. A says:

    Sorry to hear about your slump! It happens to me all the time! Don’t feel too bad about it. It’s perfectly normal. Don’t love Shadowhunters the book, but maybe I’ll try an audio book to see if that makes a difference. Take it easy and good luck! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Thanks so much! πŸ™‚ And I will say that I really am enjoying the audiobook much more than I would have reading the book. Like, certain parts I could see myself getting bored with it, but listening to the narrator has me a lot more enthralled. It might be worth a shot. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much!! ❀

      Like

  14. janninchou says:

    Oh I think book blogging slump is as normal as reading slump. πŸ˜„ You’ll get past it, Mandy! I’m sure of it! I can’t wait to see those tags you created! 😁

    Also, it’s good that you’re liking the City of Bones. I don’t think I like the series so far. I’m still on the City of Ashes and I’m starting to think of DNF-ing the series. I’m not feeling the Shadowhunters world. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    Aww I’m sorry to hear about the slump! I know that feeling all too well and it sucks but you can’t do anything about it except wait for it to pass. But taking a break has been really good for me when I was first hit with a blogging slump! And now that I’m on a hiatus because of school and stuff, I’ve found to have so much more time for reading and I was actually getting excited to pick up new books again!

    And I have so many post ideas as well and I keep being hit with inspiration but I need to restrain myself because I have more important things to write (aka my stupid papers XD).

    Good luck getting over your slump(s) and I hope they pass soon! Take all the time you need to relax and come back whenever you feel like it! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Jamie @ Book Pandamonium says:

    Oh nooo, sorry about your double slump!! Unfortunately I don’t have any advice for getting out of a blogging slump since I’m still kinda in one πŸ˜… but what seems to be working for me is just being in the community. Even if I’m not writing any posts, just reading others gives me inspiration for ideas and makes me want to write more. Also I love Shadowhunters!! It has its flaws, but I think it gets better with every book. And I love Mae Whitman!! That sounds like a great idea for a cure- hope it works! πŸ™

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Marta says:

    Oh no, SLUMPS ARE THE WORST! When I get one they don’t last long, fortunately, but still, wanting to read or blog and not being able to is horrible. I hope you get out of it soon! ❀
    And I'm one of those who loved City of Bones haha I've never listened to the audiobook, but I'm glad you're enjoying it πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Thanks so much! ❀ I'm hoping it's clearing up since I managed to kick most of my book slump. Hoping the blogging slump will be fully taken care of soon.
      And ooooh okay, good! πŸ˜€ Another boost of confidence for it. I really do recommend the newest audiobook. The narrator does such a good job with making them come alive.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. meltingpotsandothercalamities says:

    Ugh, I hate blogging slumps. I know I had one yesterday (it doesn’t help that I’m busy for most of the day today, so no posting for me!) Maybe you could expand your blog a little, outside of books? I know I wouldn’t be posting nearly as often as I do if I only posted about one thing. Maybe post about some manga? Not JUST Sailor Moon! You can still primarily post about books, but expanding what you blog about could help beat a blogger’s slump.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

