The 2018 Book Princess TBR Shelf…oops

So, um, I did this thing. This thing I wasn’t supposed to do. This thing that is the most idiotic thing I’ve done in a while. I do believe it is what we call a mistake.

What did this silly Book Princess do, you ask?

She found the Goodreads list of 2018 YA Books. Omigosh, it’s heaven – or hell when you look at all the books I have added to my TBR in a short amount of time (sorry for those people that are friends with me on Goodreads and were forced to see my onslaught). I used to be real big into Goodreads spirals where I just find lists like this and add and add and add. It was how I found all of the 2017 books I wanted to read before I was into book blogging, so spirals are kind of the best.

And kind of the worst, because I now have 54 books on my 2018 TBR when I’m pretty sure I only had 12 or so the other day. Oops. SO MUCH OOPS.

Here are the top 5 best sounding ones that I want so so badly.

Throw Your Arm Across Your Eyes and Scream by Christian McKay Heidicker

Pitched as Pleasantville meets Cloverfield, the novel follows 15-year-old Phoebe, daughter of the woman who was carried to the top of the Empire State Building by King Kong, in a world where the horrors of 1940s and 50s sci-fi movies are everyday occurrences.

Literally there is not even a full summary, and I’m so ridiculously sold. SOLD. SOLDDDDDD. This sounds like such a fun little book that will have lots of funnies and cheesy goodness. Plus, my dad made me watch a lot of these movies, so I’ll sadly know a lot of the movies that will be mentioned. BUT SO SOLD, PEEPS.

Click here for more info!

Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Charlie Grant’s older sister is getting married this weekend at their family home, and Charlie can’t wait—for the first time in years, all four of her older siblings will be under one roof. She knows as soon as everyone is home, things will finally go back to the way they used to be. Her parents will change their mind about putting the house up for sale. Her mom will finally pay attention again to the real Grants instead of the version of the family she draws for her popular comic strip. The house will be filled with jokes and games and laughs again. Making decisions about things like what college to attend and reuniting with longstanding crush Jesse Foster—all that can wait. She wants to focus on making the weekend perfect.

The only problem? The weekend is shaping up to be absolute disaster.

There’s the unexpected dog with a penchant for howling, an alarm that won’t stop going off, and a papergirl with a grudge.

There are the relatives who aren’t speaking, the (awful) girl her favorite brother brought home unannounced, and a missing tuxedo.

Not to mention the neighbor who seems to be bent on sabotage and a storm that is bent on drenching everything. The justice of the peace is missing. The band will only play covers. The guests are all crazy. And the wedding planner’s nephew is unexpectedly, distractingly…cute.

Over the course of three ridiculously chaotic days, Charlie will learn more than she ever expected about the family she thought she knew by heart. And she’ll realize that sometimes, trying to keep everything like it was in the past means missing out on the future.

I really enjoyed The Unexpected Everything by Matson, so I’m already sold on her contemporaries – BUT this sounds literally so good. It looks like it will have the right about funnies (everything in that second to last paragraph sounds so ridiculously fun, I AM DYING). Um, um, I can’t deal.

Click here for more info!

The Dark Beneath the Ice by Amelinda Bérubé

Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity in a literary ghost story about a former dancer whose grip on sanity starts to slip when she begins to think a dark entity is stalking her and craves her life.

Again, no official summary, but Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity??? I love me some ghosties, and this sounds like such a good psychological thriller. OMG. I am now totally in the mood to read a good ghost story now…too bad I have to wait until 2018 for this one.

Click here for more info!

Strange Grace by Tessa Gratton

A dark fairy tale for the 21st century.

Every seven years in the town of Three Graces, in exchange for prosperity, the best young man is sent into the Devil’s Forest to face the devil and almost always a terrible death, until this year when three teens — two young men and a young woman with their own complicated loyalties, loves, and motives — run into the forest and discover secrets that will turn the town and their hearts inside out.

Okay, they literally had me at the first line with dark fairy tale, but then that small little summary. DEVIL’S FOREST. FACE DEVIL. COMPLICATED LOYALTIES. RUN INTO THE FOREST. SECRETSSSSSSSSSSSS. Omg, they have sold me with everything. EVERYTHINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG.

Click here for more info!

the wicked deep

This one actually has a cover!

The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw

Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic meets the Salem Witch trials in this haunting story about three sisters on a quest for revenge—and how love may be the only thing powerful enough to stop them.

Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow…

Where, two centuries ago, three sisters were sentenced to death for witchery. Stones were tied to their ankles and they were drowned in the deep waters surrounding the town.

Now, for a brief time each summer, the sisters return, stealing the bodies of three weak-hearted girls so that they may seek their revenge, luring boys into the harbor and pulling them under.

Like many locals, seventeen-year-old Penny Talbot has accepted the fate of the town. But this year, on the eve of the sisters’ return, a boy named Bo Carter arrives; unaware of the danger he has just stumbled into.

Mistrust and lies spread quickly through the salty, rain-soaked streets. The townspeople turn against one another. Penny and Bo suspect each other of hiding secrets. And death comes swiftly to those who cannot resist the call of the sisters.

But only Penny sees what others cannot. And she will be forced to choose: save Bo, or save herself.

I actually didn’t find this on the list, but instead from the wonderful Rendz @ Reading With Rendz. She always finds super cool books, and when I saw that she wanted to read it across my Goodreads feed, I, of course, had to check it out and was so glad I did. Hocus Pocus plus Practical Magic? Um, plus, the gorgeous writing in the summary? I AM SO SOLD SO SOLD SO SOLD. And witchessssssssssssssssssssssss. I love me some witches. Thank you, Rendzzzzzzzzz.

Click here for more info!

What books are you excited about for 2018? Can someone please convince me not to go back to that list? Do any of these sound intriguing to you? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

49 thoughts on “The 2018 Book Princess TBR Shelf…oops

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

    I literally just stopped reading as soon as you said you added.. 54? I’m not even scrolling back up. I so do not need to be tempted already for 2018 books. I can barely control myself when it comes to 2017?! By the time it’s ’18, I’ll still have to buy half of ’17’s books and.. Oh my god I cannot handle this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading with Rendz says:

    AHHHHHHHH SO MANY MANY MANY MANY BOOKS! You’re welcome by the way! The cover was gorgeous and then the synopsis was stellar so it was an instant add!!!!!! Plus Hocus Pocus!! (Omg baby Rendz is excited!!) 2018 is going to be packed!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thebookcorps says:

    Mandy, how dare you. I literally went through your 2018 shelf and added almost all of the books to my own shelf. I’m blaming you for my out of control TBR now.

    (But thank you too, because these books sound amazing.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lacyliteracy says:

    Meet Cute!!! I love anthologies, and I got a copy of it at Yallwest so I’m super excited to start it (once my summer class ends 😅).

    I haven’t heard about The Wicked Deep before! I’ll have to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

