We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

imageWe Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Title = totally misleading, because I don’t think I’m okay after reading this book? I actively avoided this book due to the hype, but I spotted it at the library and I’m like, well, FINE, I’ll read it; I’m clearly forced now *rolls eyes* But wow, this really blew me away.

You go through life thinking there’s so much you need…

Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

I think this is the kind of story that you should know nothing about it before going in. I really had no clue about anything that was going to happen or anything about what is was about because I was all like AHHHHH SCARY HYPE. Therefore, I was shocked by the twists and turns, and it left me with such a bigger of an impact.

Here’s some things that you should know:

The writing is stunning. I mean, stunningly beautiful. There are little lines that just hit you with their beauty. It sucks you in and leaves you in a vortex of never wanting to come out again. Wow, I will definitely be picking up any of her books in the future.

The pace is slow, but the writing and story is so emotional that it doesn’t matter. There will be some people that go, WHOA, NO, FAR TOO SLOW (yes, I’m usually one of these people), but the story is so character driven and done so beautifully, I couldn’t care less if they were running in the snow or literally eating a bowl of chili. I was enthralled.

I loved the characters. Mabel and Marin have a super complex history, and their twists and turns had my feels aching for them. I loved them both dearly, and even the side characters were super interesting. Marin was a wonderful narrator, and goodness, I loved her and her journey.

My only issue is the big reveal. I didn’t quite…I don’t know, but I guess I expected something more? I mean, it makes sense, but I really just expecting something gasp worthy. I had already called the main idea of what was going to happen, and I had come up with more melodramatic ones, but I just thought…it was going to be something else. That’s why it went down a crown for me.

Overall, this was such an interesting read, and I’m so glad that I forgot about the hype for once. It really did live up to it, but I could see where it might be a bit slow for some people. You have to really connect with the characters, and I really think so many people will – I did and I love them. 4 crowns and an Ariel rating although with all the freezing snow, it really should be Elsa even though it’s not a special snowflake for me. 😉

 

four-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? Have you read this book? What books have you avoided due to the hype? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

30 thoughts on “We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

    Honestly, I haven’t seen this book very much yet but your review is so… vague and motivating and intriguing that I just really want to read it write now.. As if I don’t have enough books to read already?! Haha, no. Thank you! [I’m adding this to my TBR as soon as I hit “send”.]

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Ahahahaha, sorry, but also kind of not sorry because it’s a beautiful book. 😉 But really, going in vague really makes it that much better, but it’s so worth the read (and addition the TBR mountain). XD Hope you enjoy!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sydneysshelves says:

    I’m currently listening to the audio for this and I totally agree with you. The reveal felt weird… But the rest of this book is so amazing. I’m feeling so many feels. And the writing is just so lyrical. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Azia says:

    I loved this book! The writing is phenomenal and the characters are so complex and well-developed. I just loved reading how Marin thought and felt about her situation and I think the author did a fantastic job in creating unique relationships among the characters. I agree that the reveal was a bit underwhelming, but it kind of fit with the slow pacing and grounded reality of Marin’s journey. It was still a little weird though haha. Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Yes! I sooooo agree. I’m so glad that she moved at such a slow pace so we could really see the complexities and dynamics of them. All of the relationships were so hauntingly beautiful. And totally agree about the reveal. I do agree it fit, but just felt a bit off. Thanks so much, Azia! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

