The Princesses Read: Anna

Each Saturday, I will be showcasing a lovely Disney Princess (or when they run out, some other Disney leading ladies and more) and showcasing what they might be picking up if they were reading YA today. It will be based off their likes, interests, personalities, and their storyline. At the end, I will also feature a book that the Princess would NOT be picking up and a section of books that are based off either the plot or original princess fairytale. Check out more info here on my original post! We’ve done Tiana, Belle, Jasmine, Rapunzel, Moana, Snow White, Mulan, Elsa, and Cinderella so far! We have also done one non-princess but epic Disney heroine, Alice!

LADIES AND GENTLEMEN…I HAVE A VERY SAD NEWS ALERT. I have nothing for my darling princess, Anna. NOTHING. As you may have saw, I literally have figurines/t-shirts/etc. for many of the other princesses and heroines, but I don’t have a single thing for poor Anna. D: This clearly very sad *rolls eyes*

But still…our princess this week will still be…

anna

Anna!

I always feel so bad for Anna, because poor Elsa and her incredibly catchy song always get all the conversation. Anna was truly the typical heroine of the story, but Elsa is always the one that gets talked about. XD Anna, though, is a brilliant princess. She’s funny, she likes sandwiches, she loves her people and people in general, and she feels passionately – about men she just meets, chocolate, and how important family is. Yes, she does fall in love with a guy she just meets, but she lives her life in the moment and so happily. She sees the best in everyone and everyone, and she loves her sister so dearly. She’s one of the most heartwarming princesses out there! ❤

What YA books would Anna curl up with and pair with a delicious sandwich?

17265822_105480236635798_3677812986992394240_nCaraval by Stephanie Garber

This book would be the very first book that I would push at Anna if she wanted to get into YA. Not only did I literally picture Scarlett (the main character) as Anna the entire time, it has one of the best sister relationships that I’ve ever seen. When Tella goes missing, Scarlett will do anything to find her and save her from the mysterious game that she’s now playing (and also from her abusive father). Does this not sound like what Anna does for her sister, Elsa? It gave me such Frozen feels this entire book, so if you’re ever looking for a Frozen retelling, this is basically it.

19227127_709635132556289_1957336194446524416_nThe Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy

Does anyone else get the feeling that Anna could really be into pretty writing books and books just full of pretty imagery? I super get that feeling, and I have no clue why. Maybe it’s because she literally wanders the halls talking to the paintings (oooh, Picture of Dorian Grey recommendation??). I think Anna would really enjoy this book, though. It’s got a super cool magic system filled with consequences; an adorable romance; amazing brother/sister dynamics (which Anna will find handy when they meet up with their long-lost brother, Tarzan, according to Disney conspiracy theorists); being uprooted from everything they know when a parent dies; and a big, bad scary guy plotting against them the entire time. I feel like she could super relate to this.

18723792_1958907327673935_8788479801833816064_n(1)Sasquatch, Love, and Other Imaginary Things by Betsy Aldredge & Carrie DuBois-Shaw

Okay, big hairy Sasquatch is kind of like a upright Sven without antlers? Maybe? Kind of? Eh, but I feel like growing up in a kingdom where there are tons of woods and mountains, there would have been stories about Bigfoot and Yetis. Just imagine Marshmallow as a less hairy Yeti. Andddddd there are some great sister relationships in here, and the family dynamics were adorableeeeeee. But yes, yes, that’s a better reason? XD BUT YETIS. SVEN. SISTERS. JUST READ THIS WHEN IT COMES OUT.

the-summer-i-became-a-nerdThe Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

Not only do I think Anna would love reading a book about a cheesy romance and getting to better know yourself, one of the side characters, Dan, reminds me a bit of Olaf. He has quirky little comments to add, he’s absurdly random, and he’s a great support system to his buddy, Logan. He has become one of my favorite side characters ever – just like Olaf. It’s all so adorable and cute.

A Book Anna would NOT pick up

17438128_384901745224325_4931362620407021568_nBlood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

I have no doubt that Anna would love the magic system and folklore infused in this story, but the issue stems from the sister relationship. They aren’t super close, and their relationship explodes when Anna (our main heroine and also name twin to our princess) is found accidentally crashing her sister’s party and talks about kissing her sister’s unknown kissing partner, things just go KABOOM. Their relationship is horrible, and I don’t think Anna would enjoy reading about a bad sister relationship while her renewed relationship with Elsa is still so fresh.

Want to read more about Anna?

Well, um, you sadly can’t. Anna’s and Elsa’s story was born out of the very heabily adapted Snow Queen story. With all the edits they did, there really was no anna in the original stories…so you sadly can’t read it at all. 😦

Next week?

…yeah, I got nothing.

What do you think? What other books would Anna want to read? Do you think she would want to read these? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

30 thoughts on “The Princesses Read: Anna

  1. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Oh no!! You definitely need to get some Anna merch soon! :O She’s adorable!! I don’t know which one I love most, to be honest, but I always had a soft spot for cute and clumsy Anna ❤
    Ok, I think I'll be picturing Anna as Scarlett when I read Caraval, now XD It's all your fault, Mandy!! (Just kidding, it's fine 😛 )
    I don't know what to think about the Tarzan conspiracy theory… I think someone already debunked it by saying they are set in completely different time periods (Tarzan is more modern) so yeah… One can dream, though! (Conspire? Hmm)
    The other two choices sound super Anna as well! She would love all the cuteness, I think xD
    And she would definitely stay clear of Blood Rose Rebellion!
    Amazing post, Mandy!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      YES! ❤ I totally agree – she just felt super relatable to me.
      Ahahahahah sorry but also not sorry because it kind of made it more enjoyable to me? I honestly she felt like she was just Anna except in a carnival setting. XD You must let me know when you get to it and whetehr or not it actually happens or if you can get this post out of your head.
      Ahahaha yes! It did seem very out there.
      But yay! Thanks so much, Sophie!! As always, I appreciate it. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Ooooh, thankies, Rendz! I tried to make it a bit different. I should have done this post before you read Caraval, so you could have imagined Scarlett as Anna, too. XD But yes! One day…when I don’t blow my entire bank account on books. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky says:

    Anna is one of my favorites, and also the princess that I relate to most! I’m definitely need to check out the books you recommended, because if she likes them, then I would too probably!

    Also, I would argue that Anna is like the little girl, Gerda, in the original Snow Queen story by Hans Christian Anderson. As she goes on a journey to save her best friend from the Snow Queen. Disney definitely adapted the hell out of the original tale, but for the better in some ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Yes! ❤ She is so amazingly relateable. But I definitely think you would! 🙂

      And you know, Becky, I totally think you're right. I read the tale forever ago, so I did forget about that. It really was so twisted that I never thought about that so I definitely would agree. I'm so going to change that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Becky says:

        No worries! The only reason I remember the tale so well is because one of my friends wrote a play based off of it for this children’s theater thing we did back in high school. His play definitely adhered to the original story more. I was cast as Gerda which is why I remember her part well!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. KrystiYAandWine says:

    Sooo…I think I told you this already, but I’ve never seen Frozen! I know! It’s okay though, because you aren’t a Potter head, so we’re even. I can say that I love these books you selected, even if I don’t understand much of the context! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

