Fierce Fangirl Fridays: Sailor Moon

fiercefangirlfriday

Fierce Fangirl Fridays are put on by the wonderful and lovely Jackie @ Too Much of a Booknerd. If you’re not following her already, seriously, go do it, because she’s amazing. Now, what is Fierce Fangirl Fridays? Basically, it’s where you fangirl/boy over anything – that’s right, each week you pick a different thing you’re fangirling about the moment and JUST RUN FREE WITH THE FEELS. Only rule? Just pingback to her post here! It’s so easy that it hurts. 😄

This week I will be fangirling about…

Sailor Moon!

sailor moon

Sailor Moon was my childhoodddddddddddd. I don’t remember how old I was when I first discovered it, but it was on one of the channels when I was kid. AND I WAS SO IN LOVE. And when I accidentally found some Barbie-like dolls of them? Well, I was sooooo sold forever on the Sailor Scouts. Although apparently I wasn’t into poor Tuxedo Mask (I apparently didn’t grasp the concept of a swoon or ship as a kid).

Anyway, for YA Summer Reads Bingo, one of the choices was to read a graphic novel and I bent the words a little bit, and decided to read a manga instead – a copy of Sailor Moon I grabbed after getting hit by a bout of nostalgia during a Book Outlet shopping trip.

AND NOW I AM A MESS. LITERALLY A MESS. I CAN’T STOP THINKING ABOUT THIS SERIES. I DIDN’T EVEN SPELL ANYTHING IN THAT FIRST SENTENCE CORRECTLY BECAUSE I WAS SO EXCITED BY THIS.

I want to read the rest of the volumes. I want to rewatch the shows. I want to buy all the accessories (there are some fiercely adorable Luna purses out there) and clothes that exist (thank you, Hot Topic). I want to just bask in the glory that is Sailor Moon.

So, immediately, that night after I read them…I may or may not have gotten the two box set of the rest of the mangas. o.o I do have a birthday coming up, so I mean, it’s a gift, right? It totally was necessary and epic BUT OMG, I JUST CAN’T HANDLE IT. SAILOR MOON IS EPIC. SAILOR MARS IS EPIC. LUNA IS EPIC. THERE IS GIRL POWER AND A CUTE SHIP AND SAILOR MOON WON’T STOP CRYING AND LITERALLY SHE IS ME IF I WAS A SUPERHERO AND I CAN’T DEAL. I HAVE NO BEEN REDUCED TO ALL CAPS AND I JUST WANT TO CRY BECAUSE MY BOXED SET HASN’T ARRIVED AND I CLEARLY HAVE A LOT ON THE TBR BUT I WILL TOTALLY BE HOLED UP IN A CORNER FOR LIKE 24 HOURS STRAIGHT TRYING TO READ THE ENTIRE 12 VOLUMES THE MOMENT I GET IT.

I have finally convinced myself that all caps is not the way to live and now turned them off. But wowsies, gals and guys, I’ve officially reverted back to childhood between Disney Princesses and Sailor Moon. Welp. I just need the Barbie and Bratz dolls to complete this insanity.

What are you fangirling/fanboying over this week? Are you/were you a Sailor Moon fan? What from your childhood still brings on the feels? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

 

22 thoughts on “Fierce Fangirl Fridays: Sailor Moon

  1. Reading with Rendz says:

    SAILOR MOOOONNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MOOOOOOOOOOON PRISMMMMMMMM POWERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHH I LOVED THIS SHOW GROWING UP! My older sisters would be watching it 24/7 and little Rendz would be sitting on the floor alongside them! It was an epic show and Serena was the funniest heroine ever! Honestly I just love this show so much! WE EVEN HAD A FEW EPISODES ON VHS (back when those were alive!) WHEN I FOUND OUT TLC WAS KIND OF INFLUECED BY SAILOR MOON I WAS SO SHOCKED! I’M LIKE YES IT FINALLY MAKES SENSE! MOON PRINCESS AND EARTH PRINCE!!!!!!! *I was squealing for a good five minutes* OMG OMG My fangirl came out I’m cool. I’m cool. Sailor Moon + Bratz + Barbie is the ultimate childhood!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. IT IS JUST SO AMAZING. OMG, RENDZ, I CAN’T HANDLE THIS. AND I SO DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT THE TLC FACTOR. BUT IT LITERALLY MAKES SO MUCH SENSE. I KEPT SITTING THERE GOING, WAIT, SHE’S A HIDDEN MOON QUEEN? THIS SOUNDS LIKE A CERTAIN SOMETHING I KNOW. OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG. MY FANGIRLING HAS NO BOUNDS NOW. CAN YOU TELL ME HOW TO STOP THE FANGIRLING NOW? But omg yes, ultimate childhood.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kyera says:

    This post is my life right now. First, because of you I started reading the manga. Thank you. I also currently have a Sailor Moon post in my drafts that’s been in the works for a few months, shhhh spoilers.

    Oh my gosh, yes Hot Topic. Shop there more now as a proper adult than I did in high school. And yes I did occasionally shop there in high school. There is always such good Disney stuff that you can find there that I end up spending money whenever they have a hot cash redemption. (Thank you funko Reddit for posting hot cash redemption codes. PSA – you don’t even have to spend money to essentially get 50% off.)

    While I was here, I already told you that I became re-obsessed with Sailor Moon and totally found those purses on eBay. I 100% am planning to get a black backpack version. I may or may not have also purchased a white bodysuit from forever 21 so that I could make my own Sailor Jupiter costume. (And I’m pretty sure I would look terrible with Sailor Mercury’s short hair.)

    I also vote that we have a book blogger Sailor Moon bing watch or something because I think there’s so many people out there that grew up with and love the show. By the way it was on Cartoon Network/Toonami when we were kids. (That would be my slightly narcissistic guess based upon my experience as a child and assuming it would translate to someone else who I believe is around my age. I’m sure for people in other countries it might have been on a different channel.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Ahahahahaha, yayyyyyyyyyyyyyy! I’m in the spiral right now, Kyera, and it’s so bad. I may or may not have read three volumes last night in on swoop. I’m so happy to know that you’re in the spiral as well.

      But omigosh, yes, I do as well. With Hot Cash, it’s like getting 50% off everything and then I just go crazy. I may or may not have just shopped there today *looks around innocently*

      OMIGOSH, YOU MUST SHOW ME PICTURES WHEN YOU ARE DONE BECAUSE THIS SOUNDS AMAZINGGGGGGGG. Also, I think we have found your outfit for the con? 😉 But omg. This sounds amazing. And lol, that haircut is such a tricky one to do.

      AND OMG YES. That would be amazing. I’m forever hoping that I’ll somehow get the volumes or a Hulu subscription in the next few days so we can do the watch (it’s my birthday soon and I’m hoping my family has heard my pleas of I need to see Sailor Moon again XD). And lol. XD I remember it was on some weird local channel for me. Although, I wasn’t watching Cartoon Network at the time, so it was probably on there but I just got it on the weird Saturday morning channels. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • kyera says:

        Oh gosh, I spent waaaaay too much like last month because of Hot Cash. But I approve of your shopping choices!

        I wish I had the time to make Sailor Jupiter and Wonder Woman, but I probably won’t be able to (mostly because of the cost and accessories, stuff from China off eBay takes foreverrr to get to my house).. so I’ll end up being either Clary or Izzy, Belle and Wonder Woman this year. But I will 100% show pictures whenever I get Sailor Jupiter.

        Happy (Early) Birthday! I feel like I saved a Sailor Moon playlist on YouTube once, have you checked there for the episodes? There are also websites/apps like CrunchyRoll and VRV that have tons of Anime on them. I can’t recall which one has Sailor Moon. You might get lucky with one of them.

        Liked by 1 person

      • bookprincessreviews says:

        Ahahahahaha. It’s so enticing. It’s like, no, you don’t really need five tank tops of Snow White who isn’t even your favorite but it’s so cute and half off so you might as well. XD

        Ah, true, true. But all amazing choices certainly!! But super yes because it sounds amazing!!

        And thankies! ❤ Oooooh, I totally forgot about that. I'll definitely have to try there or those other two sites because the manga keeps fueling my fire to actually watch the show again. XD

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    OHHHHHHHH MY GOD MANDY. YOUR FANGIRLING IS SO ON POINT THIS WEEK. I CAN’T STOP SMILING, THIS IS SO AWESOME! ❤

    I used to be so obsessed with Sailor Moon! I remember I had ONE (really parents, you only got me ONE???) VHS cassette and I would rewatch it every single day! I don't even know how many episodes were on there or even what they were about BUT I WAS IN LOVE. And I think if I were to rewatch the episodes or read the mangas today I'D TOTALLY GET SUCKED BACK IN.

    Enjoy your box sets — I'm only a little jealous — and don't forget to bring food and drinks and use the toilet every once in a while when you're holed up in your corner!!! XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Ahahahahaha, thank you so much, Jackie! ❤ It was quite easy this week (although what week is fangirling actually hard since it comes so naturally to us XD?)

      And omg, parents, one?? But STILL. That's so amazing. But yes, I say avoid them at all costs unless you want to be dragged back down in a spiral because the manga has done that to me. But SO MUCH AGREEMENT.

      And thankies! I may or may not have done that last night and should have taken heed of that advice then. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. celestialblackrose says:

    Oh my god! Sailor Moon! ❤ It was also part of my childhood. This and Cardcaptor Sakura were my everything as a kid. I own and have read all of the Cardcaptor Sakura series and I intend to re-watch it all, but this post reminds me that I keep wanting to do the same for Sailor Moon. Now I really, really want to go read these!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

