DNF Mini Reviews: On the Fence & All the Ways the World Can End

All the Ways the World Can End by Abby Sher

Release Date: July 11th, 2017

*I won this in a Goodreads giveaway – thanks so much for the publisher for sending me over a copy!*

DNF @ 13%

Lenny (short for Eleanor) feels like the world is about to end. Her best friend is moving to New York City to attend Julliard and her dad has terminal cancer. To cope with her stress Lenny is making a list of all the ways the world can end—designer pathogens, blood moon prophecies, alien invasion—and stockpiling supplies in a bunker in the backyard. Then she starts to develop feelings for her dad’s very nice young doctor—and she thinks he may have feelings for her too. Spoiler alert: he doesn’t. But a more age-appropriate love interest might. In a time of complete uncertainty, one thing’s for sure: Lenny’s about to see how everything is ending and beginning. All at the same time.

I’m not really sure what to say about this one. This was one of the books that I added during a mindless Goodreads adding spiral. So when I won this, I was super excited but also sort of confused because I had no clue what to expect. What I got wasn’t anywhere close to what I thought it was going to be.

snow-white

Snow White is apparently the mascot of Contemporary Month.

The first issue was that I felt bored. Like, really bored. A lot of the events together just kind of…went. Like, I didn’t feel any connection to what was going on. There were only two events that I really remember in the book – Lenny dealing with her flushing her father’s wounds from cancer and going out to lunch to some place with a lobster. Was there anything more? I really have no clue. I read this book about a week ago, and I got nothing. I don’t remember anyone’s name or what happened or anything. Just anything.

 

The second issue that I had was the voice meshing up with the tone of the book. The book has a very sarcastic, black humor type of feel to it. However, when dealing with the material, it just didn’t seem to fit. Like, her father is having some super intense cancer consequences, and we literally spent like three paragraphs on nuts and her being super sarcastic about them. And everyone was so selfish.

I did like the addition of the list of all the ways the world can end, but it felt like it was something that was just tagged on to make the book different, for me. I think it had a lot of potential to be good, but I think I gave up too early to see it fleshed out.

No crowns since I DNF’ed and a Snow White rating!

Check it out:

five-stars

on the fenceOn the Fence by Kasie West

DNF @ 37%

For sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world of makeup, lacy skirts, and BeDazzlers. Even stranger, she’s spending time with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game.

To cope with the stress of faking her way through this new reality, Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with Braden by the fence that separates them. But their Fence Chats can’t solve Charlie’s biggest problem: she’s falling for Braden. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Did I ever think that I would ever DNF a Kasie West? Neverrrrrrrrrrr. Me and her contemporaries have had a strange relationship, but there have been some MAJOR ups. But this book was a major down for me. When I found myself detesting the narrator, I had to stop despite me loving West’s work as a whole.

As I said, almost all of my issues stemmed from Charlie. I did not like her. She was very selfish, and I couldn’t understand how mean she could be at times. Yes, I get that there were some things in her life, but it just blew my mind some of the things that were said and done by her. When a guy found out his grandma had died in the middle of a football game – after about three or four sentences of them discussing it – she’s all like, um, what about our game? Go time?

snow-white

Two Snows in one post. Oh dear.

And then there is her and Braden. She thinks about herself quite a bit, and secondhand thinks about how it might affects him. I was not feeling the ship especially since I kept getting confused between him and her three brothers – I’m pretty sure they were all one person???

And then I get she was the sporty, tomboy characteristic, but did she really have to hate on EVERY “girlish” thing. Literally every girlish thing was “omigosh, I can’t even”.

That being said, there were some good parts, of course. West’s easy, breezey writing style was on full force and was delighful as always. She set up an interesting premise and cuteness followed. If I had gotten into the characters, I would have loved this. But I couldn’t, and I failed.

No crowns since I DNF’ed and a Snow White rating!

Check it out:

What do you think? Have you read either of these? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

21 thoughts on “DNF Mini Reviews: On the Fence & All the Ways the World Can End

  1. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Darn, Mandy… A Kasie West book? Really?? I can almost taste your disappointment from here! 😦 Charlie does sound really awful and insensitive.
    And giveaways are so awesome, but when the books are crappy then it’s just kind of pointless… I guess you can host a giveaway for them, though, so not all is lost? (positive thinking in this moment of crisis!!)
    Hey, better books to come, hon, I’m sure ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KrystiYAandWine says:

    Oh NOOOOOO!!! When I glanced at this point earlier I was hoping it wasn’t Kasie West’s book. I’m so sad that it is. I want to be the biggest West fan ever, so I’m so sad to hear this one wasn’t great. I’m reading Lucky in Love now, but I literally just started it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sydney @ Fire and Rain Books says:

    Oh no. On the Fence is one of my favorite Kasie Wests 😦 I can see why you wouldn’t like Charlie though, she definitely drags the story down. I was really in it for Braden and I kinda loved the brother relationship. Charlie has a bit of a redemption arc, but yeah, she’s pretty horrible in the beginning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

