The Princesses Read: Elsa

Each Saturday, I will be showcasing a lovely Disney Princess (or when they run out, some other Disney leading ladies and more) and showcasing what they might be picking up if they were reading YA today. It will be based off their likes, interests, personalities, and their storyline. At the end, I will also feature a book that the Princess would NOT be picking up and a section of books that are based off either the plot or original princess fairytale. Check out more info hereΒ on my original post! We’ve done Tiana, Belle, Jasmine, Rapunzel, Moana, Snow White, and Mulan so far! We have also done one non-princess but epic Disney heroine, Alice!

Look! It’s me! Now that we are getting down to the final few princesses, each week I get one step closer to more and more confusion. It’s hard to narrow down which princess to do! I was leaning heavily on doing Cinderella all week, and right before I sat down, I was super feeling Ariel, but then I ended up with the princess we have today – and she isn’t even a princess but a queen! I’m a total princess mess. Welp. Shall we just move onto what princess we shall be showcasing today?

Elsa!

Yes, yes, technically Elsa is a queen, but she is still firmly placed into the princess category for some odd reason. Elsa and I have had a strange relationship – I enjoy her but then when I look deeper into some of the characterization, I have some issues. But she has ridiculously cool outfits and hair and songs that won’t get out of your head no matter how hard you try to let it go (oops, sorry). She is a woman that cares deeply for her family, is independent, and understands that love does not happen literally overnight. She has kickbutt magical powers, and she has amazing creativity and imagination (I mean, she created Olaf and one epic ice castle).

SO WHAT BOOKS WOULD BE IN THE STACKS OF ELSA’S ICE CASTLE?

eliza and her monstersEliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

“Yes, I’m alone, but I’m alone and freeeeeeeeeeeeeee!” Eliza and Elsa, I feel, would have a lot in common. They have super similar names. They both like their alone space and have been isolated by others. They love creating things (Eliza her webcomics and then Elsa…who, you know, takes things to another level by creating ice castles and snow monsters). And I mean, monsters, which I will discuss more in the next post. I don’t think Elsa would really be a contemporary kind of gal, but I think that she would make an exception for this one.

this savage songThis Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

Two main reasons this book is on the list. One: no romance! THERE IS NOT A SHIP TO BE SAILED. Elsa would be so proud because as she points out: you can’t just marry a man you just met. SO clearly, Kate and August meet and are developing a…platonic relationship if that’s what you can call it, and if Schwab does decide to do a romance with it, it will not instalove, that’s for sure. Which Elsa is all no-no-no about. Second, monsters are talked about in this book – REAL monsters. Elsa is referred to multiple times as a monster in the movie, and I think she would be interested to see what real monsters were like and be like, um, losers, I’m not a monster – check out these creepy ones that have songs about them.

19228241_363177094097107_7780854004308770816_n(1)A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

Are we to the point yet where we’re like, Mandy, are you just trying to stick this book in anywhere you can? There’s a rather cold London in this book, though! It is called White London and I mean, I think it is literally frosty although it is figuratively frosty as well. The Twins are a bit scaryyyyyyyy. Although I totally will admit that I kept picturing Astrid as Elsa. o.o Which was, you know, not so pleasing since she was much more hardcore than Elsa. I also think that Elsa would totally get a kick out of Lila and totally get love Kell since him being so different than everyone with magical powers is totally up her alley as well (or really up her snowbank). And I mean, I just have this feeling that Elsa is a hardcore fantasy fan, so, of course, she will love this book.

18878942_1529262550437716_1014904680465039360_n(1)Cold Summer by Gwen Cole

Well, there is the world cold in the title. And our time traveler narrator does go back to winter in Cold War II…I mean, World War II. But goodness is it cold in this book. So, clearly, Elsa would love it. I think she would also be fascinated with the time travel aspect. I think Elsa wished she could do a lot of things over – like how a lot of people wish they have magical powers – but seeing Kale’s power and how it comes with consequences that he can’t control, I think Elsa could easily relate with him. I think this book would help Elsa who may or may not still be struggling with the identity and full magnitude of being a woman with powers. And I mean, time travel. And coldness. Elsa would totally enjoy.

coloring bookThe Lunar Chronicles Coloring Book

Okay, super odd choice – especially since I’m not if Elsa has even read the TLC series. Although who are we kidding? They are some fierce retellings, so I’m sure Elsa was like, ooh intriguing! Anyway, I’ve seen in a few of the other coloring pages, the palace on Luna that looks quiteeeeeeeeeeee like an ice castle. You can see it in the tiny top there. And I have this feeling that Elsa would be like, oooh, my lost childhood, I need to color this pretty castle! So, I think she would rather enjoy coloring it, and then seeing all the other pretty pictures would drive her to read the rest of the amazing series.

What’s a book that Elsa would freeze out?

Anything with instalove…so, like a pretty decent amount. D:

Want to read more about Elsa?

Oh, um, huh. Elsa’s story was super loosely based off the Hans Christian Anderson “Snow Queen”, but the story is super not the same. If you were interested about snow queen stories, here is a list of a few more. Although there is one YA story that does stick out is Cold Spell by Jackson Pearce, which isn’t so much Elsa but more of the original Anderson story.

Next Week…

Okay, villians are a go! They will be done sprinkled in as we continue through the series. Next week…apparently they don’t usually get picked until the Friday before, so…I’m kind of failing with those hints.

What do you think? Do you think Elsa would read these? What else do you think Elsa would put on her TBR? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

13 thoughts on “The Princesses Read: Elsa

  1. Joanne says:

    I have a feeling that Elsa will love those books and also those with a strong family relationship. After all, Elsa might be cold but she cares deeply for her sister. I have a feeling that Elsa would love ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ by Jenny Han too. I often picture Margaret as Elsa and Lara Jean as Anna. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kawther says:

    I love this concept so much ! I enjoyed reading about what Elsa might enjoy , and I got a bit too giddy when you mentioned villains . I can’t wait to see which ones you would choose , I would really love reading about that

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Holly says:

    Love this idea for a post!! I definitely agree with your choices, especially A Darker Shade of Magic. I feel like Elsa would really like stories with a darker twist to them πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

