#ARCSTRAVAGANZA: The Disappearances

#ARCstravaganza is hosted by the wonderful ladies of YA and Wine and The Clever Reader– Krysti and Sarah respectively – where each week, we showcase one of the best perks of being a book blogger – those glorious ARCs – on our blogs, Instagrams, or both! And when you participate? You’ll be entered to win a YA ARC each month! How cool is that? Find out more about it here!

I present this week’s feature ARC without further ado…

The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy

19227127_709635132556289_1957336194446524416_n

What if the ordinary things in life suddenly…disappeared?

Aila Quinn’s mother, Juliet, has always been a mystery: vibrant yet guarded, she keeps her secrets beyond Aila’s reach. When Juliet dies, Aila and her younger brother Miles are sent to live in Sterling, a rural town far from home–and the place where Juliet grew up.

Sterling is a place with mysteries of its own. A place where the experiences that weave life together–scents of flowers and food, reflections from mirrors and lakes, even the ability to dream–vanish every seven years.

No one knows what caused these “Disappearances,” or what will slip away next. But Sterling always suspected that Juliet Quinn was somehow responsible–and Aila must bear the brunt of their blame while she follows the chain of literary clues her mother left behind.

As the next Disappearance nears, Aila begins to unravel the dual mystery of why the Disappearances happen and who her mother truly was. One thing is clear: Sterling isn’t going to hold on to anyone’s secrets for long before it starts giving them up.

I’m in the midst of reading this right now – and by the midst I mean, I read two chapters and then got super busy and totally forgot that I was reading it. But it was a really good first two chapters! 😉

I’ve been really excited for this one. Ever since I saw that cover, I knew that I had to pick it up somehow – and to get it sooner rather than later is so much A++++++. But I mean, also, look at that description! Not only is it in the 1950s, there is some magic realism, cool disappearings in small towns, and an epic mystery. Um, sign me up even more!!

I’m going to start buckling down more to read this book this week, and I literally can’t wait. I’m sure I will be screaming about it super soon.

Check out more about it here.

What ARCs are you excited about this week? Are you excited for this book? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

23 thoughts on “#ARCSTRAVAGANZA: The Disappearances

  1. Azia says:

    Set in the 1950s! It already has brownie points for that! And the concept seems really promising 😀 I may have to check this one out. Glad you’re enjoying it so far! Hopefully it stays just as well until the very end! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KrystiYAandWine says:

    Oh my gosh! I thought I commented on this yesterday, and I didn’t! I’m so sorry! I think I commented on Instagram at least. Anyway, so glad you picked this one! It sounds fantastic, and I’m so excited to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

