My Netgalley Haul…Or Should I Say Hauls

I’ve seen quite a few bloggers do lists of what they’ve been approved for on Netgalley or what they found on Netgalley. Since I finally got my Netgalley approval up to the golden percentage, I was like, oh, I should go and take a look to see what they have…which was a total mess, because OF COURSE I went on a Netgalley requesting spiral and I have a ton of books gazing me in the face, crying out for me to read. So, I figured, why not share some super cool sounding books that you can be part of the Netgalley spiral, too? XD

odd & trueOdd & True by Cat Winters

Trudchen grew up hearing Odette’s stories of their monster-slaying mother and a magician’s curse. But now that Tru’s older, she’s starting to wonder if her older sister’s tales were just comforting lies, especially because there’s nothing fantastic about her own life—permanently disabled and in constant pain from childhood polio.

In 1909, after a two-year absence, Od reappears with a suitcase supposedly full of weapons and a promise to rescue Tru from the monsters on their way to attack her. But it’s Od who seems haunted by something. And when the sisters’ search for their mother leads them to a face-off with the Leeds Devil, a nightmarish beast that’s wreaking havoc in the Mid-Atlantic states, Tru discovers the peculiar possibility that she and her sister—despite their dark pasts and ordinary appearances—might, indeed, have magic after all.

IT IS LIKE THE BOOK GODS HEARD ME CRY OUT AND FANGIRL HARD WITH THAT APPRECATION POST. It was kind of hilarious because the moment after I finished that post, I was approved for this book. This book sounds amazing. I literally canNOT wait. Monster hunting systems + Cat Winters = SO MUCH GOODNESS. Also, I just finally figured out the whole Odd & True thing. It’s like First We Were IV‘s title all over again.

bad girl goneBad Girl Gone by Temple Mathews

Sixteen year-old Echo Stone awakens in a cold sweat in a dark room, having no idea where she is or how she got there. But she soon finds out she s in Middle House, an orphanage filled with mysteriously troubled kids.

There s just one problem: she s not an orphan. Her parents are very much alive.

She explains this to everyone, but no one will listen. After befriending a sympathetic (and handsome) boy, Echo is able to escape Middle House and rush home, only to discover it sealed off by crime scene tape and covered in the evidence of a terrible and violent crime. As Echo grapples with this world-shattering information, she spots her parents driving by and rushes to flag them down. Standing in the middle of street, waving her arms to get their attention, her parents car drives right through her.

She was right. Her parents are alive but she s not.

She s a ghost, just like all the other denizens of Middle House. Desperate to somehow get her life back and reconnect with her still-alive boyfriend, Echo embarks on a quest to solve her own murder. As the list of suspects grows, the quest evolves into a journey of self-discovery in which she learns she wasn t quite the girl she thought she was. In a twist of fate, she s presented with one last chance to reclaim her life and must make a decision which will either haunt her or bless her forever.

Okay, the premise sounds SUPER interesting. I’ve read a few of these where the person looks back on their life and has this whole about face change and she becomes a better person. Plus, I kind of really like the cover. However, I’m a bit scared now. I read Nicole’s review over @ A Dance Between Pages (click the link to read) and then I saw there is a 2.82 rating on Goodreads…I’m concerned. Ut oh.

murder magicMurder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones

The year is 1818, the city is London, and 16-year-old Annis Whitworth has just learned that her father is dead and all his money is missing. And so, of course, she decides to become a spy.

Annis always suspected that her father was himself a spy, and following in his footsteps to unmask his killer makes perfect sense. Alas, it does not make sense to England’s current spymasters—not even when Annis reveals that she has the rare magical ability to sew glamours: garments that can disguise the wearer completely.

Well, if the spies are too pigheaded to take on a young woman of quality, then Annis will take them on. And so she crafts a new double life for herself. Miss Annis Whitworth will appear to live a quiet life in a country cottage with her aunt, and Annis-in-disguise as Madame Martine, glamour artist, will open a magical dressmaking shop. That way she can earn a living, maintain her social standing, and, in her spare time, follow the coded clues her father left behind and unmask his killer.

It can’t be any harder than navigating the London social season, can it?

“…so of course she decides to become a spy.” Omigosh, yes, this sounds so much like These Vicious Masks or Love, Lies, and Spies where they’re going to play with tropes in Victorian London and magic. This sounds like a lot of fun, and I’m super intrigued. And I mean, sewing glamours? I’m all about that…whatever that means.

follw me backFollow Me Back by A. V. Geiger

Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts.

Ooooooh. This sounds good. And according to Krysti @ YA and Wine (review here), it is just as good as it sounds. It’s been a while since I read a good YA thriller, and I’m super excited to get back to it. Give me some good twists and craziness! Although, I’ve been warned going on Twitter can be quite scary after this. o.o Oh dear.

things i should have knownThings I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

Things Chloe knew: Her sister, Ivy, was lonely. Ethan was a perfect match. Ethan’s brother, David, was an arrogant jerk.

Things Chloe should have known: Setups are complicated. Ivy can make her own decisions. David may be the only person who really gets Chloe.

Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who’s decided that her older sister, Ivy, who’s on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend. Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie-obsessed boy from Ivy’s special needs class.

Chloe would like to ignore Ethan’s brother, David, but she can’t—Ivy and Ethan aren’t comfortable going out on their own, so Chloe and David have to tag along. Soon Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan form a quirky and wholly lovable circle. And as the group bonds over frozen-yogurt dates and movie nights, Chloe is forced to confront her own romantic choices—and the realization that it’s okay to be a different kind of normal.

I’ve read a few of LaZebnik’s work before, and I have definitely enjoyed them. They’re cute little fluffy contemporaries, and I so enjoyed them. I’ve seen a few good reviews of this one, so when I got an email that HMH Teen was giving away these for the first 100 people that requested, I jumped for it. Hopefully it will be full of fluffy goodness! And please, please have good rep.

definitionDefinition of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor

This heartbreaking, humorous novel is about three teens whose lives intersect in ways they never expected.

Reggie Mason is all too familiar with “the Three Stages of Depression.” She believes she’s unlocked the secret to keeping herself safe: Nobody can hurt you if you never let them in.

Reggie encounters an unexpected challenge to her misanthropy: a Twizzler-chomping, indie film-making narcissist named Snake. Snake’s presence, while reassuring, is not exactly stable—especially since his ex-girlfriend is seven months pregnant. As Reggie falls for Snake, she must decide whether it’s time to rewrite the rules that have defined her.

Again, this was part of the HMH Teen offer, and I remembered this being on my list of books I was super interested in. So I grabbed it of course. I do love a good snarky main character and Snake seems intriguing. Plus, I do believe seeing some good reviews, I think. o.o

Now, I do have 3 more that I was approved for recently plus 2 more I’ve apparently been dragging my butt on, but I figured I should probably save some for the glorious #ARCstravaganza meme I will be doing every week…and actually, later today. XD Can’t wait to share and see what these new books hold in store!

Do you use Netgalley? Have you been approved for anything good lately? Are you eager to read any of these? Have you read any? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

23 thoughts on “My Netgalley Haul…Or Should I Say Hauls

  1. TwinBookmarks says:

    We heard of Netgalley. Nearly every book bloggers uses it. We however didn’t know about this until we started blogging (Lol 😅). We to be honest just started blogging to release all feels from the books we read!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    Wooo so many amazing books! I totally did not just go on Netgalley to request Follow Me Back……… ok, maybe I did! 😛
    I am currently on a requesting-ban until I’ve read all of the books I got approved for but I had to make an exception for Follow Me Back! I’ve seen the book around before but I told myself I had enough books to read – until first Krysti and now you talked about it and I felt pressured XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. readwithkatie says:

    I also got approved for Odd & True, Things I Should Have Known and Definitions of Indefinable Things. Things I Should Have Known was okay, I quite enjoyed Definitions of Indefinable Things, it has a lot of great quotes. I have yet to read Odd & True. I currently have 8 books to read from NetGalley, they’re all getting published later in the year so I have plenty of time to read them. NetGalley can really suck you in sometimes but I like think I have some sort of self control 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KrystiYAandWine says:

    Thanks for the shoutout, my friend! There are so many great books on this list! I really want to read Odd & True! I also loved Definitions of Indefinable Things! And hooray for Netgalley hauls!!! Kind of. LOL. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Absolutely! ❤ And YES. I want to read Odd & True so badly, and I'm talking myself out of binge reading it right now since I have a few that I should probably read beforehand. XD But I thought you enjoyed it, so I figured I would take a chance! 😀 And lol, yes, hooray but also oh dear. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nicole @aDanceBeteweenPages says:

    Already looking forward to read your reviews! ARCs can be tricky, there are so mant out there but only few are worth it. You just have to try your luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Yes! Blogging recommendations help so much with the madness that is Netgalley. I just go, that looks like something I remember someone enjoying so I’ll got for it.
      But yes! Who knows, but we shall be optimistic for them! 😀 Thankies! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    I’m so jealous that you got approved for Follow Me Back! After I saw Krysti’s review, I immediately requested it because it sounds so freaking good, but my request is still sitting there, waiting to be acknowledged, hahaha. Hope you like it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

