Mid-Month Book Haul

18513510_629137920615420_602305606337953792_n(1)

I never said May was going to be easy for me and books. I really didn’t. And I knew it wouldn’t be, because I mean, have you seen all the amazing books that came out this month. And I’m actually doing so much better than first thought. I’m serious! I totally thought I would have a million books here and sadly have to break the news to you that I am quite poor…although truthfully, that could be coming soon since I still have a Barnes and Noble gift card and I’ve been seeing so many good books around lately – coming out or I’m finally just making it to them.

Let’s see what physical books I’ve picked up so far this month:

the safest liesThe Safest Lies by Megan Miranda

Can fear be inherited?

Kelsey has lived most of her life in a shadow of fear, raised to see danger everywhere. Her mother hasn’t set foot outside their front door in seventeen years, since she escaped from her kidnappers with nothing but her attacker’s baby growing inside her—Kelsey.

Kelsey knows she’s supposed to keep a low profile for their own protection, but that plan is shattered when she drives off a cliff and is rescued by volunteer firefighter and classmate Ryan Baker.

A few days later, she arrives home to face her greatest fear: her mother is missing. She and her mother have drilled for all contingencies—except this one. Luckily, Ryan is as skilled at emergency rescues as Kelsey is at escape and evasion.

To have a chance at a future, Kelsey will have to face all her darkest fears. Because someone is coming for her.

And the truth about the past may end up being the most dangerous thing of all.

I know that I’ve only posted a review on the blog so far for one of her books – The Perfect Stranger – but dear gosh, I love her work. Her writing is amazinggggggg, and I literally love every idea that she comes up with. They’re so ridiculously good, and I’m always constantly surprised by where she goes with the story. The ships are cute, the thrilling aspect is good, BUT THAT WRITING. SO MANY HEART EYES. I read this one last year, but I had to pick this one up again – ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO GET IT SIGNED AND PERSONALIZED. *faints* (psssssttt…adorable firefighter in training in this one)

summer of supernovasThe Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one zodiac-obsessed teen as she struggles to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

As the daughter of an expert astrologer, Wilamena Carlisle knows that truth lies within the stars. So when she discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love. But Wil must decide whether to trust her heart or her chart when she falls for a sensitive guitar player whose zodiac sign points to cosmic disaster.

If Wil’s fate is truly written in the stars, then this summer is about to go supernova . . .

I’ve had my eye on this one for a while, and I just happened to be in a bookstore where it was just chilling…clearly begging for me to pick it up. I just want cool star books, and I’m getting ready for a contemporary binge…I can feel it. Maybe a whole month of them for June? 😉 So clearly, I had pick this one up.

anatomy of a misfitAnatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes

This emotional, hilarious, devastating, and ultimately triumphant YA debut, based on actual events, recounts one girl’s rejection of her high school’s hierarchy—and her discovery of her true self in the face of tragedy.

Fall’s buzzed-about, in-house favorite.

Outside, Anika Dragomir is all lip gloss and blond hair—the third most popular girl in school. Inside, she’s a freak: a mix of dark thoughts, diabolical plots, and, if local chatter is to be believed, vampire DNA (after all, her father is Romanian). But she keeps it under wraps to maintain her social position. One step out of line and Becky Vilhauer, first most popular girl in school, will make her life hell. So when former loner Logan McDonough shows up one September hotter, smarter, and more mysterious than ever, Anika knows she can’t get involved. It would be insane to throw away her social safety for a nerd. So what if that nerd is now a black-leather-jacket-wearing dreamboat, and his loner status is clearly the result of his troubled home life? Who cares if the right girl could help him with all that, maybe even save him from it? Who needs him when Jared Kline, the bad boy every girl dreams of, is asking her on dates? Who?

Anatomy of a Misfit is Mean Girls meets The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and Anika’s hilariously deadpan delivery will appeal to readers for its honesty and depth. The so-sad-it’s-funny high school setting will pull readers in, but when the story’s dark foreboding gradually takes over, the devastating penultimate tragedy hits like a punch to the gut. Readers will ride the highs and lows alongside funny, flawed Anika — from laughter to tears, and everything in between.

I actually had never heard of this book until a few weeks ago when it was featured by Sarah over at YA and Wine (check out their feature here). It sounded so interesting, and like it would totally be adorable. Plus, I mean, they use dreamboat in the summary, and that is literally my buzz words. Dreamboat? I’m in. It’s really sad. XD But I did read a book that sounded a bit like this last year, Life Unaware, and that turned out really good, so I’m hoping it will be the same. Plus, it has a cool under the dust jacket etching of the chair, and I LOVE COOL UNDER THE DUST JACKET ETCHINGS.

I hopefully will be hitting a used bookstore soon, and I feel like I may need one more May release…or a V.E. Schwab book…or the other Bigfoot book…OR SO MANY OTHERS. HELP.

(Psssssstt….this doesn’t even include my new Netgalley approvals. Dear gosh. I’ll be doing another post about it soon.)

What did you pick up so far in May? What other books are you looking to pick up? Have you read any of these? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

 

25 thoughts on “Mid-Month Book Haul

  1. annaleeliz says:

    I have picked up in May: Attachments, The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate, The Endless Stepe, Flowers for Algernon, etc. When I go to the library I am hoping to check out the Merry Adventures of Robin Hood.

    p.s. Did you get my contact?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dacian says:

    The Safest Lies by Megan Miranda sounds great, might steal it for my To Read list.

    P.S. as a Romanian I can’t help but find “if local chatter is to be believed, vampire DNA (after all, her father is Romanian).” regarding Anika Dragomir amazingly funny haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ashley says:

    I’ve never heard of any of these books, they aren’t books that I would read. I bought two books and one novella this month. One of the books and the novella were 1.99 and the other one was discounted full price with my B&N membership.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reading with Rendz says:

    Yay for mid may book haul! Can’t wait to see what else you get this month! I’m in the same dilemma with Net Galley! I have So many books and I keep requesting more! I need to take a break from splurging!!! But can you really take a break from books? No.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Yeahhhhhhhhh…it will be a lot. I totally failed with restraint. BUT YES. I was done so well with Netgalley and had only 3 more books to read…and then I went clicking away. XD I wish you super luck, Rendz, because it’s so rough. AND NO. THE ANSWER IS ALWAYS NO.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

