Waiting On Wednesday: Speak Easy, Speak Love

Okay, can we all just take a minute and just be amazed that this Book Princess is actually doing a meme – well, more than just ONE meme. That’s right – I had only doing the great and wonderful Calendar Girls for so long, but I’m slowly, finally working my way into other wonderful memes – mostly because all the wonderful book bloggers I know and adore have been coming up with epic memes I can help but join in.

I will be doing these memes (well, as well, as I can because we all know I do have some struggles with staying with something – i.e. a TBR):

  • YA and Wine’s #ARCstravaganza every Monday (yes, it is as epic as it sounds)
  • Calendar Girls once a month on Mondays (the original meme that got me hooked)
  • Young at Heart Books’ If&Then Thursdays (which is one of the coolest ways to get recs)
  • Fierce Fangirl Fridays put on by the wonderful Too Much of a Booknerd where, yes, I get free time to fangirl about something. We all know how easy this will be for me. XD
  • And maybe this one? While I have always admired it from afar, I think we all know five memes may overdue it for this Book Princess XD But I suppose we shall see, but this is always one of the funnest ways to see upcoming books

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme created by Breaking the Spine where each week we discuss upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week is…

Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George

speak easy

Credits to Greenwillow Books

Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer. Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

Um, where do I even begin with the amazingness that is this summary? Oh gosh, I’m going to try.

  1. SHAKESPEARE RETELLING WITH ONE OF MY FAVORITE OF HIS PLAYS
  2. SPEAKEASIES
  3. 1920s
  4. FOR FANS OF STEPHANIE PERKINS
  5. WITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
  6. SHAKESPEARE RETELLING IN 1920s JAZZ AGE

Um, I think I’ve started to repeat myself here, but still. I’m 3000% behind this summary, and the cover? Omigosh, the cover sold me as well. It’s so ridiculously pretty, and I just can’t deal with this. Can September get here sooner???

Check it out here!

What do you think? Is this book on your TBR? Did I totally just add it there? What do you think about more memes? D: Anyone wanna place a bet on how long I’ll last? XD Let’s discuss in the comments below!

 

29 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday: Speak Easy, Speak Love

  1. annaleeliz says:

    I love your meme and I think you should keep doing them. I have totally been in you’re place before when I really wanted a book and it didn’t come out until next year. All you have to do is distract yourself by reading more books until September. Good Luck

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Thanks so much! 😀 And yes! I always get super, super excited about books by reading the blurbs on Goodreads and then you just look down and realize that it’s totally coming out a year away. Best way to crash a book high. XD But yes! I like that idea. XD Thanks so much!

      Like

  2. SarahYAandWine says:

    Awe!! Thank you for the mention! We are excited to see how ARCstravaganza goes! You are so sweet for blurbing it!!

    Also! We totally met McKelle George last night at Kate Watson’s launch of Seeking Mansfield and she is super cute!! We didn’t even realize it was her until we asked her what book she was getting ready to release! I love the cover and it sounds like such a fun book! I’m so glad you featured it today!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Of course!! I’m so excited for, and you ladies created such an epicly fun meme. Can it be Monday, already? XD
      Ahhhhhh that’s so cool!! It was fate. XD She seemed super nice on Twitter, but so cool that she’s totally the same way. And I SUPER agree about the cover. It is so ridiculously pretty, and I’m so hoping for a cool under cover as well. Are you a Shakespeare fan/Jazz Age fan, Sarah? And I’m now super anticipating a very cool book event coming up for you in September now!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • SarahYAandWine says:

        Right?! Monday will be fun!!

        She is super cool! I’ve not really read much Shakespeare and don’t know much about jazz. I did Love Love Love La La Land though!! She was talking about suggesting costumes at her launch! I see many flappers going to that one!

        Liked by 1 person

      • bookprincessreviews says:

        Yes!! I wont’ hate Mondays anymore. XD
        Ah gotcha. I only recently go into both, so I’m kind of with you. XD I will say that this play was one of the only Shakespeare ones I actually really enjoyed and didn’t sit there going, but I don’t get it. XD I have yet to see La La Land, but my friend is obsessed with it, and with your love as well, I super need to get on it. But yes! That’s what I was thinking too. You’ll have to sneak some wine in, to make it truly Prohibition feeling as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • SarahYAandWine says:

        Ya. I just know the adaptations of Shakespeare and the stories for the big ones. It’s pretty dense stuff but this story is a good one. I like retellings too. They are fun! I can’t wait to read this one!

        La La Land is probably one of my favorite films of the year, and favorite musicals. They are playing it at our outdoor amphitheater next month and I’m seriously considering going to it! It’s be awesome!!

        Ooh! I’m totally going to flask in some wine!

        Liked by 1 person

      • bookprincessreviews says:

        Yes! I far more like his comedies than his tragedies. I get a bit lost in those, and as you said, it’s very dense stuff. But yes, can’t wait either!
        Ooooooh, that would be super cool as well. I can imagine the acoustics on that.
        And lol yes! XD You have to go for authenticity…and repping your brand. XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • bookprincessreviews says:

        OH. I forgot to tell you! I ended up picking up The Anatomy of a Misfit at a used bookstore. I’m like, AH, that’s the book Sarah convinced me to buy. And it has an epic chair etching under the dust jacket. Okay, maybe not epic, but I love the little etchings into the books. XD

        Liked by 1 person

  3. KrystiYAandWine says:

    Thank you so much for the plug, Mandy!!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ You are the best! Also, THANK YOU for introducing me to Speak Easy, Speak Love a couple weeks ago, because I met McKelle last night! She’s a local author here! If you get a physical copy let me know. I’ll try to get it signed for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

