If & Then Thursdays: Creepy Houses

I’m actually doing the same meme two weeks in a row! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? I surely couldn’t especially since I literally only remembered about it a few hours from when I created this post. But still! Yay team!

Have you heard about If & Then Thursdays yet? It’s this really cool concept put on by Alex over @ Young At Heart Books. If you haven’t saw it yet, it’s super fun and even easy enough to follow for this Book Princess. Here’s a little more about it:

If&Then Thursdays is a book meme created by Alex@ Young at Heart Books. How do you participate? It’s easy! All you have to do is choose two books that are somewhat related in theme, writing style, genre, etc. Tell us how they are similar and why we would like them! All recommendations should be made in this format:

“If you like Book A, then you might enjoy Book B”

If you enjoyed (or in some cases DID not enjoy)…

The House by Christina Lauren

the-house

Credits to Simon & Schuster

Lol, this book cracked me up – in so many ways. It had a really interesting concept – think Smart House (the Disney channel movie where the house is super high tech and can think/function by itself) but with creepy old antique furniture. It was creepy and weird…but then it just got weird in parts. It was so entertaining in its weirdness, though. If you read it and enjoyed it, then you’re going to love the next book that had its same feel that I will recommend next. If you didn’t love this book or still want a super creepy house, then you’ll probably want to skip this one and just read the next one that does a FAR better job of it. Check out more about it here.

Then you will enjoy…

And The Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich

and-the-trees-crept-in

Credits to Little Brown

This book was so creepy and trippy. I felt like I didn’t know what was up and what was done the entire time that I read it. o.o I’m still not sure I fully got it all, but it was so great in its own super freaky way. This book does have a super creepy house with weird holes, the fact that the trees keep coming closer, and shadow men creeping about. Trust me, this house is more a house of horrors than the one in the The House – and that one got really weird. XD The fear factor on this one is far higher, but it still has a lot of the same creepy elements that The House had (or needed to have but failed). Check out my review here.

What do you think? Do you enjoy stories with creepy houses? Is this just a weird Mandy thing? Have you read either of these books? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

34 thoughts on “If & Then Thursdays: Creepy Houses

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Ahahahaha, thank you, Rendz. I don’t know why I read them, since I’m seriously the same way. I have only watched one scary movie because I was forced to for class and literally watched it out of the corner of my eye so I literally saw nothing. But yet I can occasionally get down with scary books. o.o When they’re the worst. The first book is more laughable than creepy thank gosh.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    I’ve never read a story about a creepy house, I think… So I’m not sure I would enjoy these? I don’t watch horror movies, so does that count as not liking creepy house stories either? Hmm.
    Still, I’m really enjoying reading these recommendations posts! Maybe next time there’ll be something for me XD
    Great job, Mandy! 🙂 And do this meme as many times as you want, I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Hmmmm that’s a good question. Depends on whether or not you’re a horror book masochist like me. XD But the second one did get rather creepy…
      But thank you! I hope so too! Maybe some pirate reads? 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

