PS I Like You by Kasie West

17883163_232517607153408_2345403656624406528_n

I totally feel like Belle and Beast totally share mixtapes…back when they were a thing in the pre-French Revolution days.

PS I Like You by Kasie West

Um, let’s start off with this book was adorable. That’s right – now preamble. We just need to talk about its cuteness right off the bat. THE FEELS. THE TENSION. THE ADORABLE TROPES. This Book Princess is a mess in the best way. Oh squeals.

Maybe I should, you know, give you a summary about what it’s all about? XD

Once Upon a Time…

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Me and Kasie West have had an interesting book relationship – well, one she doesn’t know about. I absolutely adored her first book, Pivot Point, but when I tried her first contemporary, The Distance Between Us, I just wasn’t a fan. I liked it well enough, but I just couldn’t connect. I just couldn’t get into the feels and sometimes it was just too tropey. I was a little hesitant to ever try her contemporaries again, but when I found out she would be signing these books, I couldn’t help but pick up my one and only ever signed and personalized book. :O And thank gosh I did, because goodness, I am in love.

First off, Lily was a great heroine. I can’t say she’s not realistic, because she’s literally my best friend personified in book format. XD I literally kept texting my friend going, omg, Lily is literally you. OMG, look at this passage. You’re book twins. (My friend just binge read it, too, and literally agreed so much.) It was so cool to have this connection to her, but I was going to enjoy her anyway even if she was literally my best friend.

The family dynamic was SO great as well. Truthfully, in a lot of YA books, there are a lot of absent family members. When I was doing a book chat a few months ago, one of the questions was, name a book that has a strong sister relationship, and I literally couldn’t think of one. There are not too many books where family is SUPER present in the MC’s life, and I loved the crazy brothers and flighty sister aspects. It was wonderful.

And the fluffiness was justttttttt right. The whole premise was super adorable, and I just sat there going, this is so fluffy it hurts, but in the best hurty way. You’re not making much sense, Mandy, but it’s just so wonderful. I’m not always into the whole “secret messenger” thing, because it’s just SO OBVIOUS but even though this one was pretty obvious, it was still fun to read because West made it fun. There was a lot of tension and inner turmoil and excitement over it, and I was hooked either way.

tiana

Poor Tiana was probably forced into many obscure music conversations thanks to Prince Naveen. I feel like he’s totally a little music hipster.

The ship was cute. Sometimes, I felt it went on a little too long with the whole tension, but other than that, it was definitely all the right amount of feels, will-they-won’t-they-will-they-hurry-up-but-no-because-I’m-totally-into-this-horrid-push-and-pull.

Overall, this book was the right amount of fluffy and cute, and if you’re looking for a book with the right amount of feels and some cute music lovers connecting, definitely check this book out. I’m now officially hooked on Kasie West contemporaries, and she definitely has earned her title. I really did want to talk about this more, but it’s just so many feels and adorableness that I can’t handle anything remotely coherent and smart-sounding. Evil fluffy books; I’m trying to look like a big girl blogger here.

Five crowns and a Tiana rating!

five-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? Have you read any Kasie West contemporaries? What was your favorite? How do you feel about fluffy books? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

35 thoughts on “PS I Like You by Kasie West

  1. Reading with Rendz says:

    Hahaha Mandy your review had just enough fluff and fangirling to live up to all that fluff from the book! It sounds so cool that you found your friend in the form of a character, I have yet to discover one of those hehehe. This was a great review as usual and I’M SO GLAD YOU GOT A SIGNED COPY! THAT MUST BE SO EPIC! When are you going to show off the rest of your collection to me?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KrystiYAandWine says:

    Oh, this sounds like the PERFECT Mandy book! I have never read a Kasie West book, and I am DYING to. Especially after reading your review! You know I love me some swoons, we are swoon sisters after all. And this book sounds like something I need in my life. Especially if you say it’s just the right amount of fluffy and cute! Loved reading this review!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

