The OOPS! Additions to the TBR

Like a good deal of book bloggers out there, I try to create a TBR at the beginning of the month. I say try because I am primarily a mood reader, and when you’re a mood reader, you literally can fling your beautiful, nicely written TBR post at any moment out the window and cackle/wave at it as it flies away. Because “you just have to be in the right mood.” It can be oh, so, annoying.

Anyway, I had a very nicely crafted TBR at the beginning of the month, and I was so proud of myself because HEY, I WAS ACTUALLY STICKING TO IT (*cough, mostly, cough, cough*) and I was so impressed with myself. I knocked off 6/10 books so far, and 2 of the books I decided not to read for reasons (sounds so mysterious, doesn’t it? XD). And then…the inevitable happened. Those blog tours/ARC giveaways that take forever to show up/e-Arcs that you request a million years ago but somehow still appear happened, and this Book Princess now has a lot more to add to the TBR. Sorry, Throne of Glass and The Shadow Queen. It was so nice knowing for you for a second, and I’m sure next month you’ll reappear. ๐Ÿ˜„

But gals and guys, I have got to tell you, I AM SO EXCITED for these newest additions to the April TBR. They all sound SO good, and this Book Princess is about to go sing with some woodland creatures with how excited so she to add them to this month. Best OOPS I’ve had. Ready for some glorious books?

air and ash

Credits to Danger Bearing Press

Air and Ash by Alex Lidell

Master and Commander meets Tamora Pierce in a seafaring adventure of duty, love, magic, and a princessโ€™s quest to protect her kingdom on her own terms.

After a lifetime of training, seventeen-year-old Princess Nile Greysik, a lieutenant on the prestigious Ashing navy flagship, sails into battle with one vital missionโ€”and fails.

Barred from the sea and facing a political marriage, Nile masquerades as a common sailor on the first ship she can find. With a cowardly captain, incompetent crew, and a cruel, too-handsome first officer intent on making her life a living hell, Nile must hide her identity while trying to turn the sorry frigate battleworthy. Worse, a terrifying and forbidden magic now tingles in Nileโ€™s blood. If anyone catches wind of who Nile is or what she can do, her life is over.

But when disaster threatens the ship, Nile may have no choice but to unleash the truth that will curse her future.

AIR AND ASH is the thrilling first installment of the TIDES series. Recommended for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Tamora Pierce, and Naomi Novik.

I’m going to be participating on the blog tour for this, and dear goodness, it sounds SO GOOD. Ever since reading Daughter of the Pirate King, I just want allllllll the pirate princess books, and this totally feels like it could be on that level. I AM SO READY FOR THIS.

the best kind of magic

Credits to Disney Hyperion

The Best Kind of Magic by Crystal Cestari

Amber Sand is not a witch. The Sand family Wicca gene somehow leapfrogged over her. But she did get one highly specific magical talent: she can see true love. As a matchmaker, Amber’s pretty far down the sorcery food chain (even birthday party magicians rank higher), but after five seconds of eye contact, she can envision anyone’s soul mate.

Amber works at her mother’s magic shop–Windy City Magic–in downtown Chicago, and she’s confident she’s seen every kind of happy ending there is: except for one–her own. (The Fates are tricky jerks that way.) So when Charlie Blitzman, the mayor’s son and most-desired boy in school, comes to her for help finding his father’s missing girlfriend, she’s distressed to find herself falling for him. Because while she can’t see her own match, she can see his–and it’s not Amber. How can she, an honest peddler of true love, pursue a boy she knows full well isn’t her match?

The Best Kind of Magic is set in urban Chicago and will appeal to readers who long for magic in the real world. With a sharp-witted and sassy heroine, a quirky cast of mystical beings, and a heady dose of adventure, this novel will have you laughing out loud and questioning your belief in happy endings.

I was just approved for this book about two days ago, and doesn’t it look SO dreamy? I totally forgot that I had requested this on Netgalley until I got one of those wonderful emails. I totally fell in love with magical realism with The Secret of a Heart Note, and I can’t wait to explore it again in this novel.

dear reader

Credits to Flatiron Books

Dear Reader by Mary O’Connell

Gilmore Girls with magical realism! Dear Reader is an original, poignant modern-day take on Wuthering Heights, as a high school senior searches for her teacher and meets a boy who may just be Heathcliff come to life

For seventeen-year-old Flannery Fields, the only respite from the plaid-skirted mean girls at Sacred Heart High School at is her beloved teacher Miss Sweeneyโ€™s AP English class. But when Miss Sweeney doesn’t show up to teach Flannery’s favorite book, Wuthering Heights, leaving behind her purse, Flannery knows something is wrong.

The police are called, and Flannery gives them everythingโ€”except Miss Sweeney’s copy of Wuthering Heights. This she holds onto. And good thing she does, because when she opens it, it has somehow transformed into Miss Sweeney’s real-time diary. It seems Miss Sweeney is in New York Cityโ€”and she’s in trouble.

So Flannery does something very unFlannery-like: she skips school and sets out for Manhattan, with the book as her guide. But as soon as she arrives, she meets a boy named Heath. Heath is British, on a gap year, incredibly smartโ€”yet he’s never heard of Albert Einstein or Anne Frank. In fact, Flannery can’t help thinking that he seems to have stepped from the pages of Brontรซ’s novel. Could it be?

With inimitable wit and heart, Mary O’Connell has crafted a love letter to reading, to the books that make us who we are. Dear Reader, charming and heartbreaking, is a novel about finding your people, on the page in the world.

So, this is the book that kind of made me want to delve more into Wuthering Heights since I won this book in a giveaway. But I kind of fell out of the mood for that, so I’m now in this weird in between of do I read this first or try again with Wuthering. Decisions, decisions, but this book sounds really cool.

the wishing heart

Credits to Entangled Teen

And my last addition…The Wishing Heart by J. C. Welker

With a book in her bag and a switchblade in her pocket, Rebel’s been thieving her way through life while hoping for a cure to fix her ailing heart.

But when the bejeweled vase she just tried to hawk turns out to be a jinni’s vessel, Rebel gets lost to her world and dragged within another. Now every magical being in the city wants the vase for himself.

Thrust into a game of cat and mouse in a world she never knew existed, Rebel must use her uncanny skills to find a way to free Anjeline the Wishmaker.

But wishes have consequences. And contracts. Anjeline’s freedom could unravel a love like Rebel has never known, or it could come at the cost of Rebel’s heart…

I’m currently reading this, and it was one of those impulse additions on an e-ARC newsletter. But I’m so glad I did it. It’s taking me foreverrrrrr to read (by my usual standards), but it’s REALLY good. Such pretty writing.

So, how is your April TBR going? Do you have any additions that came up suddenly? Are you super excited about any of them? How much of a mood reader are you? Are you excited for any of these? Why are there SO many questions here, Mandy? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

Also, sorry for having such random posts lately. I’ve been so bogged down by everyday life stuff that I’m just such a mess in my book life. ๐Ÿ˜„ Tags, awards posts, and regular stuff (I seriously have this list of everything I’ve been tagged of and WILL be working through it – I haven’t forgotten!!) will be resumed when I can actually get my head back above book waters. ๐Ÿ˜„

Advertisements

27 thoughts on “The OOPS! Additions to the TBR

  1. ashley says:

    I only make seasonal reading plans, I feel that they allow for more flexibility. As long as I read every book that I have on my bingo board, I’m okay with deviating away from my plans.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading with Rendz says:

    You know I always flop my TBR but at least you try and make up for your missed reads! ๐Ÿ˜„ Air and Ash sounds so cool. I really want to read that now! I was doing so well with my TBR this month but things are starting to slow down…..the final stretch of this month will be tough! Do I add books? No….I never even finish the ones on the original list hehehehe Am I a mood reader? Yes and No. It depends I guess. LOL Great post Mandy, sporadic or not! โค

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      LOL, yes. ๐Ÿ˜„ I don’t usually do this well, so of course, I had to mess it up somehow. But it does sound super cool! And oh no! I saw you were doing really well on it, but super sad that it’s starting to slow down in the home stretch. D: And lol, I feel like that was a mood answer. ๐Ÿ˜„ But same. Thanks so much, Rendz! ๐Ÿ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    So many cool books, Mandy! I, like you, am a mood reader but I don’t even attempt to create TBRs. I just know myself enough to know I won’t stick to them ๐Ÿ˜„ So I commend you for your efforts!
    I so need to try these. I mean, pirate books? A big yes! The second book definitely feels like an Emma retelling, which I also like, and a Wuthering Heights adaptation is just non-negotiable! I’m getting an Aladdin vibe from the last mention as well. Coincidence? I think not, since this is a Disney Princess’s blog after all ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Lol, I figured since I saw you never did them. It’s literally so hard to stick with them. But thank you. Because I try. ๐Ÿ˜„
      YESSSS. I’m so excited. More pirate books = such a must. And I just bought me a copy of Blackhearts since it got a Sophie stamp of approval. ๐Ÿ˜€ and yesssss. I’m going to send you over another Wuthering Heights adaption on Goodreads. I remember enjoying it and thinking it was cool, but it was also during my questionable years as a reader. Soooooo…who knows what it was actually like. ๐Ÿ˜„ And lol, no coincidence at all. And I totally think that’s what made me want to read it as well. ๐Ÿ˜„

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s