Can’t Buy Forever by Susan Laffoon

17267597_128070604393964_4648845259428593664_nCan’t Buy Forever by Susan Laffoon

*I was contacted by the author for a honest review in exchange for the read – thanks so much for sending me a copy!*

My thoughts are little too jumbled right now to give a proper rambling speech here, so let’s just get to the summary.

Once Upon a Time…

In the early 1950s, Odessa Drake (Dessa) is rescued from a bleak existence with a single mother. She takes a chance on the unknown to work in a boarding house owned by a widowed great aunt in Mineville, New York. Dessa is devoted to Aunt Flo and especially a young man, Nicholas, who appears and takes shelter in the attic, the only available space. Four years pass. She looks forward to each day because of his presence, in spite of the tedious work. Dessa is now eighteen and knows little more of Nicholas than the day he arrived to work the mines. She knows only he is a remarkable man who has a limp and she trusts Nicholas explicitly. There is a familiarity both recognize and an unshakeable bond develops. Nicholas has reasons to keep his past buried. Dangers loom and become evident when Nicholas gets too close and exposes their bond. What is the mystery behind this threat? To discover the answer, they escape by railway heading West, colliding with treachery and uncovering secrets, mile by mile. Their journey is impossible, but, they are supported by friends who risk their lives to make sure a great love and lineage is preserved. Or is it? None will forget their odyssey as they proceed to their destiny farther than they imagined.

This has to be the first time I’m quite certain I have no clue how to feel about this book. There were some things that I did really like and there were some parts I was super unsure about it. Let’s just discuss the things I did enjoy first before I get into my rambling confused mess.

First off, I really enjoyed Laffoon’s writing. I’m not sure what it was about the way she wrote, but I really liked her voice. It was something like a storyteller telling a story that had that kind of quality to it.Her descriptions were great as well. Her writing style was definitely my favorite part of the story.

I was also impressed by the ending. I didn’t really expect it, and I thought it was a super nice touch.

I thought the romance was sweet although I didn’t get super into the ship. They were a lot dependent on each other, but I kind of understood it from a psychological perspective. Laffoon definitely kept the tension there that gave me will-they-won’t-they vibes, which was great.

The confusion for me kind of came from the disconnect. I really didn’t feel much for things – the character, the plot, etc. This is kind of book where it’s very character driven and focuses on the romance and dynamics of the characters. I kind of got a bit lost in that, and since I didn’t fully get into the ship, I kind of lost the draw into the story. And I did get kind of confused at different parts, especially with some of the opening scenes so I might have checked out at different parts, which made the disconnect worse.

elsa

Let it goooooo…let me goooooo…because Elsa really doesn’t want to be here in this confusion of the Book Princess

There were some grammatical mistakes, which didn’t really deter or distract me from the reading too much, but they were there.

As I said in the beginning, I really don’t know how to feel about this book. I did really enjoy Laffoon’s writing, but there was so much of a disconnect for me with this book that I really can’t judge it fairly, which is why I will be leaving a rating off. I think this is the fault of a character driven novel – if you’re not super involved from the start and invested, you may lose the reader. I really don’t think it’s the fault of Laffoon, but I think there was a disconnect on my part for just wanting a bit more action very soon into the story – and that desire just colored the rest of it. Plus, I totally did just finish ACOMAF at the time, and the book hangover could have totally messed me up for sure.

No crowns because I don’t think it would be an accurate rating due to my confusion on what to think and an Elsa rating – my very first!

Check it out:

Have you ever been confused on how to rate something? Do book hangovers color what you read next? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

book-princess-reviews-logo-long

Inej made it to the final round of Book Madness – trust me, I did not see that coming, and I can’t think everyone that helped her get there enough. You’re seriously the best, and maybe say hello to her again one more time? And then you’ll never have to have these weird little messages again for me at the end…at least about Book Madness…for this year. 😄 You can vote here for the final round, and check out my original post here. Thanks so much again!

22 thoughts on “Can’t Buy Forever by Susan Laffoon

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    This is why I didn’t answer when Susan requested a read and Review…it’s just not my type of book. Your mixed feelings totally explain it all. I’m glad I skipped it bc I would have been much worse at articulating my feelings.
    At least you tried!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading with Rendz says:

    Disconnect is tough. It’s like you want to say you enjoyed it but at the same time you don’t know why or when or what. The enjoyment was there but it was not great enough for you to hang on to that feeling. I get this sometimes and I hesitate when rating it too because my emotions are everywhere yet nowhere all at once. It is one giant bowl of confusion!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sophiethestark says:

    Loved your review, Mandy! I think you explained your point of view well, despite not really knowing what to say about it. Those types of feelings are the worst, though! I mean, how are you going to express your opinion on something you have no opinion about?
    I usually enjoy this kind of narrative but not so sure it’s my thing now. Hopefully, you’ll get to read something more to your liking soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KrystiYAandWine says:

    I haven’t heard of this one before. I think you did a great job with your review. You really explained your perspective well, even if you’re a bit confused on what to think overall. I don’t think this is a book I’ll pick up, but I enjoyed reading about it here. And an Elsa appearance! I totally have to admit that let it go thing cracked me up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

