Bent at the Pages Q & A

bent at the pages

Credits to Cassidy Ellsworth

I’m bring you something brand new today, gals and guys! We’ve got this Book Princess’s first Question and Answer session – and yes, I actually got this wonderful author to admit their favorite Princess. Yay team!

We’re talking to Cassidy Ellsworth today, author of Bent at the Pages. It was just released on Valentine’s Day this year – and trust me, it seems like the perfect Valentine’s Day read. Adorable, fluffy and full of contemporary feels. I’ve yet to read it – thanks to the wonderful book hangover and the flood of approvals I got, but let’s take a look at the adorable summary:

Once Upon a Time…

Logan Strange is a troubled, small-town girl who has to go on an unlikely journey to find the true identity of her favorite author. Partnered with a boy she wished she’d never have to see again, they discover much more than the truth about Mr. Aiden Quinn.

And without further ado, let’s talk to the author of this fluffy contemporary!

1.First and foremost, since this is Book Princess Reviews, who is your favorite Princess and why?mulan

For as long as I can remember my favorite Disney princess has been Mulan. I always found her character inspirational because she didn’t wait around for someone else to be the hero of her story, she was her own. Even though she constantly felt inferior and belittled because she was a woman in a man’s army, but instead of giving up she persevered because she knew what she was doing was right.

2.If you could compare your main character, Logan Strange, to any Princess, who would it be and why?

belleIf I could compare Logan to a princess, it would have to be Belle from Beauty and the Beast. Logan is very smart, but she’s also very shy and socially awkward which causes her to consume herself in the world of Aiden Quinn’s books, hoping to find deeper meaning (just like bookish Belle who used books to escape her mundane, shallow life).

3.Have you always wanted to be an author?

Since I was a child I’ve written stories, but I feared judgement or rejection so kept them to myself. Only recently have I built up the courage to share my stories with others, which has been the best decision I have ever made.

4.What was your inspiration for the story?

I was first inspired to write Bent at the Pages my senior year in High School. In my government class I sat next to a boy who I slowly developed a crush for. This boy became the inspiration for the leading love interest, Carter. Beyond that I drew from indie movies and music to fuel my writing and the story seemed to create itself.

5.Your story revolves around a search for a mysterious author – if you could meet any three authors in the world – past and present – who would you want to meet?

The three authors I’d love to meet would have to be Victor Hugo, Edgar Allan Poe, or my favorite contemporary author, Dave Eggers.

6.The heroine of Bent At The Pages goes on her journey with a boy that she wishes she never had to see again – can you elaborate on what caused Logan to dislike him so much?

Logan and Carter have an uncomfortable, awkward and short past before they’re assigned this project. I cant tell you much because it’ll ruin the surprise, but I can tell you that they first meet at a house party and what happens between them is far from a fairy tale.

7.Logan isn’t a big fan of group projects – how do you feel about them? And would you ever team up with another author – perhaps like Mr. Aiden Quinn – to work on a novel?

I’ve never been a fan of group projects, honestly. Just like Logan, I’ve always dreaded them, but if I were to team up with Aiden Quinn, I’d enjoy it more. Mr.Quinn was created from my idea of the “perfect man” who is intelligent, poetic, handsome, and mysterious. I enjoyed creating this character and his writing style. He is a very poetic and meaningful writer. His book excerpts were always very carefully thought out and written.

8. You leave a pretty big surprise at the end of the novel as to who Mr. Aiden Quinn is – how did you feel about writing a mystery this big?

It was fun writing this entire book but it was very challenging writing the big reveal. I wanted to create an ending that was surprising but also realistic and believable to the reader. I wanted to give the readers the ending they deserve and I hope I accomplished that.

9. You have some pretty epic quotes on Twitter from your novel– do you have a favorite quote from Bent at the Pages, and if so, what is it?

“…we discovered the perpetual beauty of rose tinted glasses…” Is my favorite quote from the book because it really captures the theme of the story – things are not always what they appear to be, but that’s not always a bad thing either.

10. What has been the hardest part of writing and publishing this story?

Honestly, the hardest part of this entire journey has been advertising and promoting it. I want to reach as many people as possible and that’s much harder than you’d think. I thought creating the story was difficult, but I had no idea what it would be like trying to reach people.

11. So where and how can I find Bent at the Pages?

The book is currently available on Amazon Kindle for $3. If you don’t have a Kindle device, you can still get the book by downloading the free Amazon Kindle app on your smartphone.

Check it out here!

Bent at the Pages also has a Twitter! Check it out here as well for sneak peeks and so pretty epic quotes!

Have you done Q & A sessions before? How do you like them? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

five-stars

Tonight’s the last night to vote for the Final 4, and  if you’re interested in maybe saying hi to Inej for me again, here is the link! 😉 There was some greattttt ARCS up for grabs once you vote, so make sure to check it out! Here is my original post here!

30 thoughts on “Bent at the Pages Q & A

  1. sophiethestark says:

    Ooohh I loved this Q&A! And it really got me interested in this book! I’m a sucker for books about books… (Couldn’t you tell?) The author also seems incredibly nice and easy-going, which I hope translates into amazing writing as well.
    Are you planning to read this one? It sure looks nice. I’ll be adding to my TBR just in case 😉
    Great job, Mandy! Looking forward to more of these, for sure ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Thankies! 😀 That was the plan, so SUPER YAY FOR ACTUALLY WORKING. Dance party time? Dance party time. But lol, yes, I agree.
      She was super nice and sent me a copy, so I plan to do it eventually…but I did get a ton of review copies and secret Netgalley approvals so I’m more than a bit behind. XD But eventualllllllly. And thankies, Sophie! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

