Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta (ARC Review)

17126297_603303466534383_4272748923371651072_nBad Blood by Demitria Lunetta

Release Date: March 14, 2017

*eARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an honest review! Thanks so much for sending me over a copy!*

I basically knew three things before going into this book: it had a super pretty cover, it was about witches, and it was set in Scotland. That was all I needed to be sold on this premise, and I was innnnnn. And truthfully, I was mostly in for the book, there was one major issue that I did have with that took it down a crown.

Once Upon a Time…

A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.

I’m just going to put out the issue I had with it first and foremost right at the top even though I usually place the issue at the bottom of the review, because I feel like this is where perhaps the book missed its mark: no warning. This book deals with a very triggering topic of self-harm. However, I had no clue what was coming into the main character did something in the third chapter in. I also didn’t really expect it to be as descriptive as it was. I’ve never really developed a strong stance on trigger warnings for books, and I know people have strong opinions about them. However, I do think a little warning was necessary than just two lines in the summary. I definitely glazed over that to basically get into SCOTLAND and WITCHES. How descriptive it was also bothered me as well, and truthfully, it was the reason I took down a crown because I lost the enjoyment of the book at that point. I just think people should know about the self-harm that does go on in the story to help them determine before they read further.

Okay, I just thought that needed to be said. Now, I’m moving on to the good.

This is such a fast read. I basically binge read it in two sittings. It really draws you into the world, and the author did such an wonderful job creating a spooky and beautiful atmosphere. Scotland is one of the top places that I want to visit, and Lunetta made me want to go visit it even more.

Heather, Prudence, and Primrose were all interesting narrators as well. It was so interesting to read the twins’ points of view as they become darker and darker. I loved these parts of the novels, and man, I wish we had gotten to see even more of their dark story. Heather was good as well. She was the typical teen, and I liked her well enough. Some of the things she did were really stupid, and I just kept going, really? But it did make the plot more interesting so that was nice.

merida

SCOTLAND.

The romance was okay. I liked her and the love interest well enough, but it wasn’t a super big part of the book and the ship never got really real for me.

Where the true heart of the story was in the plot and atmosphere. I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next. I love me a good witch book, and this was definitely one. Things kept getting more and more interesting, and I loved the boiling point where it all tipped over. The plot definitely won me over and kept me interested.

Overall, this was a quick, fast read that I pretty much enjoyed. I loved the plot, and the rest of the elements were good enough. However, I wasn’t prepared for some aspects of the novel, and the graphicness wasn’t really needed nor properly discussed prior. That was what really took down a crown for me. Otherwise, it was a decently good read! 3.5 – 4 crowns and Merida’s here because SCOTLAND!

four-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

Advertisements

17 thoughts on “Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta (ARC Review)

  1. ashley says:

    I always put negative things first in my reviews and end with a positive thing. As for the self-harm aspect of this book, it seems like from reading your review there wasn’t really much backstory on the character and why she is a self-harmer. I like when books have backstories on the characters that may justify why they are the way that they are and do the things that they do.

    Liked by 2 people

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Oooh, I never thought about that, but that might be a better way to format it. That way you end on a positive note instead of the negative. And yeah, it really didn’t have as much of a backstory as I would have liked. It kind of just came about and threw you in into it. I totally agree with you about the need for backstories, though.

      Like

  2. Reading with Rendz says:

    Great review! Scotland and witches does sound pretty interesting! It does seem odd that the self-harm wouldn’t come with a proper introduction. It sounds like an uncomfortable scene to go through. I’m glad you liked the rest of it *adds to collection of millions of books on my TBR*

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Thanks so much, Rendz! But it was quite interesting and the combo was very good. And I definitely agree. I literally had no clue it was even in the blurb into I reread it when I posting it for the review. But if you have a better knowledge of it going in, it does help. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s