Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer

16906571_1442162635802062_2644939980132057088_nWires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer

Usually I leave the weekends for tags and other misc. bookish fun, but this week on Wednesday, I have two fun posts that would have taken the spot where this review was to be. Make sure you tune in then for the start of my March Madness where everyone has the chance to win some amazing prizes and another fun edition to Calendar Girls! But now, enjoy my epic amounts of fangirling!

I have waitttttttteddddd for this book forever and ever and ever. The Lunar Chronicles is my favorite book series ever, and another addition to it? From Iko’s POV AND including Cresswell? I couldn’t get this book fast enough. Even though it veered from the usual format, I loved the new graphic novel part of it, and watch out: my fangirling might go to an ultimate high by the end of this review.

Once Upon a Time…

In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure — with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

I never doubted that the book goddess that is Marissa Meyer would not deliver with a new format.Graphic novels are new to the Lunar Chronicles series, and you do really need to read them before you read this book. There will definitely be some confusion if you don’t, and I definitely don’t think that you would get as excited about some things (like the Cresswell and Wolflet – oh, ugh that ship name XD – scenes). That being said, this book was a perfect homage to the fans where we get all of our beloved characters in a fun, new setting.

Iko was amazinggggg in this book. I always had loved her in the book, but she wasn’t quite on the level of my love as Cress or Cinder or Scarlet. She so moved up to that level after this book, and she was so not only fun, fiesty, but also hilarious. The fangirl in me was so pumped to see her fangirling over the clothes and Kai as well.

All of the other characters were involved in some way or another – although Winter and Jacin always get the short end of the Lunar stick – and it was so cool to see all our favorites again. You know your love and dedication is real when you get excited that Torin is there. XD It was also amazing to see more of Thorne’s backstory with his parents as well.

Also, the new storyline was interesting. I was fascinated by it, and I loved watching Iko kick evil hybrid wolf butt.

AND CRESSWELL. Mandy was so happy here. MY FEELS.

The only issue that I might of had was with the art. I grew to love it, but at the beginning, I wasn’t really a fan. It wasn’t how I pictured the characters, and it really messed with me to see them that way. By the end, I definitely grew to like it, but I wasn’t the biggest fan at first.

Overall, this story was definitely all that I wanted it to be and more. Meyer cemented her status over and over again as one of the founding YA book goddesses, and this story is no exception. Can Volume 2 just be here already?? My heart can’t handle not having more of my babies. D: Mulan/Aurora ratings, and of course, five crowns!

five-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? Would you like more YA novels/series to add in a graphic novel format to the books? Can we please just fangirl over the Lunar Chronicles together??

23 thoughts on “Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer

  1. Reading with Rendz says:

    YAYAYAYAY! I LOVE IT! I LOVE THIS! *time to fangirl* You know that I loved this and I’m so glad you did too. Iko was great in this book and all her fantasies about dancing with Kai made me crack up each time. Cresswell and Wolflet were on fire in this Volume, Kaider was practically non-existent BUT they have big things coming for them in volume two! So do Scarlet and Wolf!!! I got excited when I saw Konn Torin too, I was like “Heyyy Konnn!!!” I loved Thorne’s backstory and I was super excited to see his parents. Hopefully we get more Winter and Jacin in the next one too. The art is still not my fave but I did grow to love by the end and some pages were beautiful! I just wish they were in full colour! That would have made it even more epic! Lovely review Mandy! *ends fangirling…for now*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. evyreadsbooksblog says:

    Oh your review was so encouraging and enthusiastic, I want this book here right now!😄😣 I’m so glad you liked it, I am so excited about the graphic design idea too. Great review! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

