Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

16230360_1155908677868931_129264939217977344_nUnder Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

Update: My Any Boy But You by Julie Hammerle review was supposed to be today, but I got something super cool planned for it on Monday instead. 😉

This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017, and perhaps even one of my most anticipated covers of 2017, and I was not disappointed – by either if you were wondering. That pink is so pretty, and it totally matches my pretty crown graphics. Book Princess is in love…and even more than just with the cover. Perhaps even with this book.

Once upon a time…

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.

But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.

Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

In hindsight, I did realize there were a few more problems with this book than I originally saw, but I still don’t care. Luke was a bit too perfect and things were a bit too neat at the end – but it wasn’t like any YA books at all where the girl is instantly cured the moment they meet a super cute guy. However, I still really enjoyed this book, and here are a few reasons why.

I loved Norah. She was real, she was witty, and she was different. She was so different than any of the other heroines I’ve read in YA, and I really enjoyed her. She actually scared me a bit at times – because she had a lot of thoughts that I had and then I started freaking out a bit that I was going to end up down this path. 😄 But then I came back and calmed it down and then finished my binge read. I really did think she was relatable, and I’m not going to know anything about mental illness, but I thought she was super believable.

I also loved Norah’s journey. It felt very realistic to me. It had its ups and it had its downs. I was super impressed by how into this book was despite not having a face paced plot like I would be with a thriller or a fantasy book. This book was unbelievably fast paced, and I was enthralled. I finished it in a manner of hours.

tiana

Can we get some rose-tainted desserts, Tiana? Maybe? Eh?

Gornall had a wonderful writing style as well. It wasn’t too much, but it had a pace to it that had me devouring page after page. Picky me definitely enjoyed it.

And okay, the romance. I totally shipped Luke and Norah from the beginning. I thought it was realistic and I loved the pace that it moved at. At the end, I was a tiny bit iffy on the realisticness of it, but I loved the ending. It was just so fitting, and I was glad that Gornall decided to do something a bit different than what was expected. I totally had so many feels for Luke and Norah, and the romance was swoony. Again, things weren’t super perfect about it, but I still very much enjoyed these two.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Again, I don’t know much about this area of mental illness, so I can’t say if it was accurate or not. It did seem very believable to me, and I couldn’t stop reading this book. I would definitely recommend this book, and it was a beautifully done contemporary! A Tiana rating, and five crowns!

five-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? Have you read this? What do you look for in a contemporary?

8 thoughts on “Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

Leave a Reply

