Proof of Lies by Diana Rodriguez Wallach (ARC Review)

15877280_384181891932292_2198573542411337728_nProof of Lies by Diana Rodriguez Wallach

Release Date: March 7, 2017

*ARC provided by the publisher, Entangled Teen, for an honest review via Netgalley. Thanks so much for the publisher for the opportunity to read this!*

2.5 stars actually, and a very sad DNF @ 51%

Yes, you may be staring at that percentage going, “Mandy, you made it 51%. Why just not go the next 49%? I mean, really, what the bookish heck are you doing?”

I just couldn’t do it anymore, though. There was really nothing majorly wrong with this book. There really wasn’t. It just…it could not capture and hold my attention of the book life of it. And by the 51% mark, I had to just give up or there was no chance of me ever picking up my Kindle app again.

Let’s start off with the basics (with the delightful help from Goodreads):

Some secrets are best kept hidden…

Anastasia Phoenix has always been the odd girl out, whether moving from city to international city with her scientist parents or being the black belt who speaks four languages.

And most definitely as the orphan whose sister is missing, presumed dead.

She’s the only one who believes Keira is still alive, and when new evidence surfaces, Anastasia sets out to follow the trail—and lands in the middle of a massive conspiracy. Now she isn’t sure who she can trust. At her side is Marcus, the bad boy with a sexy accent who’s as secretive as she is. He may have followed her to Rome to help, but something about him seems too good to be true.

Nothing is as it appears, and when everything she’s ever known is revealed to be a lie, Anastasia has to believe in one impossibility.

She will find her sister.

There seems to be a new trend with YA books and having super secret agent parents…so secret that I’m not even sure the parents know most of the time. Anyway, this was another addition to the category, and while I have read two other ones in the past two months, this one had the most mystery to it, and I was honestly lost on where the book would take me next – but in a super good way. I never saw any of the major twists and turns coming, and each new reveal would leave me going, “Huh. Nice touch, Ms. Rodriguez Wallach.” – which turned out to be more of a mouth-full than what I was first thinking of.

Anyway, the plot was interesting, the writing style was fine, the characters were detailed and dynamic instead of just kind of resting on the page, twiddling their thumbs. It had a solid premise, and it really did have enough mystery to make it interesting. Plus, it made reference to The Princess Bride, which had me squealing like a little fangirl for an embarrassing long time. But then Anastasia walked out of the movie, and I gave my iPad a death glare for that.

So, all of these are majorly positive things. You must be scratching your head, going, why on Earth did the Book Princess give it such a low rating, though?

The issue lies in my disconnect from the actual read. I never felt fully connected to finish the book. Once I put the book down, I felt no need to pick it back up for a while. Do you know I read and finished at least 7 other books while I read this one? It never had a draw to make me come back and read it until I was desperate enough to binge read it when I had the time and only my phone somewhere. There was just something about that had me intrigued while reading it but something I had no desire to come back to when I wasn’t reading it.

poch

There were too many colors in this wind…I mean book…I mean, I have no clue what I’m saying.

The other issue was around the 50% mark. The melodrama hit soap-opera worthy level. Don’t get me wrong – I love a good soap opera, but while the other pieces so far had been decently realistic – for a super secret agent book – this just…it made it feel cheesy. Like there was some guy twisting his handlebar mustache and stroking a cat which was not where I wanted this story to go. So, I gave up.

There is a lot to like in this book, and I think it’s a good enough addition to the super spy and mystery YA genre, but this just wasn’t the book for me. I did like Anastasia as a narrator, and I thought she was super realistic with her guilt and feelings, but the other factors just conspired against the good parts. I couldn’t finish this book, mostly because I just didn’t want to even though I think there really were some great parts to it.

Since I got past 50%, I will give a rating, and Snow White is still stuck in her sleeping curse for another day. 2.5 stars and a Pocahontas rating from me!

three-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? Have you read this? Have you ever given up on a book so far in? Even if you DNF, do you still rate? Let me know down in the comments down below!

6 thoughts on “Proof of Lies by Diana Rodriguez Wallach (ARC Review)

  1. Jamie @ Book Pandamonium says:

    Sorry this book wasn’t doing anything for you! I hate that feeling when a book isn’t necessarily bad but you just can’t connect with it. I think the only time I DNF books if I make it past the 50% mark is if I have to return them to the library before I can finish and I realize I don’t want to get it back out again (which actually happens a lot 😅)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

