The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

the-edge-of-everything

Credits to Bloomsbury

The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

*ARC provided by Netgalley and Bloomsbury in exchange for a fair review – thank you very much to both!*

For all the snow in this book, I totally thought that I this was going to be my first Elsa rating (otherwise the special snowflake that I had no clue what to do with). And honestly, I was convinced almost until the end I needed to use it. There were parts that I really, really enjoyed in this book, but there were also parts that left me so confused that I kind of just stared at my iPad, confused by what was even going on.

Let’s start off with the basics: Zoe is a girl living in the desolate woods in Β Montana. One night after her brother wanders too far, Zoe goes out to save him in a terrible snowstorm and ends up crashing at her former neighbor’s house. When their killer returns, Zoe is sure that the end is near…until a mysterious, hot, and totally supernatural bounty hunter named X shows up. This starts the beginning of a romance, a hunt, and something far greater than anything Zoe and X ever thought, and they will have to fight their way to be together.

Before I say anything else, I will say that this is one of the most original YA concepts that I have read in a while. And I mean, a good long while. I was so captivated and interested by the world that Giles created. You could tell that he thought of everything and took a painstaking amount of time to create all the intricacies in it. I loved the plot, since I never knew what was going to happen next and I absolutely loved the world of the bounty hunters of the Lowlands (um, obsessed with this name by the way). For this concept alone, I would definitely pick up another book Giles wrote.

Also, the characterization was amazing. I loved Zoe, I loved X, I loved Jonah, and oh my gosh, I loved Ripper and even Banger. I mean, they’re ridiculous names, but Giles created interesting and questionably moral characters that I couldn’t help but root for. Everyone had their pluses and minuses, and I loved how they interacted with each other. Giles fully developed the side characters, and I loved reading about each of this colorful cast. Zoe and X were also amazing protagonists. I thought for sure at some point Giles would fail to keep X in his correct speaking voice or Zoe in her blurting, but he stayed true to them.

I also did not think I find this book to be so funny. Like, you look at the cover and the summary of the book and there is nothing that says, this book will be funny. When Zoe first saw X in his full supernatural glory, she posts a picture of it on Instagram. Instagram. I was dying. I mean, what even, but it worked.

ariel

Hello, snow? Yeah, no.

For all the parts I loved, there were a few issues that I did come across. There were parts of the story that I would get bored in. I’m not sure why I was bored but I would just become disinterested. It wasn’t the writing style (which was amazing and a bit lyrical) or the plot – it was just became uninteresting at points and I dragged for reading it.

There were other times that I got really confused. As I said earlier, I would just kind of stare and ask myself, what is even going on. I’m not dumb, but I would get super confused. I didn’t know what was even happening at the end, and I just kept going with it even though I kind of didn’t want to.

Overall, this book had far more good parts than it did bad. I really enjoyed this book, and I can definitely understand the hype around it. It’s lyrical, funny, and full of amazing characterization and concepts. It drag a bit at points, and it does get confusing. However, this book is definitely one to read in 2017, and I would recommend picking up a copy just to get something different in your YA bookshelf. Also, I kind of felt like this was an episode of Supernatural, so if you enjoy the show, this might be a good one for you.

Final verdict: 4 (maybe 3.75) stars and an Ariel rating!

four-stars

Check it out:

What do you think? Have you read it yet and do you want to? When’s the last time you read a completely original concept in a book? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

  1. amysbookcorner says:

    oh my, I just love your blog it’s so original and cute πŸ˜€ I can’t even process it πŸ˜€ I’m so glad I have found it.

    I agree with you on this review as I just wrote a review of this book as well, that it was original and all that though it was quite confusing at places. which made it hard to follow sometime.
    But definitely a greet book and a great post πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Awh, thank you so much!! I really appreciate it. πŸ˜€ ❀
      I definitely agree! It really did get confusing at parts, which as you said, was super hard to follow. I'm definitely headed over to check out your review about it since it seems we both had a lot of the same views. Edit: that’s why it sounded so familiar! I did already lot at it. I’m like I just read a review about the Edge of Everything and totally agreed with your thoughts. πŸ˜„ It’s early here, so I’ll take that as an excuse. Thanks so much again! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

