What Am I Reading?! Books of 2016: Book Princess Edition

Okay, I’m not sure if you guys and gals know this, but I have this weird habit of making books weird. Alright, I’m not writing the books or anything, but I have this thing where the book I am reading sounds normal or at least relatively normal, but when I pick it up to read it, things just get weird in it. I mean…really weird.

It almost always ends up with me looking down at the book going, what in the actual heck am I reading?! Then, of course, I precede to give long winding summaries of all of the weirdness who my friends who never stop asking me, “Why are you still reading it then??”

I don’t know, but I’ve come to the conclusion this is just a superpower that I have and have to deal with it. Shall we count down my Top 5 craziest reads this year? Trust me, there were so many more to add this list that it was actually a struggle for once.

5…

Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

bookishly-ever-after

Credits to Spencer Hill Contemporary

This book was on the Top 5 of my lists to read this year, and I was so excited for it. It is getting kind of rare nowadays in YA lit to find a protagonist that is as much a fangirl about books that YA readers are. So, I was super excited for this book, which sounded so much like me and my friends. However, I was super disappointed. The main character was super problematic. Like, she was unhealthily obsessed with reading – I know, I know, the limit does not exist, right? It does, and this girl found it. She would ignore just about everyone to read her books (even at family dinners and lunchtime conversations with friends which is just rude), and she brought a book to a dance where she was overly dressed up for no real reason. Oh, and then the flashmob started in a horribly cheesy fashion by her diverse love interest (which, I mean, yayyyyy!!!) but of course, it went downhill after that by a cliche stereotype. By the way, all of this happened in the first three chapters. Like, only 30 pages. Yeah, I just kind of stared at the beginning of chapter 4, said nope, and was done.

4…

Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore

texas-gothic

Credits to Delacorte Books for Young Readers

It only took a few pages before I turned this book weird. It was going super well, too – a cool gothic setting, a hint of magical realism, a not super annoying heroine. Then, well, bam. Awkward meet-cute between our heroine and her cowboy love interest…although all of this was done in her underwear outside her ranch while she chases some dog around. Not to mention, they start intensely arguing…while I’m pretty sure there are rubber duckies on her private parts. Like, it was clearly supposed to be funny, but when the guy was being a jerk to her? It just turned weird, and I couldn’t deal. Book Princess was out again.

3…

All the Feels by Danika Stone

all-the-feels

Man, I talk about this book way too much, but it had some major struggles. I read this when in the middle of my major need to read about fellow fangirls and I thought this would be the perfect book. It totally wasn’t, and it new chapter brought weirder and weirder things to the table. (Minor spoilers ahead so put on your blinders!) Liz (our heroine) won’t stop crying – literally for months after her favorite character’s death, the granola guy that she had a crush asked her to be in a threesome months after he stopped talking to her on the side of a road, and perhaps the greatest scene to ever happen in book history: her steampunk cosplaying love interest literally slapped some grabsy Mad Hatter with his glove….no hand inside, just his glove. I laughed for a solid two minutes straight. I still don’t know what to do with that. It was a cute idea, but my curse – I mean superpower? – struck again and doomed this book to eternal weirdness.

2…

The House by Christina Lauren

the-house

Credits to Simon & Schuster

Sometimes, you just read something and you don’t realize just how weird it is until you’re halfway through and can’t figure out just how deep you’ve gotten into this hot mess? This is what happened to me in this book. It took me a while to notice just how odd this book was, and honestly, this should have been in my post yesterday about creative concepts. This book is about a love story – but the guy in this love story has been brought up and loved by a super stalker and obsessive house. That’s right – a house. Do I need to say it again? A HOUSE. *mind explodes* The house follows him everywhere and has to know everything he is doing. It doesn’t talk to him – thank the book godmothers out there – but I mean, it does get in on the couple’s makeout sessions…which, I mean, isn’t creepy at all and I can’t believe was actually written in a book. So, yeah. Do what you will with that.

1…

Spelled by Betsy Schow

spelled

Credits to Sourcebooks Fire

I mean, what could have been even weirder than what I just explained to you about The House? XD This book tried and sort of succeeded. Spelled sounded like the cutest idea – a interesting, funny, and sassy retelling of Oz, with some other cool storybook elements. Perfect for this Book Princess! However, it just kept getting weirder as the story progressed. Each new chapter, I would go, “What is happening? Why is this happening? Why is the love interest a flying monkey? Why did that lady’s head roll off? Why is that lady’s head rolling to them? Why does that lady have other heads in her house? Omigosh, can this book get even weirder? Omigosh, why is this book getting even weirder?” I don’t even remember all the things that happened in this book because there were so many weird and random things. I just can’t get over it, but I also can’t wait for the next one?

So, do you have a book superpower or curse like me? What was your craziest read of 2016? Did you read any of these books? What did you think? Let me know down below!

5 thoughts on “What Am I Reading?! Books of 2016: Book Princess Edition

Leave a Reply

