Friday Feelings – January: the month of book dreams?

I don’t know about everyone else, but I am pumped for January 2017. It’s not because I want to skip through the holidays – it’s really not because I love the holidays and never want them to end. Why am I so excited for January then, you ask? All the amazing books that are coming out.

Since I’m still relatively new to intensely looking at and paying attention to the YA book world with its release dates and upcoming books, I don’t know if it’s a thing for a bunch of books to be released at the beginning of the year – I mean, it is a genius marketing idea, but it seems like so many books are coming out. And I’m pumped for so many of them.

So, I created a list of books coming out in January 2017 that I’m going to for sure buy, some I am on the fence about since I totally feel on the fence about, and the rest to just be placed in the category so I don’t keep accidentally get excited to read it on my to read shelf and find out it’s not coming out for like six months.

Here are a few of what I think are the coolest books coming out in the first month of the year, and definitely on my to buy list:

Credits to HarperTeen, Flatiron Books, Amulet Books, and Feiwel and Friends

By Your Side looks like the perfect blend of adorable and cheesy and I mean, it’s a book about being locked in a library with a cute guy – how can this good? I mean, probably a few ways, but still. I have heard nothing bad about Caraval and it sounds so amazing and lyrical. Basically The Night Circus for a slightly younger audience. Roseblood is a Phantom retelling, and it’s more accurate to the actual, original story. And Wires and Nerve is a graphic novel version of Iko’s adventures after the events of the Lunar Chronicles -that’s right, more adventures of my TLC loves and I don’t know what to do with myself. I might just go into the corner and eternally cry.

Here are a few that I’m on the fence about but still seem super cool:

Credits to Clarion Books, Feiwel and Friends, and Random House Books

Under Rose-Tainted Skies seems like an adorable love story with also an interesting look at mental illness; however, I have seen some reviews that call in the portrayal of it, so I’m a little scared. However, that cover is just so pretty. The Book Jumper…well, it has a lot of reviews…they’re just not in English. Again, a major case of cover love and I will forever be looking it with total admiration. I’m just not sure since there have been some bad reviews…only they’re just not in English. Poison’s Kiss sounds really cool and is another folklore telling; it has a lot of good reviews so far, but I think it’s just one that I want to preview a little bit more before I actually get it.

So, I can see I’m going to be having plenty of book hauls in January, and while I don’t want the holidays to end, I kind of want January to hurry up and get here so I can read this great books. Hopefully they live up to the high book expectations I have placed on them.

Have you read any of these books yet – and if so, are they as amazing as I’m hoping they are? Are you excited for these books? What January books are you excited for? Tell me down below! πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Friday Feelings – January: the month of book dreams?

  1. Jamie @ Book Pandamonium says:

    Yesss I feel like I’ve been waiting for Caraval for FOREVER. So excited it’s only a month away. I also can’t wait for Under Rose-Tainted Skies and The Book Jumper, both are completely different from each other but sound so interesting. I have to read these as soon as they come out…my TBR is going to hate me next month

    Like

Leave a Reply

