Blogger Recognition Award

blogger-award

*enter massive amounts of squealing*

Thank you so much to avathenerd for nominating me! Let us all take a moment to indulge in some all CAPS actions: THANK YOU!! I truly appreciate it. Everyone should totally check out her blog which not only adorably done but full of cool book reviews, anime discussions, and just general goodness. Check her out again here!

So here is the rules:

  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  • Select up to 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

They gave me four steps. I’m not sure I will be able to handle this, since you may know I love to do things in threes. Oh dear.

How did your blog begin? Once upon a time, of course…

snow-white

It kind of started rather spontaneously. I’m known to get something in my head, plan it rather dramatically and intensely, and then totally manage to talk myself out of it before I ever do anything. Around this time last year, I dived back into reading full-time, and my friend and I really became super obsessed with books – buying, taking about them, shipping, etc. She became obsessed with book blogging, while I became obsessed with Goodreads and reviews. Finally, after a few months of devouring reviews, I asked myself – like an idiot – wait, why don’t I write my own reviews?

Again, my friend came into play, and we started talking about doing our own thing – book blog, bookstagram, Booktube. However, she was swamped with all her works and was barely getting any time to read anyway, but I was hooked on the idea. With her blessing, I decided to set off on my own – like a very pathetic lone wolf – and Book Princess Reviews was born after a spontaneous decision. Unlike all my other failed projects, I didn’t talk myself out of this one and I don’t think I ever will. XD

Two Pieces of Advice for Bloggers…or how not to mess this up? Either or. 

anna

Ava gave some fantastic advice on her post, so I don’t want to just repeat what she said (although her lines about being yourself is spot-on). I’m still rather new to this whole blog, so I’mma try.

Something I didn’t realize when I first started: book blogs aren’t just about reviewing books. So my first couple of posts were literally just me reviewing books – nothing else. I was doing three a day, too, because I mean, I apparently really like threes and I’m a slight overachiever? Anyway, other content besides book reviews or whatever your blog is about can really help your blog – and you. You don’t want to get burnt out just doing one thing. It may work for some bloggers – to stick with what your original aim was – but sometimes people just want to hear stories or more about you.

Also, if you’re boring yourself, you’re probably boring other people, too. Write stuff that is interesting to you. A few times I’ve started writing blog posts and halfway through, I’m like, why am I writing this? Am I just writing it to write it? Write stuff that interests you and you actually want to – or else you won’t be having fun. I learned that the hard way and there are some blog posts I hope hide forever in WordPress oblivion on this site. 😉

Nomination Time or…Award Fairygodmother? Cinderella would be…not happy. More like chill? She’s super chill.

cinderella

Here are some blogs that I’m an active reader on at the moment:

Critiquing Chemist (Book Reviews)

Flavia the Bibliophile (YA/bookish items reviews and tags)

icebreaker694 (YA reviews/tags)

Kristen Twardowki (writing)

Melanie Noell Bernard (YA reviews/tags/writing)

paradisbooks (YA reviews/tags/quotes)

readingwithrendz (YA reviews)

The Book Raven (all around blog – reviews/tags/writing/etc)

TJ Loves Books (Adult romance reviews/releases)

Twin Tales (YA reviews/tags)

There is probably a lot more that I’m forgetting at the moment – I’m kind of half asleep from staying up super late to finish Illuminae (review to probably come on Saturday or Sunday), and my brain is kind of all mush from work. Therefore, I might have missed some people, and I’m truly sorry for that if I did. Thanks so much again to avathenerd for this!

12 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. avathenerd says:

    Congratulations! And thank you for all the kind words! Your blog truly deserves this award.
    Also, I loved you answer to the ‘how did it began’ part. I love the Disney princess touch in your posts.
    And those are some really great advice. Book blogs are so much more than just reviews.
    Thanks again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tiana says:

    Thank you for nominating me! I loved reading your answers and what you said about writing something that interests you and not something that you write just for the sake of it, is so important. That really spoke to me as a blogger and writer as a whole. Awesome post! 🤗📚💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Thanks so much!! It really is so true. It makes you feel like you’re just blogging into an endless void XD (p.s. You might want to take a wander over to my Mystery Blogger Award since there might be a nomination in your future? ;)) thanks so much again, though!! Side note: that sounds like I’m cheesily asking you to check out another part of my blog. I promise I’m not a used blog salesman. D:

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

