Tuesday Thoughts -Unique Book Formats

So, I’m about to sit down to start Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, and just a quick glance in through the pages, I can see that it’s going to be an interesting and unique book format. I began to think of all the different, unique formats that I’ve read – which truthfully wasn’t much. I know I love to do things in threes, but my brain literally could only come up with three for this post. Coincidence or my subconscious telling me something? I’m not sure, but I apparently need to get on my cool, unique format reading, since I’m apparently lacking.

  • All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda. Usually I find any excuse to talk about how much I love Megan Miranda as an author, and this is easily my favorite book by her. I’m sure she is not the first author to create this format, but it was my first time reading a novel like it, so I was completely and utterly sold on it. The premise is a classic possible murder mystery that spans 14 days – however, it’s told from Day 14 counting backwards. Each day you find something new and shocking, completely changing your perspective of what happened the previous day – or is it technically the future day? I’m really not sure, but it’s amazing and I loved every second of it.
all-the-missing-girls

Credits to Simon & Schuster

  • And The Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich. This creepy story is told not just in prose but also in journal entries, handwritten notes, creepy lullaby-like songs, and more. This book was trippy and a constant is-this-even-real? book and the addition of these different elements made it even creepier and confusing. I’ve been told Kurtagich’s book is like this too. It’s such an interesting way to read it, and while I totally thought I would be turned off by the abruptness of it, I don’t think this book would be the same without it.
and-the-trees-crept-in

Credits to Little Brown

  • Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz. Okay, I know this is not really a unique perspective since I’ve read plenty of novels since like this, but this was my first book with this format. The format being the killer or stalker or evil person being the all ~mysterious~ other narrator in the book. Yes, it’s become sort of a staple in adult mystery and thriller books, but this book was the first that I read it in and I totally enjoyed it – okay, most of the enjoyment came from the dramatic readings of it between my friend and me because seriously, the stalker’s narration was so melodramatic. But it was totally interesting to see from the other person’s point of view and their thought system behind what was going on.
deadly-little-secret

Credits to Hyperion

Okay, so my unique formats aren’t really all that unique – I tend to apparently read a lot of more “traditional” prose books, but these were the formats that were super unique to me and that I totally enjoyed. All of these are definitely worth a read.

So, what books have you read that are unique in their format? How were they unique? Have you read any of these – what were your thoughts? Do you prefer your books more cookie-cutter? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

