Monday Musings – Slow Books

So, after a tiring weekend, I didn’t get to read too much. However, I’m not sure if it wasn’t all the other things I was doing or the book I’m currently reading. I’m currently reading The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, and I don’t know what my problem is but I just can’t connect to it and after binge reading The Haunting of Maddy Clare in two days, this book is just feeling slow. So, it got me thinking, what were some of the slowest books that I’ve ever read?

  • The slowest book that I’ve ever read was The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I really didn’t want to read this book to begin with because during this time, I really found books that relied heavily on imagery as a turnoff. However, after my friend told me just how much she loved it, I was guilt tripped into reading it. However, the guilt trip took four months of my book life, and I’m still not even sure what happened – in the book or in the months that it took me to read it. I cringe every time I think about how it took me months instead of days or weeks to finish this. Suffice to say, my rating was not so good for it.
the-night-circus

Credits to Doubleday.

  • Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine. I had the strangest relationship with this book. I would be super into it at some parts, but the other times, I would kind of just stare at the cover mindlessly. I was so unmotivated by it and some points it just dragged and dragged and dragged and by the end, I literally had no motivation or inspiration to read the ending…even though I really only had 40 pages left.

of-metal-and-wishes

  • Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross. According to Goodreads, I read this for a month and half, which perhaps is the second longest book that I’ve ever read. I clearly DNF’d at that point, since I literally no desire to continue this. I wanted so badly to read a cute little baseball romance, but it just turned too melodramatic and cliche and I could see where everything was going and I just didn’t want to bother? Therefore, I just would stare at it occasionally and just say no. Therefore, another slow book – but this one I actually DNF’d early.
whatever-life-throws-at-you

Credits to Entangled: Teen.

Now, if you do see on my goodreads shelf the Wild Irish Women book – yes, I’ve technically been reading it since May or June, but it’s just little nonfiction short stories that I don’t consider to be an actual read. So, if I did, I think it would put The Night Circus to shame.

So, what do you think? What is the slowest book that you’ve read? How long did it take you? Is there a point where you just give up? I usually DNF mine before it takes me a long time. Let me know!

6 thoughts on “Monday Musings – Slow Books

    • Mandy says:

      I know what you mean. That’s what kept me away the first time from it and what really made me not want to read it. If you like really descriptive books featuring a heavy amount of imagery and atmosphere, then it definitely be a good read for you. If you’re more into a moving plot and more in-depth characterization, perhaps not since I didn’t feel I got that from it. Thanks so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mandy says:

      That definitely might be something I need to do for the future, since I had such terrible times with these. Do you ever go back to the books? Thanks so much for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

