Sunday Book Catch-Up…or really Sunday Book Wall

elsaGirls and guys, I’m in a bit book trouble. I’ve hit a wall. Yes, the things I thought in myth and legend – or really, just forgot about it because it’s been months since I’ve hit a book slump.

So earlier in the week, I finished The Unexpected Everything, and I’m like, okay, good, this book isn’t going to be a bad book hangover – I can get over it easy peasy and move onto the next one. And really, it should have been like this. There was nothing keeping me in the world that Morgan Matson created.

However, I’m stuck. Nothing on my bookshelf looks good, nothing in my to read list is calling to me to pick them up from the library, and I’ve tried two different books and neither of them are speaking to me.

First, I tried Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis. It’s been a really long time since I read a good sci-fi book, and I was determined to try this one. However, I think not being into the sci-fi genre in so long, and literally jumping right back into the action, I was not feeling it. I mean, the story literally jumps right into the middle of a fight between the main character and…someone? They’re at some seedy space bar and then androids and robots are just wandering around and I kept picturing them like R2-D2 and CP3PO (is that even right? It doesn’t look right?) and that was taking away some of the allure. I don’t think it’s a bad book, but if you’ve read it, do you really need to more in the sci-fi mood to get into it?

Second, I tried An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. Now, I have heard amazingggg things about this book, and I know I should expect great things from it. However, again, it’s jumping right into the action, and I think I’m noticing in a book slump, jumping right into the action means mehhhhhh for me. Again, for anyone that has read it, do I need to be in the fantasy mode to read it?

So, what are the best ways to get out of a book slump or to climb over your book wall? Do you just push through a book that isn’t seeming all that good to you until it starts getting good again and you’re reading? Do you wait until the urge to read or a chosen book chooses you? Do you do something else to jog your urge to read again? I’m stuck, and I don’t know how to get out.

For now, I think I’m going to set these books aside to come back to them another day and stare at my bookshelf until something happens. Or I get some lovely advice.

What’s been going on in your book week?

One thought on “Sunday Book Catch-Up…or really Sunday Book Wall

Leave a Reply

