Black Friday Thoughts – Signed Books

snow-whiteHappy Black Friday – in America, it is kind of like it’s own holiday despite being really rough around the edges.

Anyway, I saw that one of Barnes and Noble’s deals this Black Friday weekend was to have signed copies of some very popular books right now including What Light by Jay Asher, Kendall and Kylie Jenner’s YA book, and…Heartless by Marissa Meyer. Still debating if I want to brave the crowds to see if I can get a copy to caress and cherish forever.

Anyhoo, it got me thinking. How important are signed books to all of you? Do you care if you get a signed book? Does it heighten the book experience? Does it not matter?

Up until this year, I had only ever had two signed books – and they didn’t even come close to being my favorite. They were both children’s books from a long time ago – and one I ck-signedwasn’t even there for it to be signed. It was just passed onto me. So, you can say that having autographed copies weren’t my thing.

However, once I started winning in the Goodreads First programs, I noticed just how much I was getting into the signed book thing. I had no clue who some of these authors were, but to know that you have a signed book in your hand Β and know that the author – the person whose words you were reading, whose characters that they had spent hours and days and months crafting were living in your head now – had signed it, made me feel a bit more important.

I began to think, how do you get signed books without spending a fortune or going into the deep crevices of Ebay where I only thought they existed?

The first place is obviously giveaways. Whether it is through the Goodreads First program or through authors’ own websites or giveaways. Most of the books come signed – although I have won a few that haven’t been. It will usually tell you in the description in all CAPS – because that’s a thing.

I also recently stumbled upon this website where you can special order many books that come already signed by some pretty well known authors (a very decent helping of YA authors, too!) It’s called Books of Wonder, and trust me, I was wonder-ized by it. (That pun didn’t work out too well. Snap.)

vassAnother place to get it through the authors themselves. I recently noticed that while authors aren’t sending or selling specific signed copies, they will let you know where you can buy signed copies. A lot of authors will go to specific bookstores by their houses to sign books, and you can special order them from their stores. So far, I’ve seen Stephanie Perkins, Alexandra Sirowy, Kasie West, and Cat Winters offer to do this, and if you buy from the store listed on their website, they will make sure to sign it for you.

Also, some authors might mention special book events where they sign a certain number of books and then send them out after the event. I recently did that for P.S. I Like You by Kasie West, which she posted about on her blog. All I had to do was call up the bookstore, request the copy, pay for it, and about two weeks later, I had a personalized copy of it signed in pretty pink Sharpie in my mailbox. And it only cost me shipping and the regular price of the book.

What happens, though, when you already have the book but still want it signed? Don’t worry – I’ve found two options to help you out and perhaps the cheapest way to do it.

The first is through the publishers. Recently, Fierce Reads has started up, and to promote their biggest novels that are coming up in the next few months, they will offer special promotions. Already pre-order this book? Well, send in your receipt and we’ll send you a free goodie! I’ve gotten a magnetic Heartless bookmark and a Crooked Kingdom dice game/signed bookplate.

The second is even easier than that. Most authors – whether on their blog or website – will dicemention opportunities on how to get bookplates. Sarah Glenn Marsh – author of Fear the Drowning Deep – did the same thing about sending in a pre-order, they would send you a free signed bookplate. Sarvenaz Tash – author of Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love – did a promo on her blog that if you filled out your info, she would send you a personalized book plate and bookmarks. Most authors, though, have some kind of offer for you send in a self-addressed envelope to them, requesting the bookplate that you want, and they will send it back to you. A.G. Howard has a great article about that here.

So what do you think? Are signed books that important to you? Are you going to try out some of the suggestions that I had? Do you know of any other ideas of how to get and where to get signed books? Let me know! And hopefully you get some great book deals today – I’m on the lookout! I’m sure a few book hauls will be coming soon πŸ˜‰

7 thoughts on “Black Friday Thoughts – Signed Books

  1. readingwithrendz says:

    Books are important in general but I think singed books make them even more precious 😊 I have both the Legend trilogy and the Young Elites signed by Marie Lu and the Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, but I got them signed in person. So I guess what I’m really saying is that meeting the author and having them sign the books in person is the best thing ever. But author events are so few in Canada so it makes them even more special ❀️

    Like

    • bookprincessreviews says:

      Oh, I have yet to have them signed in person. Have awesome of an experience is it – I’m guessing amazing since you said it was the best tjing ever? Do you get to chat with them and stuff? But I can see what you mean. It just adds to the whole experience. I always seem to miss the events when to they do have them so I share your pain. I hope more come to visit soon for you!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • readingwithrendz says:

        You do get to chat with them if you can muster the words, I usually choke and say something dumb or stare at them in silence. But it is always a fantastic experience, I write about them if you ever want to read about my embarrassing moments XD! But truly author events are the best!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

