Friday Feelings -Biggest Disappointments 2016 Edition

Placeholder ImageHappy Start of the Weekend, everyone!

This one is a bit late today, but I suppose I was still drowning my sorrows over my latest DNF-book. In case you haven’t figured out by now, I am not the princess that goes through an entire book if she’s not feeling it. I have to get into a book rather quickly, and if not, it’s the end of the line and it quickly gets added to nice little shelf on my Goodreads. Some say it’s not fair to a book who might get better as it goes on – mostly, that some is myself and we have this internal argument every time – but in the end, I usually can’t do it.

So, here are three of my biggest disappointments (and Did Not Finishes) of this year – so far!

This book was the adorable contemporary that was going to give me happy feels after finishing Heartless by Marissa Meyer (review to come tomorrow!) and one that I had been excited for ever since I read about it on the Swoon Reads page, describing all the books that had been selected for publication. I was hoping this was going to be one of the Swoon Reads winners – but after a few pages, I was already having arguments – verbal and internal – with the writer’s writing style, so I figured I would just slowly step away before I full on Bradley Cooper moment from Silver Linings Playbook. It was a smart idea, but it was a great sadness for me on this Feeling Friday because who doesn’t love a good best friend to lover trope with an adorable cover? This was just not in the cards it seemed.

I cannot tell you how excited I was for this book to come out. It combined two of my all dscn2472time favorite Disney movies – Sleeping Beauty and Mulan – and even though I knew there would be no Donny Osmond singing, I was still funny into it. Especially with that gorgeous cover. However, there was too much focus on the not-fairytale aspect that I just had to stop. When I’m bored, it’s best if I just exit the book building. You can read more about why I wasn’t gelling with this book on the review before, but goodness, this has been a bad year for me and fairytale retellings. I can’t catch a break with a good one lately.

What all of these books all had in common was the fact that they were all my most anticipated books of 2016. Scarlett was for sure topping the list, because it was supposed to be hilarious. And I mean, come on, it sounds like a dream: Scarlett writes fanfic about all her classmates and then it comes out? Sounds like some major laughs and funnies. However, after about 90 pages in, and I had no laugh or even internal, funny, I decided it was time to part ways. I’m glad there wasn’t fanfic for my high school, though. I can’t imagine it being any weirder than it already was.

So, what do you think? Did you read these books and have better experiences? Did I give up on them too early? What were your biggest disappointments of 2016 so far? Let me know!

And yes, tomorrow will be the official end to my Heartless fangirling. I think I’ve squealed enough to you all about it for the past two weeks, so who’s excited to see it come to an end? Wait, don’t answer that on second thought.

Leave a Reply

